This is the "Collection 3053" page of the "Nigrelli, Ross F. New York Aquarium and Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences Director papers, 1929-1987" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Nigrelli, Ross F. New York Aquarium and Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences Director papers, 1929-1987  

Last Updated: May 8, 2014 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=519033 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 3053 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the papers of the New York Aquarium and Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences Director, Ross F. Nigrelli, 1929-1987

Guide to the Papers of the New York Aquarium and Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences Director Ross F. Nigrelli, 1929-1987 3053

Guide to the Papers of the New York Aquarium and Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences Director Ross F. Nigrelli, 1929-1987
3053

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
Nigrelli, Ross F., (Ross Franco), 1902-1989
Collection Number
3053
Title
New York Aquarium. Office of Director. Ross F. Nigrelli Papers
Date
1929-1987 (Bulk 1945-1980)
Extent
2.92 linear feet (2 cartons, 2 half-Hollinger boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
The collection consists of materials from Ross F. Nigrelli, Director of the New York Aquarium and the Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences. It includes correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, reprints, and theses from Nigrelli's students.

Index Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Aquarium.
  • New York Zoological Society. Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences.

Personal Name(s)

  • Nigrelli, Ross F., (Ross Franco), 1902-1989

Subject(s)

  • Aquarists
  • Aquatic animals
  • Fishes -- Diseases
  • Marine ecology
  • Marine metabolites

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer, circa 1976-1979 (Acc. 1980.156).

Internal transfer, 1988 (Acc. 1988.001).

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Related Collections

Please contact the Wildlife Conservation Society Archives for information on holdings related to this collection.

Other Finding Aids

The Wildlife Conservation Society Archives holds additional descriptive information pertaining to this collection; please contact the archivist for more detail.

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Ross F. Nigrelli papers, 1929-1987. Collection 3053. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Biographical Note

WCS Career Chronology
1931-1932 Fellow, New York Aquarium
1932-1934 Parasitologist, New York Aquarium
1934-1973 Pathologist, New York Aquarium
1957-1963 Director, NYA Laboratory of Marine Biochemistry and Ecology
1964-1972 Director of Research, New York Aquarium Laboratories
1966-1970 Director, New York Aquarium
1967-1973 Director, Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

Nigrelli's correspondence starts from around the time of his retirement from the New York Aquarium, and continues for a few years after his retirement from the Osborn Laboratories of Marine Science. The rest of the material in the collection, however, spans the length of Nigrelli's career. The reprints in Series Four give the most complete view of Nigrelli's research work, and were compiled and numbered by Nigrelli--or his secretary--in more or less chronological order up through 1976. (Reprints from 1977 onwards came in chronological order with the rest, and were given year numbers by the archivist.) The student theses include papers from several people who went on to become OLMS employees.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

The collection is divided into the following six series:

Series 1
Ross F. Nigrelli correspondence, 1970-1976
Series 2
Subject files, 1952-1976
Series 3
Manuscripts, papers, and proofs, circa 1955-1975
Series 4
Ross F. Nigrelli reprints, 1929-1987
Series 5
Nigrelli's students' theses, 1949-1981 (bulk 1956-1971)
Series 6
Additions, 1974-1982

Return to Table of Contents »

Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip