This is the "Collection 1014" page of the "Blair, W. Reid. Matameck Conference on Biological Cycles records, 1931-1935" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Blair, W. Reid. Matameck Conference on Biological Cycles records, 1931-1935  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=521284 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1014 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the records of the Matameck Conference on Biological Cycles collected by W. Reid Blair, 1931-1935

Guide to the Records of the Matameck Conference on Biological Cycles Collected by W. Reid Blair, 1931-1935 1014

Guide to the Records of the Matameck Conference on Biological Cycles Collected by W. Reid Blair, 1931-1935
1014

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
Blair, W. Reid, (William Reid), b. 1875
Collection Number
1014
Title
New York Zoological Park. Office of Director. W. Reid Blair collection of records from Matameck Conference on Biological Cycles
Date
1931-1935
Extent
0.42 linear feet (1 Hollinger box)
Language
English
Abstract
This collection includes notes, clippings, memorabilia, and correspondence collected by W. Reid Blair and related to the 1931 Matameck Conference on Biological Cycles (also known as the Canadian Biological Conference). Also included in the collection are typed manuscripts of reports by the influential ecologist Charles Elton.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Zoological Society.

Personal Name(s)

  • Blair, W. Reid, (William Reid), b. 1875
  • Elton, Charles S., (Charles Sutherland), 1900-1991

Subject(s)

  • Rodent populations
  • Rodents -- Canada
  • Scientific expeditions -- Labrador (N.L.)

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

 August 2012

Related Collections

Collection 1001. William T. Hornaday and W. Reid Blair incoming correspondence, 1895-1939.

Collection 1012. William T. Hornaday and W. Reid Blair outgoing correspondence, 1895-1939.

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. W. Reid Blair Matameck Conference on Biological Cycles records. Collection 1014. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Historical Note

In 1931, thirty naturalists gathered at the Matameck Factory, Copley Amory's manor on Moisie Bay, near the Labrador boundary for the Matameck Conference on Biological Cycles (also known as the Canadian Biological Conference). The purpose of the meeting was to discuss and attempt to define the natural laws that govern the alternating plenitude and scarcity of Canadian wildlife.

New York Zoological Society President Madison Grant delegated the directors of the Zoological Park and Aquarium, W. Reid Blair and Charles H. Townsend, to represent NYZS at the conference. As a result of the conference, NYZS extended a three-year grant to Charles Elton, Director of the Bureau of Animal Population at Oxford University, which enabled him to study the records in the Hudson's Bay Company Archives and to trace recurrent cycles of abundance and scarcity among the snowshoe rabbit, lynx, and other furbearing wildlife in the MacKenzie River District and Labrador.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

This collection includes material collected by W. Reid Blair and related to the 1931 Matameck Conference on Biological Cycles (also known as the Canadian Biological Conference). Among its contents are program notes by W. Reid Blair, news clippings, conference memorabilia, and incoming correspondence from Copely Amory, host of the Matameck Conference. Also included in the collection are typed manuscripts of reports by the influential ecologist Charles Elton as well as notes on biology, as extracted by Charles and Rose Elton, Mary Nicholson, and Phoebe Ashburner.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in two series:

Series 1
 Matameck Conference records
Series 2
 Charles Elton records

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Matameck Conference records, 

Box

"Matameck Conference on Biological Cycles", report by B. Huntingdon, 1932 

1

"Abstracts of papers and discussion," edited by Charles Elton, 1933 

1

Abstracts circulated at conference, 1931 

1

Expenses, W. Reid Blair (mostly accommodations), 

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Charles Elton records, 

Box

Amory, Copley, "Brief to illustrate the possibilities for a land and marine biological station, Charleston, South Carolina", 1935 

1

New York Times and Montreal Gazette clippings, 1931 July 24-August 1 

1

Program, 1931 

1

Program notes, 1931 

1

News clippings, 1930 

1

"The rabbit cycle in Saskatchewan," typescript, 1931 

1

"The health of a wild mouse population," typescript, 1931 

1

Proposal: Research Bureau for the Study of the Periodic Fluctuation in the Numbers of Wild Animals, 1931 January  

1

"Fluctuations in rodent numbers, Development of work at Oxford," Typescript and report, 1931 and 1934 

1

Extracts from Journal of Fort Simpson and MacKenzies's River District correspondence and reports, typescript,   (2 folders)

1

Biological notes abstracted at Hudson's Bay Company Archives: Forts Norman, Laird, and Simpson, Typescript, 1840-1866 

1

"Snowshoe rabbit in early times. The MacKenzies River Valley," Typescript, 1821-1850 

1

The Canadian snowshoe rabbit inquiry, 1931-1933 

1

Biological notes abstracted at Hudson's Bay Company Archives: Moose Fort (Moose Factory), 1774-1788 

1

Moravian missions (Labrador): Extracts from periodical accounts, 1791 

Existence and Location of Copies note

Mircofilm copy created; location unknown as of 8/2/12.

1

Moravian missions (Labrador): Fur returns, 1835-1926 

Existence and Location of Copies note

Mircofilm copy created; location unknown as of 8/2/12.

1

Moravian missions (Labrador): Labrador fur cycle, 1835-1921 

Existence and Location of Copies note

Mircofilm copy created; location unknown as of 8/2/12.

1

Moravian missions (Labrador): Logbooks of the ship Harmony, 1889 

Existence and Location of Copies note

Mircofilm copy created; location unknown as of 8/2/12.

1

Moravian missions (Labrador): Further extracts, 

1

Various extracts from archives and publications in the library of the Hudson's Bay Co., describing wildlife, Typescript, 

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip