This is the "Collection 1005E" page of the "Department of Tropical Research. Oceanographic Expeditions. General records, 1923-1957" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Department of Tropical Research. Oceanographic Expeditions. General records, 1923-1957  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=521234 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1005E Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the General Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions, 1923-1957

Guide to the General Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions, 1923-1957 1005E

Guide to the General Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions, 1923-1957
1005E

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.
Collection Number
1005E
Title
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research. Oceanographic expeditions. General records
Date
1923-1957
Extent
0.84 linear feet (2 Hollinger boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
This collection derives from many of the oceanographic expeditions of the Department of Tropical Research, between 1923 and 1957, led by William Beebe. It includes records created during the DTR's explorations in the depth of the sea with the submersible diving bell, the bathysphere. Documentation and disposition of marine specimens is a major topic. Study materials and miscellaneous correspondence are also included, with pediculates and other deep-sea fishes among the prominent subjects.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.

Personal Name(s)

  • Beebe, William, 1877-1962

Subject(s)

  • Anglerfishes
  • Bathysphere
  • Deep-sea fishes
  • Invertebrates -- Catalogs and collections
  • Scientific expeditions
  • Submersibles
  • Underwater exploration
  • Zoological specimens -- Collection and preservation

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

 Finding aid revised and entered into Archivists' Toolkit by Nicholas Kennedy. July 2012

Related Collections

Collection 1005A. Department of Tropical Research general records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1005B. Department of Tropical Research British Guiana and Venezuela records, 1916-1924.

Collection 1005C. Department of Tropical Research Rancho Grande, Venezuela records, 1945-1949.

Collection 1005D. Department of Tropical Research Simla Station, Trinidad records, 1949-1961.

Collection 1005F. Department of Tropical Research Noma and Arcturus records, 1923-1925.

Collection 1005G. Department of Tropical Research Zaca records, 1936-1938.

Collection 1005H. Department of Tropical Research Antares and Hardi Biaou records, 1932-1936.

Collection 1005J. Department of Tropical Research Bermuda oceanographic expedition records, 1929-1949.

Collection 1006. Gloria Hollister papers, 1925-1988.

Collection 1016. Department of Tropical Research additional records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1017. William Beebe and John Tee-Van records, 1909-1947.

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions general records, 1923-1957. Collection 1005E. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Historical Note

In 1923 the Department of Tropical Research, under the direction of William Beebe, commenced its oceanographic work. Over the next seventeen years, expeditions were undertaken in the West Indies, Sargasso Sea, Hudson Gorge, Bermuda, and the Eastern Pacific, from San Diego, California to the Galapagos Archipelago. In Bermuda between 1928 and 1940, the DTR conducted intensive ecological investigations within well-defined areas of deep-sea and shore zones, and undertook record-breaking explorations in the depth of the sea with the submersible diving bell, the bathysphere.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

These records are derived from many of the oceanographic expeditions of the Department of Tropical Research, between 1923 and 1957. Documentation and disposition of marine specimens is a major topic. Study materials and miscellaneous correspondence are also included, with pediculates and other deep-sea fishes among the prominent subjects.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged into four series:

Series 1
 Invertebrate catalogs, 1923-1941
Series 2
 Keys and outlines, circa 1920-1937
Series 3
 Memoranda, correspondence, and lists relating to specimen collections, 1938-1957, arranged in two subseries:

(3A) Memoranda and correspondence

(3B) Lists

Series 4
 Study material on pediculates

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Invertebrate catalogs, 1923-1941 

Box

Noma, 1923 

1

Arcturus, 1925 

1

Haiti, 1927 

1

Bermuda, 1929-1931 

1

Bermuda, 1932-1940 

1

Hardi Biaou, 1936 

1

Zaca, 1936 

1

Zaca, 1937-1938 

1

Zaca, insect catalog, 1937-1938 

1

Panama and Miami, 1941 

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Keys and outlines, circa 1920-1937 

Box

General, 

1

Laboratory data and equipment, 

1

Arcturus field forms, 

1

Arcturus, Invertebrates, 

1

Keys to Bermuda invertebrates, and deep sea families, 

1

Classification of deep sea and shore fishes, 

1

Families of deep sea and shore fishes, 

1

Lists of Department of Tropical Research deep sea fish, 1937 

1

Photograph record, old potassium hydroxide (KOH) collection, 

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 3: Memoranda, correspondence, and lists relating to specimen collections, 1938-1957 

Subseries a: Memoranda and correspondence, 

Box

John Tee-Van, Re: distribution of Department of Tropical Research specimens to other institutions, circa 1957 

1

Subseries a: Lists, 

Box

Vanderbilt fishes, 1939 

1

Sent to American Museum of Natural History (Haiti and Eastern Pacific expeditions), circa 1938-1941 

1

Costa Rica specimens sent to Museo Nacional for identification, 1940-1941 

1

Zaca fish from Clarion Island in crocks, 

1

Samples from Arcturus and Bermuda oceanographic expeditions sent to Robert Menzies, 1956 

1

Bermuda plankton, 

2

Miscellaneous, 

2

Printed reports,   (2 folders)

2

Columbia University/Lamont Geological Laboratory, Robert J. Menzies, and Allan W. H. Be, 1956-1957 

1

William K. Emerson (American Museum of Natural History), 1957 

1

Giles W. Mead (U. S. Fish & Wildlife), 1957-1958 

1

Leonard P. Schultz (Smithsonian Institute), 1956 

1

Stanford University, 1951 

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 4: Study material on pediculates, 

Box

Prints from Italian and German texts, 

2

Copied extracts, 

2

Ceratis and male, Includes Hudson Gorge data, 

2

Monograph of Antennarius, 

2

Skull of Scopelas, Chauliodus, and (Italian) Argyropelecus, 

2

Deep sea fish and crustaceans, 

2

Distribution of deep sea fish (Valdivia) and light organs of deep sea fish Gastrostomus, 

2

Bermuda fish excerpts, 

2

Miscellaneous, 

2

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip