This is the "Collection 1002" page of the "Grant, Madison. NYZS Board of Trustees Secretary records, 1895-1905 " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Grant, Madison. NYZS Board of Trustees Secretary records, 1895-1905  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=290570 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1002 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the records of the New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees Secretary, Madison Grant, 1895-1905

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees Secretary, Madison Grant, 1895-1905 1002

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees Secretary, Madison Grant, 1895-1905
1002

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
Grant, Madison, 1865-1937
Collection Number
1002
Title
New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees. Office of Secretary. Madison Grant records
Date
1895-1905
Extent
4.17 linear feet (10 Hollinger boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
Madison Grant was the first Secretary to the Board of Managers (Trustees) of the New York Zoological Society. He became Secretary in 1895 and resigned in 1925 to assume the office of President of the New York Zoological Society. These records document a portion of the duties of the Secretary, including serving as member, ex-officio, of the Executive, Auditing, and Aquarium Committees and Scientific Council. Additionally, as Secretary, Grant maintained records about a variety of Society activities, including membership recruitment, animal purchases, and zoo construction.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Aquarium.
  • New York Zoological Park.
  • New York Zoological Society. Board of Trustees.

Personal Name(s)

  • Grant, Madison, 1865-1937

Subject(s)

  • Animal dealers
  • Zoo animals
  • Zoos -- Administration

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Related Collections

Collection 1003. Madison Grant records, 1895-1905.

Collection 1030. Madison Grant and W. Redmond Cross records, 1906-1940.

Collection 1036. Madison Grant zoological history project records, 1901 and 1923-1939.

 

Preferred Citation

[Title of item], [Date of item]. Madison Grant records, 1895-1905. Collection 1002. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Biographical Note

Madison Grant (1865-1937) was the first Secretary to the Board of Managers (Trustees) of the New York Zoological Society. He became Secretary in 1895 and resigned in 1925 to assume the office of NYZS President. He served as President until 1937.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

These records document a portion of the duties of the Secretary, including the following: member, ex-officio, of the Executive, Auditing, and Aquarium Committees and Scientific Council; and, after 1897, official correspondent of the New York Zoological Society. Most of the correspondence deals with the executive administration of funds, policy, contracts, and membership. Also present is a series of correspondence with officers, containing letters of Charles T. Barney, Harlow Brooks, H. A. Caparn, Frank H. Miller, Levi P. Morton, and Henry Fairfield Osborn. Materials of interest include records of arrangements with the City of New York, the director of the Zoological Park, architects, landscape architects, and sculptors; a report by H. de B. Parsons on the Italian Fountain in the Zoological Park; and correspondence with members of the first Aquarium Committee.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in three series:

Series 1
 New York Zoological Society official records and officers' correspondence, 1894-1904, alphabetical by name or subject
Series 2
 Roster of societies, alphabetical by society name
Series 3
 Incoming correspondence and subject files, 1895-1905, divided into seven subseries and arranged alphabetically within by name or subject:

(3A) General correspondence, 1895-1900 May

(3B) Treasurer, art, and architecture correspondence, 1895-1904

(3C) Dues and finance correspondence

(3D) General correspondence, 1900 May-1902 May

(3E) General correspondence, 1902 May-1904 April

(3F) New York Aquarium correspondence, circa 1902-1904

(3G) Correspondence and lists regarding acquisitions

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: New York Zoological Society official records and officers' correspondence, 1895-1904 

Box

Animal paintings and drawings, 1897-1898 

1

Architects: Contract and agreement with Heins & LaFarge, circa 1897-1901 

1

Armstrong & Bolton Co. and David Ripley, 1900 

1

Auditing Committee, 1898 

1

Bills approved by Mr. Grant, circa 1902-1904 

1

Boat privilege, 1900 

1

Bronx community, 1899 

1

Budget, 1904 

1

Bylaws of the NYZS, 

1

Certificates (to Society patrons, founders, members, etc.), 1899-1902 

1

Construction and contracts, Summary, 1898-1899 

1

Contributions: Letters of value, 

1

Director: Contracts, reports, and resolutions, 1896-1899 

1

Educational Corps of New York City, 

1

Employees, New York Zoological Park, 1900 

1

European zoological gardens, Reports, circa 1896 

1

Executive Committee, 

1

Ground improvements, 

1

Hallock, G., 1896 

1

Knickerbocker Trust Company, 1902 

1

Lunch room, 

1

Maintenance fund, 

1

Medical report, 

1

Nominating Committee, 

1

Petty cash, 1900 

1

Petty cash, Secretary's account, 1903-1904 

1

Preliminary plan for the prosecution of the work of the Zoological Society, 1895 

1

Preliminary plan for South Bronx Park, 1896   (Photocopy; original held in Collection 2016)

1

Receipts and attendance, 1899 

1

Reptile House, 1899 

1

Restaurant, 1900 

1

Sculptor, ca. 1901 

1

Sinking fund and NYZS land, 1895-1903 

1

Soda water stand and fountain, 

1

Statements: Accounts, expenditures, estimates, and progress reports, 1901-1904 

1

Stein, Robert, 

1

Subscription to NYZS, circa 1896-1899 

1

Summary of bills, 1902 

1

Telephone service contract, 1896-1899 

1

Zoos and zoologists, 

1

Barney, Charles T., 1903-1904 

2

Caparn, Harold A., 1901-1903 

2

Miller, Frank H. and Harlow Brooks, Veterinarian and Pathologist, 1901 

2

Morton, Levi P., 1897-1900 

2

Osborn, Henry Fairfield, 1896-1904   (6 folders)

Note: Early material accessible only in photocopy format.

2

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Members of societies, Rosters, circa 1899-1901 

Note: These rosters were probably collected as reference for NYZS mailing lists and subscription drives.

Box

Arctic Club, 

3

Boone and Crockett Club, 

3

Camp Fire Club, 

3

Dewey Arch subscription list, 

3

Foreign zoological gardens and directors, 

3

Friends of Carl Schurz, 

3

Jahres-Bericht, Arion, 

3

New York Associations for the Protection of Game, 

3

New York Botanical Garden, 

3

New York Zoological Society, 

3

Taxpayers' Alliance, 

3

Zoological Society of London, 

3

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 3: Incoming correspondence and subject files, 1895-1905 

Subseries a: General correspondence, 1895-1900 May 

Box

1895-1899 May, 

4

1899 May-1900 May, 

4

Subseries b: Treasurer, art, and architecture correspondence, 1895-1904 

Box

Treasurer, William L. Randolph, 1895-1904   (4 folders)

5

Heins & La Farge, 1897-1903   (2 folders)

5

Landscape architects: Planning Baird Court, the Concourse, etc., 1899-1903 

5

Italian Fountain general, 1902-1903, 1905 

5

Report by H. de B. Parsons, 

5

Sculptors: Eli Harvey, F. R. Roth, and others, 1902-1904 

5

Series 1: Dues and finance correspondence, 

Box

Executive Committee, 

6

Dues and finance,   (3 folders)

6

Subseries c: General correspondence, 1900 May-1902 May 

Box

, 1900 May-1901 May   (15 folders)

7

, 1901 May-1902 May   (11 folders)

7

Subseries d: General correspondence, 1902 May-1904 April 

Box

Beebe, William, 

8

Bronx River, 

8

Budget, 

8

Bond issue, 

8

Camera privilege, 

8

Heins and LaFarge, 

8

Insurance, 

8

Mitchell, H. R., 

8

Lion House, 

8

Medical department, 

8

Parker, R.W., 

8

Sanborn, E. R., 

8

Sea Lion Pool, 

8

Subseries e: New York Aquarium correspondence, 1902-1904 

Box

Budget and expenditures, 

9

Barney, J. Stewart, 

9

Bean, T. H., 

9

Bristol, C. L., 

9

Contract with New York City Board of Estimate and Apportionment, 

9

Damon, W. E., 

9

Dean, B., 

9

Department of Parks: Park Board and statement of expenses, 

9

Evening Post, 

9

Mayer, A. G., 

9

Rives, G. L., 

9

Shurtleff, R., 

9

Townsend, C. H., 

9

Willcox, W. R., 

9

Subseries f: Correspondence and lists regarding acquisitions, 

Box

Animal fund, etc., 

10

Central Park Menagerie, 

10

Clark, G. C., 

10

Loring, J. A., 

10

Miscellaneous lists, 

10

Miscellaneous correspondence, General, 

10

NYZS correspondence and memoranda, 

10

Purchases from Hagenbeck, 

10

Record of disposition of mammals, birds, and reptiles, 1903 June 24 

10

Young, R., 

10

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip