This is the "Collection 1003" page of the "Grant, Madison. NYZS Board of Trustees Secretary/Executive Committee Chairman records, 1897-1912" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Grant, Madison. NYZS Board of Trustees Secretary/Executive Committee Chairman records, 1897-1912  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=516053 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1003 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the records of New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees Secretary/Executive Committee Chairman, Madison Grant, 1897-1912

Guide to the Records of New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees Secretary/Executive Committee Chairman Madison Grant, 1897-1912 1003

Guide to the Records of New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees Secretary/Executive Committee Chairman Madison Grant, 1897-1912
1003

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
Grant, Madison, 1865-1937
Collection Number
1003
Title
New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees. Office of Secretary/Chairman of the Executive Committee. Madison Grant records
Date
1897-1912
Extent
2.0 linear feet (5 Hollinger boxes, 17 letterpress volumes in 9 flat boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
This collection includes correspondence collected, received, and composed by Madison Grant during portions of his tenure as Secretary of the New York Zoological Society from 1895 to 1925 and as Chairman of the Executive Committee from 1909 to 1937. As Secretary, after 1897 Grant served as official correspondent of the Society and this collection includes his outgoing correspondence in that role. Also present is Grant's correspondence as Chairman and President of the Bronx River Parkway Commission. A significant portion of the collection focuses on plans for the New York Zoological Park and improvements made to Park grounds.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Zoological Park.
  • New York Zoological Society. Board of Trustees.

Personal Name(s)

  • Grant, Madison, 1865-1937

Subject(s)

  • Zoos -- Administration

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Letterpress volumes are fragile and may not be photocopied. Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible additional access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding any usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

 Finding aid revised and entered into Archivists' Toolkit by Madeleine Thompson. February 2012

Related Collections

1002. Madison Grant records, 1895-1905.

1030. Madison Grant and W. Redmond Cross records, 1906-1940.

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date of Item]. Madison Grant records, 1897-1912. Collection 1003. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Biographical Note

Madison Grant (1865-1937) was the first Secretary to the Board of Managers (Trustees) of the New York Zoological Society. He became Secretary in 1895 and resigned in 1925 to assume the office of NYZS President. He served as President until 1937. He also served as Chairman of the Executive Committee of the NYZS Board of Managers from 1909 to 1937.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

This collection includes correspondence collected, received, and composed by Madison Grant during portions of his tenure as Secretary of the New York Zoological Society from 1895 to 1925 and as Chairman of the Executive Committee from 1909 to 1937. Also present is Grant's correspondence as Chairman and President of the Bronx River Parkway Commission.

Major correspondents on Society matters include Henry Fairfield Osborn, Jr., William T. Hornaday, architect C. Grant LaFarge, and landscape architects H. A. Caparn and James L. Greenleaf. Subjects include the execution of plans for the Zoological Park (the Elephant, Deer, and Boat Houses, the Boston Road Entrance, and West Farms Plaza); the establishment of a bison herd at the Wichita Game Reserve; and distribution of Grant's articles on Adirondack mammals and wildlife in Alaska. Correspondents from the Bronx River Parkway Commission are Nathaniel Lord Britton, James Cannon, William White Niles, owners of land desired for the Bronx River Parkway, and officials of state, city, and local government.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

These records are divided into four series:

Series 1
 Correspondence, primarily incoming, regarding Zoological Society and Zoological Park administration, 1901-1910, arranged alphabetically by correspondent
Series 2
 Correspondence and subject files regarding ground improvements, 1901-1903 and 1906-1909, arranged alphabetically by correspondent or subject
Series 3
 Bronx River Parkway Commission correspondence and subject files, 1906-1909, arranged chronologically
Series 4
 Outgoing correspondence, 1897-1912

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Correspondence regarding NYZS and NYZP administration, 1901-1910 

Box

Animal Fund, Acknowledgements, 1906-1910 

1

Animal Fund, Administration and animal dealers, 1906-1910 

1

Aquarium, 1908 August -1910 June   (2 folders)

1

Auditing Committee, 1907-1910 June 

1

Buffalo herd for Wichita Game Reserve (USFS), 1906 March-1908 February 

1

"Condition of Wildlife in Alaska," Correspondence regarding article, 1908 

1

Elephant House, 1903 December-1908   (2 folders)

1

Executive Committee, 1907-1910 June   (2 folders)

2

Game protection, 1905 December-1909   (2 folders)

2

Guide books, New York Zoological Park, 1907-1908 March 

2

Heads and Horns, 1906 December-1910 June   (2 folders)

2

Hornaday, William T., 1906 June-1910 June   (3 folders)

2

Landscape architecture, 1901-1909 March 

3

"Notes on Adirondack Mammals," Correspondence regarding article, 1906-1907 

3

Osborn, Henry F., 1901 March-1910 July   (3 folders)

3

Planting and nursery stock, 

3

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Correspondence and subject files regarding ground improvements, 1901-1903 and 1906-1909 

Box

Adams, J. Q., 1906 

4

Audubon Court, 1906 

4

Boat House, 1906-1909 

4

Boston Road Entrance and rapid transit, 1901-1903, 1906-1909   (2 folders)

4

Feed Barn, 1906 

4

Deer House, 1906 

4

Ground Improvements Fund, 1906-1909 

4

Maintenance, 1906-1909 

4

Service Yard, 1901, 1906 

4

Tenth anniversary celebration, 1908-1909 

4

West Farms Plaza, 1906 

4

Whipple, J. S., 1908 

4

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 3: Bronx River Parkway Commission correspondence and subject files, 1906-1909, 1929 

Box

Historical background, 1929 

Note.

Filed by William Bridges, NYZS Curator of Publications

5

General correspondence, 1906 June-1909   (5 folders)

5
Map-case

Map of proposed parkway, 

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 4: Outgoing correspondence, 1897-1912 

Note: Volumes 10-14 (1906 May 4-1909 March 18) not held by WCS Archives. Location unknown.

Box

Vol. 1, 1897 June 23-1899 October 17 

6

Vol. 2, 1898 February 10-1900 March 14 

6

Vol. 3, 1900 March 14-1901 January 26 

7

Vol. 4, 1901 January 21-1902 February 13 

7

Vol. 5, 1902 February 14-1903 January 22 

8

Vol. 6, 1903 January 22-1903 October 26 

8

Vol. 7, 1903 October 27-1904 July 8 

9

Vol. 8, 1904 July 8-1905 May 22 

9

Vol. 9, 1905 May 24-1906 May 3  

10

Vol. 15, 1909 March 19-1909 August 30 

11

Vol. 16, 1909 September 1-1910 March 4 

11

Vol. 17, 1910 March 7-1910 September 15 

12

Vol. 18, 1910 September 14-1911 March 2 

12

Vol. 19-20, 1911-1912 

13

Vol. 21-22, 1912 

14

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip