This is the "Collection 3007" page of the "Garibaldi, Louis E. New York Aquarium Director records, 1960-1999 " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Garibaldi, Louis E. New York Aquarium Director records, 1960-1999  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=518977 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 3007 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the records of the New York Aquarium Director, Louis E. Garibaldi, 1960-1999

Guide to the Records of the New York Aquarium Director Louis E. Garibaldi, 1960-1999 3007

Guide to the Records of the New York Aquarium Director Louis E. Garibaldi, 1960-1999
3007

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
Garibaldi, Lou
Collection Number
3007
Title
New York Aquarium. Office of Director. Louis E. Garibaldi records
Date 
1960-1999
Extent
4.82 linear feet (11 Hollinger boxes, 1 half-Hollinger box, 1 carton)
Language
English
Abstract
The collection consists of records from Louis Garibaldi’s tenure as Associate Director and Director of the New York Aquarium. As Associate Director Garibaldi held responsibility for many of the Aquarium’s operational functions while the Aquarium’s Director, George Ruggieri, coordinated with the New York Zoological Society’s upper administration and also directed the Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences. When Ruggieri passed away in 1987, Garibaldi was the natural candidate to continue his work. The records include Garibaldi’s correspondence, New York Aquarium administrative records, topical files, and personal papers, and cover several aspects of the Aquarium’s operations, particularly its Animal, Education, Guest Services, and Public Affairs departments.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Aquarium.
  • New York Zoological Society.
  • Wildlife Conservation Society (New York, N.Y.).

Personal Name(s)

  • Garibaldi, Lou

Subject(s)

  • Aquarists
  • Aquarium animals
  • Aquatic animals
  • Public aquariums
  • Public Aquariums -- Design and construction

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Certain portions of this collection are restricted. Please contact the WCS Archives regarding these access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer, 2002 (Acc. 2002.002).

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Related Collections

Please contact the Wildlife Conservation Society Archives for information on related collections.

Items Separated

Newsletters for NYA staff and docents were transferred to the Publications and Printed Ephemera Collection. A file of personnel records has been set aside for H.R. review.

Other Finding Aids

The Wildlife Conservation Society Archives holds additional descriptive information pertaining to this collection; please contact the archivist for more detail.

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Louis E. Garibaldi records, 1960-1999. Collection 3007. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Biographical Note

Louis E. Garibaldi began working in aquariums and other marine facilities in 1966. Prior to joining the New York Zoological Society, he had spent over a decade at the New England Aquarium, first as Curator and later as Director of Operations. Garibaldi started his tenure at the New York Zoological Society [NYZS] in 1982 as Associate Director of the New York Aquarium. In this capacity he held responsibility for many of the Aquarium’s operational and administrative functions, as the Aquarium’s Director, George Ruggieri, coordinated the Aquarium’s affairs with NYZS upper administration and also directed the Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences. Garibaldi assumed increased responsibilities when Ruggieri fell ill in 1987, and was the natural candidate to continue Ruggieri’s work when he passed away later that year. In 2002 Garibaldi left the Aquarium to join the proposed New Bedford Oceanarium in Massachusetts; he later became Director of New Bedford’s Buttonwood Park Zoo.

NYZS / WCS Career Chronology
1982-1987 Associate Director, New York Aquarium
1987-1993 Acting Director, Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences
1987-1994 Director, New York Aquarium
1994-2002 Vice President and Director, New York Aquarium

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

The collection consists of records from Louis Garibaldi’s tenure as Associate Director and Director of the New York Aquarium. It includes Garibaldi’s correspondence, New York Aquarium and New York Zoological Society/Wildlife Conservation Society administrative records, topical files, and personal papers, and covers several aspects of the Aquarium’s operations. Garibaldi’s correspondence includes both general correspondence and interoffice memos between various NYA employees; there is considerable overlap in subjects between the interoffice memos and the Aquarium administrative files. The administrative files contain memos, meeting minutes, reports, budgets, publicity materials, and other records that document the administration of the Aquarium, as well as a small amount of materials on the Society at large, particularly its development and fundraising processes and the Nixon Griffis Fund for Zoological Research. The Aquarium’s Animal, Education, Guest Services, and Public Affairs departments are particularly well represented. Garibaldi’s topical files include brochures and guides from other aquariums, records relating to the Aquarium’s participation in New York City institutions and events, and material related to the debate over the captivity of marine mammals—especially cetaceans—in zoos, aquariums, and similar facilities. The bulk of Garibaldi’s personal papers dates from his time at the New England Aquarium [NEA]; notable materials include records relating to Garibaldi and the NEA’s roles as consultants to the City of Baltimore on the creation and construction of the Baltimore Aquarium.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

The collection is arranged into five series:

Series 1
 Correspondence, 1983-1998
Series 2
 NYA Administrative Files, 1970-1999 (bulk 1981-1998)
Series 3
 NYZS and WCS Administrative Files, 1984-1999
Series 4
 Topical Files, 1960-1999 (bulk 1983-1993)
Series 5
 Louis E. Garibaldi Papers, 1975-1991

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip