This is the "Collection 1010" page of the "Hornaday, William T. American Bison Society President records, 1905-1934" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Hornaday, William T. American Bison Society President records, 1905-1934  

Last Updated: Oct 30, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=522529 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1010 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the records of American Bison Society President, William T. Hornaday, 1905-1934

Guide to the Records of American Bison Society President William T. Hornaday, 1905-1934 1010

Guide to the Records of American Bison Society President William T. Hornaday, 1905-1934
1010

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
Hornaday, William T., (William Temple), 1854-1937
Collection Number
1010
Title
American Bison Society. Office of President. William T. Hornaday records
Date
1905-1934
Extent
2.08 linear feet (5 Hollinger boxes, 12 flat boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
This collection contains incoming and outgoing correspondence from William T. Hornaday’s tenure as founding President of the American Bison Society (ABS), scrapbooks and photograph albums regarding the ABS compiled by Hornaday, and two scrapbooks on bison and antelope censuses compiled by M. Hall McAllister. Also included are subject files, clippings, reference matter, and subscription lists for the Montana National Bison Herd, established in 1909, largely through Hornaday’s efforts.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • American Bison Society.
  • New York Zoological Society.

Personal Name(s)

  • Hornaday, William T., (William Temple), 1854-1937
  • McAllister, M. Hall

Subject(s)

  • American bison
  • Wildlife conservation
  • Wildlife conservation -- Law and legislation

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

Finding aid revised and entered into Archivists' Toolkit by Sarah Carbone, Long Island University. June 2012

Related Collections

Collection 1001. William T. Hornaday and W. Reid Blair incoming correspondence and subject files, 1895-1939.

Collection 1007. William T. Hornaday papers, 1888-1937.

Collection 1012. William T. Hornaday and W. Reid Blair outgoing correspondence, 1895-1939.

Collection 1023. William T. Hornaday Camp-Fire Club of America records, 1903-1914.

Collection 1033. William T. Hornaday scrapbooks, circa 1896-1927.

The Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress also holds a collection of William T. Hornaday's personal papers.

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. American Bison Society President William T. Hornaday records, 1905-1934. Collection 1010. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Historical Note

Overhunting brought the American bison near to extinction by the end of the nineteenth century. William T. Hornaday, Director of the New York Zoological Park, was an early and active supporter of bison conservation. On December 8, 1905 a meeting was held at the Bronx Zoo to organize a national society that would establish herds bred from specimens in private, captive collections and would place them under government protection. Under the leadership of Hornaday as its first director, the American Bison Society launched a national campaign to raise funds to create wild bison reserves, stock them with bison from the Bronx Zoo and elsewhere, and educate the public about bison. In 1907, the ABS shipped 15 bison to the Wichita National Forest and Game Preserve in Oklahoma by cart and rail. This was the first animal reintroduction in North America. In 1910, the ABS helped buy the nucleus herd for the National Bison Range, Montana, and in 1913, the ABS donated 14 bison to Wind Cave National Park, South Dakota. Counting on the successful reproduction of the species, the ABS considered their work done and disbanded the organization in 1935.

In 2005, the Wildlife Conservation Society relaunched the American Bison Society to secure the ecological future of bison in North America.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

This collection contains incoming and outgoing correspondence from Hornaday’s tenure as founding President of the American Bison Society, scrapbooks and photograph albums regarding the ABS compiled by Hornaday, and two scrapbooks on bison and antelope censuses compiled by M. Hall McAllister. Also included are subject files, clippings, reference matter, and subscription lists for the Montana National Bison Herd, established in 1909, largely through Hornaday’s efforts. Principal correspondents include Ernest H. Baynes, Morton J. Elrod, Isaac N. Haley, Franklin W. Hooper, C. J. Jones, Frederic H. Kennard, Harry V. Radford, and Edmund Seymour.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

The collection is arranged in three series:

Series 1
 Correspondence, 1906-1909, arranged alphabetically within three subseries: (1A) Correspondence, 1906-1908 May 1 (1B) Correspondence, 1908 May 2-1908 July 6 (1C) Correspondence, 1908 July 7-1909 March 15
Series 2
 Subject files, 1905-1934
Series 3
 Publications, photographs, scrapbooks, and clippings, 1905-1934

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Correspondence, 1906-1909 

Subseries a: Correspondence, 1906-1908 May 1 

Box

Questionnaire and replies, 1906 January 15 

1

A, 

1

Adirondacks, 

1

B, 

1

Baynes, Ernest Harold, 

1

C-E,   (3 folders)

1

Elrod, Morton J., 

1

F-H,   (3 folders)

1

Haley, Isaac Newton, 

1

Hooper, Franklin W., 

1

Hornaday, William Temple, 

1

Jones, C. J., 

1

K, 

1

Kennard, Frederic H., 

1

L-R,   (5 folders)

1

Radford, Harry V., 

1

S, 

1

Seymour, Edmund, 

1

T-W,   (3 folders)

1

Subseries b: Correspondence, 1908 May 2-1908 July 6 

Box

A-B,   (2 folders)

2

Baynes, Ernest Harold, 

2

C-E,   (3 folders)

2

Elrod, Morton J., 

2

F-H,   (3 folders)

2

Haley, Isaac Newton, 

2

Hooper, Franklin W., 

2

Hornaday, William Temple, 

2

Jones, C. J., 

2

K, 

2

Kennard, Frederic H, 

2

L-S,   (6 folders)

2

Seymour, Edmund, 

2

T-W,   (3 folders)

2

Congressional letters supporting SB6159, 

2

Subscriptions to Montana National Bison Herd, 

2

Subseries c: Correspondence, 1908 July 7-1909 March 15 

Box

B, 

2

Baynes, Ernest Harold, 

2

C-E,   (3 folders)

2

Elrod, Morton J., 

2

F-H,   (3 folders)

2

Haley, Isaac Newton, 

2

Hooper, Franklin W., 

2

Hornaday, William Temple, 

2

J-K,   (2 folders)

3

Kennard, Frederic H., 

3

L-R,   (6 folders)

Separated Materials note

Map of Goat Mountain Big Game Reserve, British Columbia, sent from John M. Phillips to Hornaday, separated to box 16.

3

Radford, Harry V., 

3

S, 

3

Seymour, Edmund, 

3

T-Z,   (6 folders)

3

Inquiry letters: Identification of presidents of Chambers of Commerce, 

3

Subscriptions, 

3

Chambers of Commerce replies, 

3

Montana National Bison Herd, 

3

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Subject files, 1905-1934 

Box

Adirondacks Bison Herd, 1907 

4

American Bison Society Dinner, 1912 February 23 

4

Bison information request, Replies, 1905-1906 

4

Bison, Canadian Herd (British Columbia), 1906-1908 February 13 

4

Bison, Montana Herd, 

4

Constitution, American Bison Society, 

4

Correspondence, Memoranda, Miscellaneous, 1905 December 29-1910 April 14 

4

Correspondence, Miscellaneous, 1921-1934 

4

Census survey (Correspondence), 1907-1908 

4

Membership, 1906 January 9-1907 

4

Newspaper clippings,   (3 folders)

4

Reference material -- American bison in Canada, 

5

Reference material -- American bison in United States, 

5

Reference material -- American bison, Fossil evidence, 

5

Reference material -- European bison, 

5

Reference material -- Miscellaneous, 

5

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 3: Publications, photographs, scrapbooks, and clippings, 1905-1934 

Box

Second annual report, Photographs, circa 1907 

5

Loring, J. A. "Report on certain lands in South Dakota suitable for a buffalo and game preserve" , 1911 

5

Garretson, Martin S. A short history of the American bison: Distribution, habits, trails, extermination, etc., for use in schools, 1927 

5

Garretson, Martin S. A short history of the American bison: Distribution, habits, trails, extermination, etc., for use in schools. Revised and enlarged edition, 1934 

5

Census of living American bison... (for the years 1908, 1924, 1929, and 1934)., 

5

Metal printing plates for The American bison

6 and 7

Volume 1: Annual reports of the American Bison Society (bound), 1905-1914 

Scope and Contents note

Boxes 8 and 9 hold two volumes of reports and special collections that were part of the Hornaday Collection of Useful Wild Life Protection Books. These were annotated by Hornaday and include several insertions of photographs and correspondence related to bison and the American Bison Society.

Separated Materials note

Photograph of some founders of American Bison Society, undated, in front of Rocking Stone Restaurant, removed from volume 1 of Hornaday Collection ABS reports, encapsulated in mylar, and filed in box 16.

8

Volume 2: Annual reports of the American Bison Society (bound), 1915-1920, 1922-1923, 1927-1930 

9

Photograph scrapbook (part 1 of 2), 

10

Photograph scrapbook (part 2 of 2), 

11

Scrapbook of newspaper clippings (part 1 of 2), 

12

Scrapbook of newspaper clippings (part 2 of 2), 

13

Photograph album, 

14

Photographs, 

15

Photographs and oversize separations, 

16

McAllister scrapbook, volume 1, 

17

McAllister scrapbook, volume 2, 

17

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip