This is the "Collection 1005A" page of the "Department of Tropical Research general records, 1900-1971" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Department of Tropical Research general records, 1900-1971  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=517056 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1005A Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the General Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research, 1900-1971

Guide to the general records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research, 1900-1971 1005A

Guide to the general records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research, 1900-1971
1005A

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.
Collection Number
1005A
Title
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research. General records
Date
1900-1971
Extent
3.33 linear feet (9 Hollinger boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
The Department of Tropical Research (DTR), founded by William Beebe, carried out intensive ecological investigations in terrestrial and oceanographic settings. This collection spans the extent of DTR history and activities and contains a wide range of materials, including correspondence, expedition reports, guest books, specimen catalogues, and catalogues of motion pictures and illustration. DTR staff represented within the records include Beebe, Jocelyn Crane, Gloria Hollister, and John Tee-Van.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.

Personal Name(s)

  • Anable, Gloria Hollister
  • Beebe, William, 1877-1962
  • Crane, Jocelyn
  • Tee-Van, John

Subject(s)

  • Invertebrates -- Catalogs and collections
  • Invertebrates -- Identification
  • Scientific expeditions -- Tropics
  • Tropics -- Research
  • Vertebrates -- Catalogs and collections
  • Vertebrates -- Identification

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

 Finding aid revised and entered into Archivists' Toolkit by Nicholas Kennedy. June 2012

Related Collections

Collection 1005B. Department of Tropical Research British Guiana and Venezuela records, 1916-1924.

Collection 1005C. Department of Tropical Research Rancho Grande, Venezuela records, 1945-1949.

Collection 1005D. Department of Tropical Research Simla Station, Trinidad records, 1949-1961.

Collection 1005E. Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions general records, 1923-1957.

Collection 1005F. Department of Tropical Research Noma and Arcturus records, 1923-1925.

Collection 1005G. Department of Tropical Research Zaca records, 1936-1938.

Collection 1005H. Department of Tropical Research Antares and Hardi Biaou records, 1932-1936.

Collection 1005J. Department of Tropical Research Bermuda oceanographic expedition records, 1929-1949.

Collection 1006. Gloria Hollister papers, 1925-1988.

Collection 1016. Department of Tropical Research additional records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1017. William Beebe and John Tee-Van records, 1909-1947.

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Department of Tropical Research general records, 1900-1971. Collection 1005A. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Historical Note

The origins of the Department of Tropical Research (DTR) can be traced to the earliest expeditions of William Beebe (1877-1962) when he served as first Curator of Birds for the Bronx Zoo. Among these field expeditions were visits to Nova Scotia in 1900, Mexico from 1903 to 1904, Trinidad in 1908, British Guiana in 1909, and the Pheasant Expedition in Asia from December 1909 through May 1911. In 1914 the old winter house for eagles in the Bronx Zoo was made available to Beebe for laboratory research and storage of his field equipment.

In 1916 and 1918 the New York Zoological Society operated tropical research stations in the Bartica District of British Guiana with staff researchers and artists all working under Beebe as Director. After the First World War, a new station was opened at Kartabo, British Guiana. The research staff visited Kartabo annually between 1919 and 1924, except in those years when occupied elsewhere.

In 1923 Beebe was named Director of Scientific Research for the newly named Department of Tropical Research. In that year the DTR commenced its oceanographic work. Over the next seventeen years, expeditions were undertaken in the West Indies, Sargasso Sea, Hudson Gorge, Bermuda, and the Eastern Pacific, from San Diego, California to the Galapagos Archipelago. In Bermuda between 1928 and 1940, the DTR conducted intensive ecological investigations within well defined areas of deep sea and shore zones, and undertook what were then record-breaking explorations in the depth of the sea with the submersible diving bell, the bathysphere.

Later, the attention of the DTR returned to terrestrial expeditions, with jungle and forest research conducted at the Caripito Station, 1942, and Rancho Grande Station, 1945-1948, both in Venezuela. In 1950 William Beebe donated a field station named Simla, in the Arima Valley of Trinidad, to the New York Zoological Society. Upon his retirement in 1952, Beebe became Director Emeritus, and Jocelyn Crane assumed the administrative responsibilities for DTR, a position she held through 1966. After Beebe’s death, the Simla Station was renamed the William Beebe Tropical Research Station by the Board of Trustees of the New York Zoological Society. From 1965 through 1971, the Station was administered through the Institute for Research in Animal Behavior. In 1974, the property was donated to the Asa Wright Nature Center of the Florida Audubon Society.

More than 100 persons participated in the expeditions and explorations of the DTR. John Tee-Van served as Assistant in Tropical Research, 1917-1924, General Assistant from 1925 through 1930, and General Associate from 1931 until 1941, when he was appointed Executive Secretary of the New York Zoological Park and Aquarium. Gloria Hollister held the position of Research Associate from 1928 through 1941. Jocelyn Crane began as Research Zoologist in 1930, went on to be Assistant Director in 1952, Directing Curator in 1962, Director from 1963 through 1965, and administrator of the William Beebe Tropical Research Station in 1966. Other participants in the scientific work of the DTR included Alfred Emerson, William J. and Marie Fish, Henry Fleming, William K. Gregory, G. Inness Hartley, Paul G. Howes, William H. Merriam, and David W. Snow.

The research interests of the DTR included ecology, biotic zones, the life histories of species, systematics, and behavior of lower invertebrates, crustaceans, insects and spiders, fishes, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals. The activities of the research staff included the discovery and description of more than 800 species new to science, especially among insects, mollusks, and fishes; cataloging and preserving specimens for systematics collections; scientific and popular publications, lectures, and exhibits based upon explorations; and the collection of live specimens for the New York Zoological Park.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

This collection spans the extent of Department of Tropical Research history and activities (1900-1971) and contains a wide range of materials, including correspondence, expedition reports, guest books, specimen catalogues, and catalogues of motion pictures and illustration. Correspondence includes chiefly letters written to and from William Beebe from various individuals working at such scholarly institutions as the Chicago National History Museum, The American National History Museum, The United States Smithsonian Institute, University of Texas (Department of Zoology). There are also expedition reports from territories outside the U. S. beginning with British Guiana, 1916-1924, and expanding to include various territories in Columbia, Trinidad, Bermuda, Panama, and Venezuela, 1941-1965. The reports document animal specimens, gifts to outside institutions, acquisitions, and education and research efforts, 1916-1924 and 1941-1965. Guest books date from 1916-1971, and they record the names of visitors to the field stations in Kartabo, British Guiana, Bermuda, Nonsuch, Venezeula, and Simla. Additionally, there are specimen catalogs for vertebrates and invertebrates spanning from 1916 to 1958. The collection also includes catalogs of color plates and drawings 1919-1938, film indices circa 1940, and two boxes of specimen index file cards.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged into ten series:

Series 1
 Historical subjects, circa 1900-1961
Series 2
 Tropical research reports, circa 1941-1965
Series 3
 Records by and about William Beebe
Series 4
 Records by and about Gloria Hollister, circa 1929-1934
Series 5
 Vertebrate identifications and miscellaneous correspondence, 1916-1953, alphabetical in two subseries:

(5A) Vertebrate identifications

(5B) Correspondence

Series 6
 Copied texts
Series 7
 Research station guest books, 1916-1971
Series 8
 Specimen catalogs, 1916-1958; divided into two subseries:

(8A) Vertebrate specimen catalogues, 1916-1958

(8B) Invertebrate specimen catalogues, 1946-1958

Series 9
 Catalogues of color plates, drawings, and motion pictures, 1919-1940
Series 10
 Reference card file to literature and specimens, taxonomic arrangement

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Historical subjects, circa 1900-1961 

Box

History of the Department of Tropical Research: assorted memoranda, lists, and drafts, 1900-1961 

1

Lists of published contributions, 

1

William Beebe, 

1

Miscellaneous, 

1

Passing of the "Gladisfen", 

1

Entertainment, 

1

Report to the Secretaries of War and the Navy, 

1

Tropical Research Station field reports, 1916-1922, 1924   (5 folders)

1

Tropical Research Station financial statements and fundraising, 1919-1922 

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Tropical research reports, circa 1941-1965 

Box

Six-month and annual reports, 1941 

1

Report numbers 1-5, annual report, height of dry season, and resume of the fauna of the Kartabo, 1942 

1

Annual report, 1943 

1

Quarterly reports, numbers 1-2, annual report, Jocelyn Crane (J. C.) South American trip, Rancho Grande, and western trip, 1944 

1

Jocelyn Crane, South American reports, 

1

Report to Creole Petroleum Company and annual report, 1945 

1

46th Expedition reports, numbers 1-3, and annual report, 1946 

1

Annual report, 1947 

1

47th Expedition reports, numbers 1-5, and annual report, 1948 

1

48th Expedition reports, numbers 1-6, and annual report, 1950 

2

49th Expedition reports, numbers 1-5, and annual report, 1951 

2

50th Expedition reports, numbers 1-5, 1952 

2

51st Expedition reports, numbers 1-6, 1952-1953 

2

Annual report, 1953 

2

52nd Expedition reports, numbers 1-6, including Jocelyn Crane trip, 1953-1954 

2

53rd Expedition reports, numbers 1-4, 1954-1955 

2

54th Expedition reports, numbers 1-4, 1955 

2

55th Expedition reports, numbers 1-5, and annual report, 1956 

2

57th Expedition reports, numbers 1-6, 1956-1957 

2

Interim report, and annual report drafts, 1957 

2

59th Expedition reports, numbers 1 and 3, 1957-1958 

2

60th Expedition reports, numbers 1-3, 1958-1959 

2

61st Expedition reports, numbers 1-2, 1959-1960 

2

62nd Expedition reports, numbers 1 and 3, and Jocelyn Crane report, 1960-1962 

2

Report from Simla, 1963-1965 

2

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 3: Records by and about William Beebe, 

Box

Typescript writings, with accompanying photographs, and includes: "There Were Giants in the Earth in Those Days" and "Animals and Men",   (2 folders)

2

Miscellany, 

2

Bibliographic and biographic profile by Jocelyn Crane, 

2

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 4: Records by and about Gloria Hollister, circa 1929-1934 

Box

Biographical sketch of Gloria Hollister Anable, by Anthony Anable, 

3

Scrapbooks of Department of Tropical Research activities, 1929-1934   (6 folders)

3

Scrapbook on Simon Lake, 1932-1934 

3

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 5: Vertebrate identifications and miscellaneous correspondence, 1916-1953 

Subseries a: Vertebrate identifications, 

Box

Contents page, 

4

Bertelsen and Bogart, 

4

Campbell, 

4

Grey, 

4

Harry Carl Hubbs and Clark Hubbs, 

4

Meyers and Miller, 

4

Nichols, 

4

Schultz, 

4

J. Van Tyne, 

4

Wetmore, 

4

Subseries b: Correspondence, 1916-1953 

Box

American Museum of Natural History, 

4

Anduze, Pablo J., 

4

Bequaert, 

4

Emerson, Alfred, 

4

Funkhouser, W. D., 

4

Gudger, E. W., 

4

Guppy, P. Lechmore, 

4

Hall, David G., 

4

Hubbs, Carl, 

4

Hungerford, H. B., 

4

Insect identifications, 

4

Jellison, W. L., 

4

Kartabo fish, 

4

Kellogg, Remington, 

4

Menzies and Wailes, 

4

Muesebeck, C. F. W., 

4

Oldroyd, H., 

4

Peters, J. A., 

4

Sailer, R. I., 

4

Usinger, R. L., 

4

Miscellaneous, 

4

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 6: Copied texts, 

Box

Eggs of European fishes, key, descriptions, and drawing by species, A-Z, 

4

Summary of Bartramania, Reid letters, Migration of plants, Entomology of Bermuda, and Canaries, 

4

Odd loose leaves, 

4

Commentarium: J. T. Bartram, Mullet Bay, Bermuda, and Birds, 1861 

4

Nota in Commentarios Relata, Insecta, and Dairy, J. T. Bartram, 

4

Bermuda and its formation and The shells of Bermuda, 

4

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 7: Research station guest books, 1916-1971 

Box

Kartabo, 1916-1922 

5

British Guiana, 1916-1922 

5

Bermuda, 1928-1937 

5

Nonsuch, 1940 

5

Venezuela, 1942-1946 

5

Simla, 1967-1971 

5

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 8: Specimen catalogs, 1916-1958 

Subseries a: Vertebrate specimen catalogues, 1916-1958 

Box

Guiana catalogue, 1916-1924 

6

Syringes, 1922, 1924 

6

Vertebrate catalogue, 1938, 1939 

6

Caripito vertebrate catalogue and New York, 1942-1949 

6

Rancho Grande vertebrate catalogue, 1945-1948 

6

Potassium hydroxide(KOH), 1944-1945 

6

Simla vertebrate catalogue, 1950-1958   (2 folders)

Subseries b: Invertebrate specimen catalogues, 1946-1958 

Box

Jocelyn Crane section, 1946 

6

Simla, 1950-1955   (2 folders)

6

Invertebrate catalogue and alcohol thrown away, 1956-1958, 1957 

6

List of Department of Tropical Research lab bird eggs, 

6

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 9: Catalogues of color plates, drawings, and motion pictures, 1919-1940 

Box

Indices, Lizard color plates, expeditions, and artists, 

7

Color plates, Kartabo, 1919-1924 

7

Color plates, Noma and Arcturus, 1923, 1925 

7

Zaca, 1936, 1937-1938 

7

Venezuela and Caripito Station, 1942 

7

Venezuela and Rancho Grande Station, 1945-1946 

7

Trinidad and Simla Station, 1950-1951 

7

Haiti, 1927 

7

Bermuda color plates, 1929-1935, 1937 

Scope and Contents note

Includes Cooper and Damrosh work.

7

Film index, circa 1940 

Scope and Contents note

Individual type written sheets prepared for each film can; gives relevant numbers, condition, and contents of each film. 35 mm. only, apparently incomplete.

7

Resume of motion picture films, 

Scope and Contents note

Includes: summaries, scene by scene, and lists.

7

Introduction to Zoological Society lecture by William Beebe, circa 1939 

Scope and Contents note

Includes: 1 1/2 page script.

7

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 10: Reference card file to literature and specimens, 

Box

Cardfile index to literature and specimens by species, 

8

Cardfile index to literature and specimens by species, continued, 

9

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip