This is the "Collection 1025" page of the "American Committee for International Wild Life Protection Secretary records, 1930-1962 " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

American Committee for International Wild Life Protection Secretary records, 1930-1962  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=521307 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1025 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the records of the American Committee for International Wild Life Protection Secretary, 1930-1962

Guide to the Records of the American Committee for International Wild Life Protection Secretary, 1930-1962 1025

Guide to the Records of the American Committee for International Wild Life Protection Secretary, 1930-1962
1025

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
American Committee for International Wild Life Protection.
Collection Number
1025
Title
American Committee for International Wild Life Protection. Office of Secretary records
Date
1930-1962
Extent
7.1 linear feet (18 Hollinger boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
The American Committee for International Wild Life Protection (ACIWLP) was founded in 1930 by the Boone and Crockett Club for the purpose of promoting the conservation of wildlife in its original habitat and the protection of vanishing species of birds and mammals in all parts of the world except the United States. This collection, which spans from 1930 to 1962, reflects the regular administrative work of the Secretary and Assistant Secretary and includes correspondence and subject files concerning conservation work, arranged by geographic region and by animal.

Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • American Committee for International Wild Life Protection.
  • Boone and Crockett Club.

Subject(s)

  • Wildlife conservation

Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson.

Revision Description

 Finding aid revised and entered into Archivists' Toolkit by Nicholas Kennedy.July 2012

Related Collections

Collection 1023. William T. Hornaday Camp-Fire Club of America records, 1903-1914.

Collection 1024. Conservation Committee records, 1937-1949.

Collection 1029. Fairfield Osborn records, circa 1936-1967.

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. American Committee for International Wild Life Protection records. Collection 1025. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.


Historical Note

The American Committee for International Wild Life Protection (ACIWLP) was founded in 1930 for the purpose of promoting the conservation of wildlife in its original habitat and the protection of vanishing species of birds and mammals in all parts of the world except the United States. ACIWLP was an independent organization comprised of a voluntary Executive Committee and Advisory Board representing the leading natural history museums, zoological societies, and conservation organizations in the United States. It was funded by contributions from individuals on the Committee, member organizations, and friends. The founding Executive Committee consisted of John Phillips, Chairman, and Harold J. Coolidge, Secretary, both representing the Boone and Crockett Club; George Tate of the American Museum of Natural History; and Kermit Roosevelt on behalf of the New York Zoological Society.

A central office, operated under the supervision of the Secretary, was provided through the generosity of a member organization and staffed by a salaried Assistant Secretary. This office was located at the Museum of Comparative Zoology until 1938. Betty Hone and Ruth Dauchy served as Assistant Secretary during portions of this period. In 1938 Childs Frick accepted the chairmanship of ACIWLP, W. Reid Blair became Secretary, and the Committee office was moved to the Bronx Zoo. In 1940 Edith Franz was employed as Assistant Secretary. Blair's successors as Secretary included George E. Brewer, Jr. and Lee S. Crandall. During the early 1960s, the administrative office of ACIWLP moved to the American Museum of Natural History. In 1974 the association was reorganized as the American Committee for International Conservation.


Scope and Content

This collection, which spans from 1930 to 1962, reflects the regular office work of the Secretary and Assistant Secretary of the American Committee for International Wild Life Protection, including maintaining a clearing house of information on endangered wildlife and efforts to more effectively solve conservation problems; referring important matters to the Executive Committee and Advisory Board of ACIWLP; coordinating policies of cooperation with foreign governments and institutions in guiding the protection of wildlife and natural habitats by means of national parks, wildlife sanctuaries, and protective legislation; and supervising the preparation, publication, and distribution of special research studies concerned with endangered and extinct species of fauna.

Individuals prominently represented include Charles Cadwalader, James L. Clark, W. Redmond Cross, Jean Delacour, Childs Frick, Madison Grant, Francis Harper, C. W. Hobley, Julian Huxley, Erna Mohr, Robert T. Moore, William Phillips, Kermit Roosevelt, Sir Charles Ross, Peter Van Tienhoven, Arthur Vernay, and Alexander Wetmore.


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in five series:

Series 1
 Correspondence, 1930-1940
Series 2
 Administrative files
Series 3
 Geographical subject files, divided in seven subseries:

(3A) Pan-America subject files

(3B) Europe subject files

(3C) Australia and New Zealand subject files

(3D) North America subject files

(3E) Africa subject files

(3F) Asia subject files

(3G) National parks subject files

Series 4
 Animal subject files, divided in two subseries:

(4A) Rare animal files

(4B) Mammalia files

Series 5
 Correspondence, 1942-1960

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Correspondence, 1930-1940 

Box

Acknowledgments for copies of radio speeches, 

1

Abbott, Clinton, 

1

Ahrens, Theodore G., 

1

Alfaro, Captain Colon Eloy, 

1

Allen, Glover M., 

1

Anderson, R. M., 

1

Andrews, L. B, 

1

Anthony, Harold E., 

1

Atwood, Wallace, 

1

Avinoff, A., 

1

Bailey, Vernon, 

1

Baker, John, 

1

Barbour, Thomas, 

1

Bartlett, Captain Bob, 

1

Benchley, Belle, 

1

Bidlingmaier, Theodore C., 

1

Blair, W. Reid, 

1

Boudreau, Frank G., 

1

Bowen, R. E., 

1

Boyd, Louise A., 

1

Bradley, Herbert E., 

1

Bumpus, Herman C., 

1

Burden, W. Douglas, 

1

Burnham, John B., 

1

Cadwalader, Charles M. B., 

1

Capell, A. Essex, 

1

Carey, Henry, 

1

Carpenter, C. Ray, 

1

DeCartier, Baron, 

1

Chevasnerie, Comte de la, 

2

Chigi, Prince, 

2

DeCholnoky, Tibor, 

2

Clark, James L., 

2

Cocerall, T. D. A., 

2

Colby, Major Francis, 

2

Conant, James B., 

2

Coolidge, Harold J.,   (4 folders)

2

Cottar's Safari Service, 

2

Cross, W. Redmond, 

2

Cutting, Suydan, 

2

DeBeaux, Dr. Oscar, 

2

DeSchauensee, Rudolphe, 

2

Darling, Frank Fraser, 

2

Delacour, Jean, 

2

Derschfield: "The value of international work for the preservation of nature as regard to medical sciences" (typescript), 

2

Dolan, Brooke, 

2

Dout, J. Kenneth, 

2

Ducrocq, Maxime, 

2

Dugan, Lawrence, 

2

Duke, H. Lyndhurst, 

2

Dyott, George M., 

2

Elton, Charles, 

2

Field, Frederick, 

2

Field, Stanley (Field Museum of Natural History), 

2

Foster, Frank B., 

2

Fourie, A. P. J., 

2

Frick, Childs, 

2

Graim, Tordus, 

3

Graim, Mrs., 

3

Commander Attilo Gatti, 

3

Gherardesca, Giogio, 

3

Gordon, Seth, 

3

Grant, Madison, 

3

Greeley, William B., 

3

Gregory, William K., 

3

Grinnell, Joseph, 

3

Grosvenor, Gilbert, 

3

Hachisuka, Marquess, 

3

Hadow, Kenneth C., 

3

Hail, E. Raymond, 

3

Harkness and Griswold, 

3

Harper, Francis,   (6 folders)

3

Harper-Allen report recipients, 

3

Harper progress reports, 

3

Harper mammalogy journal article, 

3

Special Harper Committee, 

3

Harris, William P., 

3

Harvard Medical School Library, 

3

Harvard Trust Co., 

3

Halsam, Grenville, 

3

Hatt, Robert T., 

3

Hayden, Sherman, 

3

Hemming, Francis, 

4

Henderson, Guy, 

4

Herbert, Godfrey, 

4

Hobely, C. W.,   (2 folders)

4

Hone, Elizabeth, 

4

House, Edward J., 

4

Howard, John K., 

4

Howell, A. Brazier, 

4

Hubback, Theodore, 

4

Huxley, Julian, 

4

Jackson, H. H. T., 

4

Johnson, Martin, 

4

Kellogg, John P., 

4

Kellogg, Remington, 

4

Kidder, Alfred, II, 

4

Kinney, Warren, 

4

Koster, F., 

4

Ledeboer, A. J. M., 

4

Lloyd, Hoyes, 

4

Lonnberg, Einar, 

4

Lowe, Percy, 

4

Mallinckrodt, E. M., 

4

Maurice, Henry, 

4

McCutcheon, John T., 

4

Merriam, John C., 

4

Merrill, Elmer D., 

4

Moore, Robert T., 

4

Murphy, Robert Cushman, 

4

National Park correspondence (United States Department of the Interior), 

4

Onslow, Earl, 

5

Osborn, Henry Fairfield, 

5

Osgood, Wilfred, 

5

Peattie, Donald, 

5

Phillips, William, 

5

Pierrepont, R. Stuyvesant, 

5

Poole, Earl, 

5

Pope, Gustavius, 

5

Pratt, George D., 

5

Reid, Ogden, 

5

Roosevelt, Kermit, 

5

Ross, Sir Charles, 

5

Rowe, Leo S., 

5

Rowley, Francis H., 

5

Sage, Mr. and Mrs. Dean, Jr., 

5

Sanderson, W. E., 

5

Scully, C. Alison, 

5

Schwab, George, 

5

Semple, John B., 

5

Sheldon, H. P., 

5

Sheldon, William G., 

5

Shelford, V. E., 

5

Sherwood, George H., 

5

Shoemaker, Henry W., 

5

Simms, Stephan C., 

5

Skottsberg, Carl, 

5

Smith, G. Elliot, 

5

Smith, Owen, 

5

Smith, Phillip S., 

5

Snyder, Harry, 

5

Soper, J. Dewey, 

5

Sowerby, Arthur de C., 

5

Stejneger, Leonhard, 

5

Stevenson-Hamilton, J., 

5

Steyn, L. B., 

5

Strong, Richard, P., 

5

Te Water, C. T., 

5

Tobin, Richard, 

5

Townsend, Charles H., 

5

Vanderbilt, George, 

5

Van Straelen, Victor, 

5

Van Tienhoven, Peter,   (2 folders)

5

Vernay, Arthur S., 

6

Walcott, Frederic C., 

6

Wetmore, Alexander, 

6

Wetmore, Alexander, 

6

Weyer, Dr. Edward J., 

6

Wilson, George Grafton, 

6

H. W. Wilson Co., Vertical File Service, 

6

Wislocki, Geirge, 

6

Wright, George M., 

6

Yale University Library, 

6

Zinser, Juan, 

6

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Administrative files, 

Box

Mailing lists, African report, 

6

Mailing lists, Reports and soliciting, 

6

Mailing lists, Universities and colleges, 

6

Mailing lists, Foreign societies, 

6

Mailing lists, Miscellaneous, 

6

"Annals of the American Committee", 

7

History and conservation documents, 

7

Conservation, 

7

Cooperative letters, 

7

Field Magazine, Index and extracts, 

7

Five-year pamphlet, 

7

Information requests, Incoming, 

7

Information requests, Canada, 

7

Information requests, Foreign, 

7

Newsletter, 1936-1939   (2 folders)

7

Phillips, J. C., Published and typescript articles, 

7

Reviews and letter, 

7

Stationery (letterhead), 

7

Steamship, Letters and replies, 

7

Translations, Ruth Dauchy, 

7

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 3: Geographical subject files, 

Subseries a: Pan-America subject files, 

Box

Draft resolution of Pan American Convention, 1938-1939 

8

Migratory birds, 

8

Pan American Convention, 

8

Pan American Committee of ACIWLP, 

8

Pan American Union, 

8

Pan American files, cards, 

8

Special Pan American meeting, 1939 

8

Country lists and fauna summaries, 

8

Pearson, Gilbert T.,   (2 folders)

8

C. Vogt and Jose Smith, 

8

Summary of results of questionnaire sent to all countries of Central and South America, 

8

Description of Rancho Grande National Park (Venezuela), 

9

Argentina, 

9

Bolivia, 

9

Brazil, 

9

British Honduras, 

9

British West Indies, 

9

Chile, 

9

Colombia, 

9

Costa Rica, 

9

Cuba, 

9

Dominican Republic, 

9

Equador, El Salvador, 

9

Guiana, Guatemala, Haiti, and Honduras, 

9

Jamaica, Mexico, 

9

Nicaragua, Panama, and Paraguay, 

9

Peru, 

9

Uruguay, 

9

Venezuela, 

9

Galapagos, Correspondence with Ecuadorian government, Von Hagen, and Equador, 1935-1937 

9

Galapagos, Hancock expeditions, 

9

Galapagos, General I, 

9

Galapagos, General II, 

10

Galapagos Island Act, 

10

Galapagos, Moore, Robert T., 

10

Galapagos, Letters to yacht clubs and tuna companies, 

10

Galapagos, Wetmore, Alexander, 

10

Galapagos, Von Hagen, Wolfgang, 

10

Galapagos, Clippings, 

10

Subseries b: Europe subject files, 

Box

Albania, Austria, 

11

Belgium, 

11

Bulgaria, 

11

Czechoslovakia and Denmark, 

11

England, 

11

Estonia, 

11

Finland, 

11

France, 

11

Germany, 

11

Greece, Holland, and Hungary, 

11

Italy and Luxembourg, 

11

Malta, 

11

Norway, 

11

Poland, 

11

Portugal and Rumania, 

11

Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland, 

11

Yugoslavia, 

11

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (Russia, USSR), 

11

Subseries c: Australia and New Zealand subject files, 

Box

Australia and New Zealand, 

11

New South Wales and Queensland, 

11

Subseries d: North America subject files, 

Box

Alaska, 

11

Canada, General, 

11

Canada, New Foundland, 

11

Subseries e: Africa subject files, 

Box

African mammals, 

12

French Africa, 

12

Algeria, Red deer, 

12

Belgian Congo, 

12

Cameroon, 

12

East Africa, 

12

Egypt, 

12

Kenya, 

12

Madagascar, 

12

Morocco, Sudan, 

12

Rhodesia, 

12

South Africa,   (2 folders)

12

Tanganyika, 

12

Tunisia, 

12

Uganda, Rhodesia, 

12

Subseries f: Asia subject files, 

Box

Asiatic Primate Expedition, H. J. Coolidge, Correspondence, 1936-1937 

12

Committee for the Protection of Nature in and around the Pacific, 1940 

12

China,   (2 folders)

12

Chosen (Korea), 

12

Japan, 

12

Malaya, 

12

Manchuria, 

12

Palestine, 

12

Iraq, 

12

Persia, 

12

Syria, 

12

Siam, 

12

Turkey, 

13

Oceania, 

13

Ceylon, 

13

Hawaii, 

13

Netherlands Indies, 

13

Azores, 

13

Indo-China, 

13

Java, 

13

Sumatra, 

13

Subseries g: National parks subject files, 

Box

Dr. Phillips article, National Park World, 1936 

13

African reserves and parks, 

13

Albert Park, 

13

Kruger Park, 

13

United States, 

13

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 4: Animal subject files, 

Subseries a: Rare animal files, 

Box

General, 

13

American bald eagle, 

13

Subseries b: Mammalia files, 

Box

Dr. Allen's classification list, 

13

Marsupiala: Phalangerida, Phascolactos cinerus, 

13

Rhesus monkey problem, 

13

Pongidae sinea satyrus (Orangutan gorilla), 

13

Mustelidae, Enhydra lustris (Northern sea otter), 

13

Felidae, Acinonyx jubatis (African) and A. venaticus (Indian), 

13

Aeluropidae (Giant panda), 

13

Ursidae, 

13

Mirounga angustirotis (Elephant seal) and Monachus tropicalis (Carribean monk seal), 

13

California sea lion, 

13

Sea lions in Mexico, 

13

Rodentia: Chinchillidae, 

14

Probescidae: Loxodonta africana (African elephant), 

14

Cervidae, Miscellaneous, 

14

Odocoileus osceola (Florida deer), 

14

Cervus elaphus (Red deer), 

14

Rangifer taradus (Norwegian reindeer), 

14

Alcephalus coamasel borei (Red hartbeest, South Africa), 

14

Antilecapridae antilocapra americana (American pronghorn), 

14

Ovis canadensis nelsoni (Desert bighorn), 

14

Bos bonasus (European wisent), 

14

Bovidae capra, 

14

Connochactus gnu (White-tailed gnu, Black wildebeest), 

14

"Bison and their preservation," by Julia Coolidge (typescript), 

14

Ovidus moschatus (Muskoxen), 

14

Capra, 

14

Tragelaphus buxtoni (Nyala), 

14

Hippotragus niger variani (Giant sable antelope), 

14

Madoqua (Dik-dik), 

14

Ovis, 

14

Rubicapra, 

14

Rhinoceros unicornis sondaieus, sumatrenis (Asian rhino), 

14

Diceros bicornus (Black rhino), 

14

Ceratotherium simumsimum and Cer. cottoni (White Rhino, Southern and Northern), 

14

Hippotigris zebra (Mountain zebra, South Africa), 

14

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 5: Correspondence, 1942-1960 

Box

"21 Years of American Committee for International Wild Life Protection," by H. J. Coolidge, 1951 

15

A, 

15

Agrimi (Cretan mountain goat), 

15

American Society of Mammalogists, 1946 

15

B, 

15

Bermuda Biological Station for Research and Bermuda Government Aquarium and Museum, 1952-1956 

15

Birds of Paradise on Little Tobago, 

15

Bittel Letter Service, 

15

Blair, W. Reid, 

15

Blancou, Lucien, 

15

C, 

15

Chapin, James P., 

15

Charles Darwin Foundation for the Galapagos Isles, 

15

D, 

15

DeVos, Anton, 

15

Walt Disney Productions, 

15

E, 

15

Extinct and vanishing mammals of the Western Hemisphere, acknowledgments (thank you letters), 

15

Extinct and vanishing mammals of the old world, (book) requests, 

15

Extinct and vanishing mammals of the old world, copies of book reviews, 

15

Extinct and vanishing mammals of the old world, acknowledgments (thank you letters), 

15

F, 

15

Fauna Preservation Society (Society for the Preservation of the Fauna of the Empire), 

15

Fishes, Proposed book on extinct and vanishing, by Dr. George S. Myers, 

15

Florida game sanctuary, 

15

G, 

15

Game as meat supply, 

16

Gorillas, 

16

H, 

16

Harper, Francis, 

16

Hayden, Sherman, 1941-1942 

16

I, 

16

International Council for Bird Protection, 

16

International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources, 1956-1962 

16

International Union for the Protection of Nature, 1946-1956   (2 folders)

16

International Wildfowl Research Institute, 1949-1953 

16

J-K,   (2 folders)

16

Kenya Wild Life Society, 1957-1961 

16

Key deer (Florida), 

16

L-M,   (2 folders)

16

Moore, Robert T., 1938-1957 

16

National Parks Association, 1941-1957 

16

O, 

16

Oehrer, Paul H., 

16

P, 

17

Pacific Science Association, Pacific Science Board, and Pacific Science Council, 

17

Pacific Handbook Series, Bills, 

17

Pacific Handbook Series, Correspondence, 1944-1946

17

Pacific Handbook Series, Financial, 1945-1946

17

Pacific Handbook Series, Inquiries, 1944-1947

17

Pacific War Memorial Foundation, Reports,

17

Pacific War Memorial Foundation, Bills, 1946

17

Pacific War Memorial Foundation, Correspondence, 1945 December-1946 August

17

Pacific War Memorial Foundation, Minutes, 1946 April 2 and July 3

17

The Pacific World, Contributors' releases,

17

The Pacific World, Finances and general correspondence,

17

Pan American Union, 1943-1946

17

Pearson, T. Gilbert, 1941-1943 

17

Penguins for Portland Oregon Zoo, 1962

17

R, 

17

Resources for the Future, Inc., Press releases, 1953-1954

17

S, 

17

Secretaries (Coolidge), 1949-1960

17

Serengeti National Park (mostly copied correspondence), 1956-1958

17

T, 

17

Treasury Department, Importation of African mammals,

17

Trumpeter swan project, 

17

U-V, 

17

Van Tienhoven, Peter J., 

17

W, 

18

Westerman, J. H.,

18

Wild Life Protection Society of South Africa,

18

Wisent, 

18

Yellowstone National Park Bison Herd,

18

World Wildlife Fund, 1962

18

Return to Table of Contents »

Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip