This is the "Collection 1024" page of the "New York Zoological Society. Board of Trustees. Conservation Committee. Office of Secretary records, 1937-1949" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

New York Zoological Society. Board of Trustees. Conservation Committee. Office of Secretary records, 1937-1949  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=529768 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1024 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the records of the New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees Conservation Committee Secretary, 1937-1949

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees Conservation Committee Secretary, 1937-1949 1024

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees Conservation Committee Secretary, 1937-1949
1024

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
New York Zoological Society. Board of Trustees. Conservation Committee.
Collection Number
1024
Title
New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees. Conservation Committee. Office of Secretary records
Date
1937-1949
Extent
0.83 linear feet (2 Hollinger boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
The Conservation Committee existed as a committee of the New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees between 1937 and 1949 and reconvened in 1969. The Committee was formed to oversee the wildlife conservation activities sponsored by the Society. This collection includes correspondence, account summaries, reports, and minutes from the first phase of the Committee's existence, 1937-1949, and comes from the records of the Committee’s first two secretaries, W. Reid Blair and George E. Brewer Jr.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Zoological Society. Board of Trustees. Conservation Committee.

Personal Name(s)

  • Blair, W. Reid, (William Reid), b. 1875
  • Brewer, George E., Jr.

Subject(s)

  • Wildlife conservation

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

 Finding aid revised and entered into Archivists' Toolkit by Madeleine Thompson. July 2012

Related Collections

Collection 1001. William T. Hornaday and W. Reid Blair incoming correspondence and subject files, 1895-1939.

Collection 1012. William T. Hornaday and W. Reid Blair outgoing correspondence, 1895-1939.

Collection 1025. American Committee for International Wild Life Protection records, 1930-1962.

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Conservation Committee records, 1937-1949. Collection 1024. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Historical Note

The Conservation Committee of the New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees was formed to oversee the wildlife conservation activities sponsored by the Society and to disburse the funds appropriated by the Board or Executive Committee. From 1937 to 1949, the Committee was chaired by Childs Frick and its members included Laurance Rockefeller, 1937-1949; Warren Kinney, 1937-1949; DeForest Grant, 1942-1949; Frederic C. Walcott, 1944-1949; and Fairfield Osborn, ex-officio, 1944-1949. The position of Secretary to the Committee was held by W. Reid Blair from 1936 through 1946 and by George E. Brewer, Jr., from 1947 through 1949. The Conservation Committee was disbanded in 1949 and reestablished in 1969. During the interim period, the NYZS Executive Committee carried out its functions.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

This collection consists of correspondence, account summaries, reports, and minutes. Prominent individuals and organizations represented include the Boys Scouts of America, W. Redmond Cross, Jean Delacour, Rosalie Edge, Everglades National Park Association, Jack and Manley Miner, Erna Mohr, National Research Council Committee on the Preservation of Natural Conditions, Wildlife Protection Society of South Africa, and Jan Zabinski.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in two series:

Series 1
 Correspondence and memoranda, alphabetical by writer in three subseries:

(1A) 1937-1939

(1B) 1940-1944

(1C) 1944-1949

Series 2
 Unofficial drafts of minutes, 1942-1948

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Correspondence and memoranda, 1937-1949 

Subseries a: 1937-1939, 

Box

Memo regarding budget items, 

1

Extracts from meeting minutes of 1937 October 4 and May 20, 

1

A, 

1

American Committee for International Wild Life Protection (ACIWLP), 

1

B, 

1

Boy Scouts of America (Hornaday Awards), 

1

C, 

1

Cross, W. Redmond, 

1

Darling, Jay N. (National Wildlife Federation), 

1

Edge, Rosalie (Mrs. C. N. Edge), 

1

Frick, Childs, 

1

G, 

1

H (including M. H. Hoover and A. Brazier Howell), 

1

Hartebeest, Red, 

1

Kinney, Warren, 

1

Marshall, Bernice (Mrs. Charles C. Marshall), 

1

Miner, Manly F., 

1

Mitchell, H. R., 

1

Osborn, Fairfield, 

1

National Association of Audubon Societies, 

1

Poole, Earl L. (Hawk Mountain Sanctuary), 

1

Rockefeller, Laurance, 

1

Roosevelt, Franklin D., 

1

S, 

1

Van Name, Willard G., 

1

Varva, Harry G. (Education Conservation Society), 

1

Wilson, J. W. H. (Wild Life Protection Society of South America), 

1

Yard, Robert Sterling, 

1

Zabinski, Jan (International Society for Preservation of Wisent), 

1

Subseries b: 1940-1944, 

Box

Disbursements to organizations, 1937-1940 and 1942-1944, 

1

Extracts from minutes of 1940 October 18, 

1

First North American Wildlife Conference, Report, 

1

History of NYZS Conservation, prepared in response to letter of Carl D. Shoemaker, 1944 December 7 

1

ACIWLP, 

1

Allen, Grover M. (Museum of Comparative Zoology), 

1

Boy Scouts of America, 

1

Canal Zone Biological Area (Tropical Research Institute, formerly Barro Colorado Island Research Laboratory), 

1

Committee on Preservation of Natural Conditions, National Resource Council, 

1

Cross, W. Redmond, 

1

Edge, Rosalie, 

1

Edge, Rosalie, Re: J. R. Forbes and Hornaday Memorial Foundation, 

1

Everglades National Park Association (Ernest F. Coe, Director), 

1

Everglades National Park Association, Reports, 

1

Frick, Childs, 

1

G-N,   (2 folders)

1

Hawk Mountain Sanctuary, 

1

Kinney, Warren, 

1

Marshall, Mrs. C. C. (National Life Conservation Society), 

1

Miles, Sanford and Charles McGahey, NYZS Comptroller, 

1

Miner, Jack, 

1

Mitchell, H. R., 

1

National Association of Audubon Societies, 

1

Permanent Wild Life Protection Fund (PWLPF), Archives and Records, 

2

Osborn, Fairfield, 

2

Phillips, Maude G. (Blue Cross Animal Relief Fund), 

2

Rockefeller, Laurance, 

2

S-T,   (2 folders)

2

Trumpeter Swan Project (Jean Delcour), 

2

Wildlife Protection Society of South Africa, 

2

W, 

2

Subseries c: 1945-1949, 

Box

Conservation Account: Statements, summaries and analysis, 

2

A-H, 

2

Boy Scouts of America,   (2 folders)

2

Brewer, George E., Jr., 

2

Canal Zone Biological Area, 

2

Dall Sheep, Alaska, 

2

Emergency Conservation Committee, 

2

Everglades National Park Association, 

2

Frick, Childs, 

2

Grant, DeForest, 

2

Hawk Mountain Sanctuary Association, 

2

W. T. Hornaday Memorial Foundation, 

2

Kinney, Warren, 

2

Marshall, Bernice, 

2

Jack Miner Sanctuary, 

2

Migratory Bird Food Account, 

2

Miles, Sanford, 

2

Mohr, Erna, 

2

Osborn, Fairfield, 

2

R-W, 

2

Trumpeter Swan Project, 

2

The Wilderness Society, 

2

Wildlife Protection Society of South Africa, 

2

Zabinski, Jan, 

2

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Minutes, Unofficial (drafts and copies), 1942-1948 

Box

1942 October 22, 

2

1943 December 7, 

2

1945 April 17, 

2

1946 January 17, 

2

1946 December 19, 

2

1948 June 8, 

2

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip