This is the "Collection 1005H" page of the "Department of Tropical Research. Oceanographic Expeditions. Antares and Hardi Biaou records, 1932-1936" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Department of Tropical Research. Oceanographic Expeditions. Antares and Hardi Biaou records, 1932-1936  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=518292 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1005H Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions aboard the vessels Antares and Hardi Biaou, 1932-1936

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research Oceanographic Expeditions Aboard the Vessels Antares and Hardi Biaou, 1932-1936 1005H

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research Oceanographic Expeditions Aboard the Vessels Antares and Hardi Biaou, 1932-1936
1005H

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.
Collection Number
1005H
Title
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research. Oceanographic expeditions. Antares and Hardi Biaou records
Date
1932-1936
Extent
0.24 linear feet (1 half-Hollinger box)
Language
English
Abstract
The New York Zoological Society's Department of Tropical Research collected data on marine life among the Leeward and Grenadine Islands from the yacht Antares during 1932. The following year, DTR Director William Beebe and other staff returned to the West Indies aboard the Antares. In 1936, the DTR gathered material during a West Indian cruise aboard the yacht Hardi Biaou. The records in this collection include fish outlines and catalogs from the Antares and Hardi Biaou expeditions, as well as other specimen notes and observations.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.

Personal Name(s)

  • Beebe, William, 1877-1962

Subject(s)

  • Fishes -- Catalogs and collections
  • Fishes -- West Indies
  • Scientific expeditions -- West Indies

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

 Finding aid revised and entered into Archivist's Toolkit by Nicholas Kennedy. July 2012

Related Collections

Collection 1005A. Department of Tropical Research general records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1005B. Department of Tropical Research British Guiana and Venezuela records, 1916-1924.

Collection 1005C. Department of Tropical Research Rancho Grande, Venezuela records, 1945-1949.

Collection 1005D. Department of Tropical Research Simla Station, Trinidad records, 1949-1961.

Collection 1005E. Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions general records, 1923-1957.

Collection 1005F. Department of Tropical Research Noma and Arcturus records, 1923-1925.

Collection 1005G. Department of Tropical Research Zaca records, 1936-1938.

Collection 1005J. Department of Tropical Research Bermuda oceanographic expedition records, 1929-1949.

Collection 1006. Gloria Hollister papers, 1925-1988.

Collection 1016. Department of Tropical Research additional records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1017. William Beebe and John Tee-Van records, 1909-1947.

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Department of Tropical Research Antares and Hardi Biaou records, 1932-1936. Collection 1005H. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Historical Note

In 1932 Department of Tropical Research staff William Beebe and Gloria Hollister were guests of Colonel E. M. Chance aboard the yacht Antares for a one-month cruise among the Leeward and Grenadine Islands. During the next year, a Pacific-bound expedition aboard Antares brought Beebe and Hollister back to the West Indies for a short visit. In 1936, Dr. Henry O. Lloyd placed his yacht Hardi Biaou (formally the Pawnee, designed for oceanographic work by Harry Payne Bingham) at the disposal of the Department of Tropical Research; the Lloyds accompanied Beebe, John Tee-Van, and Jocelyn Crane on a West Indian cruise.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

This collection contains records collected by the New York Zoological Society's Department of Tropical Research during their Antares and Hardi Biaou expeditions of 1936 to 1938. Materials include fish outlines and catalogs as well as other specimen notes and observations.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in two series:

Series 1
 Antares expeditions records, 1932 and 1933
Series 2
 Hardi Biaou expedition records, 1936

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Antares expeditions records, 1932-1933 

Box

Fish outlines, handwritten data sheets, 1932 

1

Fish catalog, first trip: Dominica, St. Georges, Grenada, Union Island Fishes, Castries, St. Lucia, Fort-de-France, Martinique, Antigua, St. Kitts, and Fowler, 1932 

1

Fish catalog and outlines, Second trip (includes data on flying fishes), 1933 

1

Flying fish, typescript, 1932 

1

Dactyloscopus, 

1

Other fish, 1932 

1

Fishes of Grenada, 

1

Union Island: Reef fish, birds, and plankton, 1932 

1

Birds of Antigua and Barbuda, Insects of Barbuda, 

1

Union Island, Gillellus quadiacintus (star gazer),Includes data, correspondence, and typescript draft, 1932, 1934-1935 

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Hardi Biaou Expedition records, 1936 

Box

Cat Island, 

1

Virgin Islands, 

1

Martinique, 

1

St. Lucia, 

1

Union Island, 

1

Trinidad, Margarita, and Curacao, 

1

Jamaica, 

1

Flying fish, 

1

Cuba to Florida, 

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip