This is the "Collection 1023" page of the "Camp-Fire Club of America. William T. Hornaday collection of records, 1903-1914" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Camp-Fire Club of America. William T. Hornaday collection of records, 1903-1914  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=529798 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1023 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the records of the Camp-Fire Club of America collected by William T. Hornaday, 1903-1914

Guide to the records of the Camp-Fire Club of America collected by William T. Hornaday, 1903-1904 1023

Guide to the records of the Camp-Fire Club of America collected by William T. Hornaday, 1903-1904
1023

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
Camp-Fire Club of America.
Collection Number
1023
Title
Camp-Fire Club of America. William T. Hornaday collection of records
Date
1903-1914
Extent
0.63 linear feet (1 Hollinger box, 1 half-Hollinger box)
Language
English
Abstract
This collection consists of incoming and outgoing correspondence, news clippings, and ephemera collected by William Temple Hornaday as first president of the Camp-Fire Club of America, 1903-1905, member of its Board of Governors, and chairman of the Club's Committee on Protective Legislation and Game Preserves beginning in 1909. Prominent individuals represented include C. J. "Buffalo" Jones and Ernest Thompson Seton. Also present are minutes from the first meeting of incorporation, membership nominations (including an honorary membership for Theodore Roosevelt), and Club notices.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • Camp-Fire Club of America.

Personal Name(s)

  • Hornaday, William T., (William Temple), 1854-1937
  • Jones, Charles Jesse, 1844-1919
  • Roosevelt, Theodore, 1858-1919
  • Seton, Ernest Thompson, 1860-1946

Subject(s)

  • Ecology -- Societies, etc.
  • Forest conservation
  • Wildlife conservation

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

 Finding aid revised and entered into Archivists’ Toolkit by Nicholas Kennedy. July 2012

Related Collections

Collection 1001. William T. Hornaday and W. Reid Blair incoming correspondence and subject files, 1895-1939.

Collection 1007. William T. Hornaday papers, 1888-1937.

Collection 1010. Willilam T. Hornaday American Bison Society records, 1905-1934.

Collection 1012. William T. Hornaday and W. Reid Blair outgoing correspondence, 1895-1939.

Collection 1024. Conservation Committee records, 1937-1949.

Collection 1025. American Committee for International Wild Life Protection records, 1930-1962.

Collection 1033. William T. Hornaday scrapbooks, circa 1896-1927.

The Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress also holds a collection of William T. Hornaday's personal papers.

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. William T. Hornaday Camp-Fire Club of America records, 1903-1914. Collection 1023. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Historical Note

Founded by William T. Hornaday and George Shields, the Camp-Fire Club of America was officially incorporated in 1904, with Hornaday serving as its first president. Born out of a growing concern about the disappearance of wildlife, the CFCA's stated purpose was to bring together American sportsmen so that "through effective organization, proper support may be given to game protection and forest preservation measures both state and national." In addition to Hornaday and Shields, early members included Daniel Carter Beard, Ernest Thompson Seton, John Burham, and Gordon Pichot; Theodore Roosevelt was also an honorary member.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

This collection consists of incoming and outgoing correspondence, news clippings, and ephemera related to the Camp-Fire Club of America and collected by William T. Hornaday between 1903 and 1904. Prominent individuals represented include C. J. "Buffalo" Jones and Ernest Thompson Seton. Also present are minutes from the first meeting of incorporation, membership nominations (including an honorary membership for Theodore Roosevelt), and Club notices.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in four series:

Series 1
 General records, circa 1903-1905
Series 2
 Correspondence, 1903-1914
Series 3
 Committee on Game Protective Legislation and Preserves records, 1909-1912
Series 4
 Printed material and ephemera, circa 1903-1912

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: General records, circa 1903-1905 

Box

Emblem, 

1

Incorporation and election of Theodore Roosevelt as first honorary member, 1904 

1

Incorporation, first meeting minutes, 1904 March 5 

1

Membership nominees, 1904-1905 

1

Membership, officers, and lists, 1903-1904 

1

Nomination of Theodore Roosevelt as honorary member, 

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Correspondence, 1903-1914 

Box

A-Q,   (7 folders)

1

Rice, Arthur F., 

1

S-W, 

1

Seton, Ernest Thompson, 

1

Seymour, Edmund, 

1

Seymour, Julius, 

1

Miscellaneous, 1913-1914 

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 3: Committee on Game Protective Legislation and Preserves records, 1909-1912 

Box

Correspondence and reports, 

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 4: Printed material and ephemera, circa 1903-1912 

Box

Committee on Selection of Permanent Location for a Camp Site, 1912 

2

The Croche River Preserve, Quebec, 

2

Dinners, entertainment, and outings, 

2

Membership, 

2

News clippings, 

2

Officers, members, constitution, and bylaws (biannual), 1903-1910 

2

Standard of honors, 1909 

2

Miscellaneous, 

2

Oversize clippings, 

2

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip