This is the "Collection 1034" page of the "Jennings, Allyn R. NYZS General Director records, 1939-1940" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Jennings, Allyn R. NYZS General Director records, 1939-1940  

Last Updated: Oct 30, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=532759 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1034 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the records of the New York Zoological Society General Director Allyn R. Jennings, 1939-1940

Guide to the records of the New York Zoological Society General Director Allyn R. Jennings, 1939-1940 1034

Guide to the records of the New York Zoological Society General Director Allyn R. Jennings, 1939-1940
1034

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
Jennings, Allyn R.
Collection Number
1034
Title
New York Zoological Society. Office of General Director. Allyn R. Jennings records
Date
1939-1940
Extent
2.52 linear feet (6 Hollinger boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
Allyn R. Jennings was appointed General Director in June 1940. He resigned from the position in December 1941. These records consist primarily of correspondence and subject files created by the General Director in 1940. Also included are some correspondence and other records of W. Reid Blair, who retired from the position of Director and General Curator of the Zoological Park in May 1940.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Zoological Society.

Personal Name(s)

  • Blair, W. Reid, (William Reid), b. 1875
  • Jennings, Allyn R.

Subject(s)

  • Zoo directors
  • Zoos -- Administration

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

 Finding aid revised and entered into Archivists’ Toolkit by Nicholas Kennedy. August 2012

Related Collections

Collection 1001. William T. Hornaday and W. Reid Blair incoming correspondence and subject files, 1895-1939.

Collection 1012. William T. Hornaday and W. Reid Blair outgoing correspondence, 1895-1939.

Collection 1029. Fairfield Osborn records, circa 1936-1967.

Collection 2024. John Tee-Van records, 1939-1964.

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Allyn R. Jennings records. Collection 1034. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Biographical

Allyn R. Jennings was the first General Director of the New York Zoological Society and served in this position from 1940 to 1941. Subject to the guidance of the Board of Trustees, the Executive Committee, the Honorary Chairman, and the President, the General Director is the chief officer of the New York Zoological Society and exercises overall supervision of its operating divisions. Born in 1892, Jennings was a licensed engineer. He followed his NYZS career with service in the Coast Guard during World War II and then as a principal associate to Robert Moses (1888-1891), the so-called "Master Builder" of New York. Jennings died in 1978.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

These records consist primarily of correspondence and subject files created by the Allyn R. Jennings in the position of General Director in 1940. Also included are some correspondence and other records of W. Reid Blair, who retired from the position of Director and General Curator of the Zoological Park in May 1940. Jennings's records for 1941 are not held by the WCS Archives.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in two series:

Series 1
 Correspondence, 1939-1940
Series 2
 Subject files, 1939-1940

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Correspondence, 1939-1940 

Box

A, 

1

Agnew, C. H, 

1

American Museum of Natural History, 

1

B, 

1

Beebe, William, 

1

Benchley, Belle, 

1

Benson, John T., 

1

Breder, Charles J., 

1

Bridges, William, 

1

Buck, Warren G., 

1

Budget Bureau, New York City, 

1

C, 

1

Carrier Corporation, "Tgloo", 

1

Cerero, R. L., 

1

Chicago Zoological Park, 

1

Cincinnati Zoological Park, 

1

Crandall, Lee S., 

2

Cross, W. Redmond, 

2

D, 

2

Dawson, James A. (NYC Department of Parks), 

2

Department of Parks, New York City, 

2

Detroit Zoological Park, 

2

Ditmars, Raymond L., 

2

E, 

2

Eisener, F. M., 

2

Ely, Alfred, 

2

F-G,   (2 folders)

2

Geiger, Charles J., 

2

Goss, Leonard J., 

2

Greyhound Bus Company, 

2

H, 

2

Harrison and Fouilhouse (architects, African Plains), 

2

Hollister, Paul, 

2

I-K,   (3 folders)

2

L, 

3

Latham, William H. (Department of Parks, NYC), 

3

Leister, Claude W., 

3

M, 

3

McAlpin, David H., 

3

Meems Bros. & Ward Inc. (animal dealers), 

3

Mitchell, H. R., 

3

Mohr, Erna, 

3

Moses, Robert, 

3

N, 

3

National Youth Administration, 

3

National Zoological Park, 

3

New York Botanical Garden, 

3

O, 

3

Osborn, Fairfield, 

3

P, 

3

Philadelphia Zoological Society, 

3

R, 

4

Renner, C. J., 

4

Rockefeller, Laurance, 

4

Ruhe, Louis, Inc. (animal dealer), 

4

S, 

4

Sage, Dean, 

4

San Diego Zoological Park, 

4

Schroeder, C. A., 

4

St. Louis Zoological Park, 

4

Sweeny, Harry, 

4

T, 

4

Taylor, Francis Henry, 

4

Tee-Van, John, 

4

Thiele, John H., Jr., 

4

Trefflich, Henry (animal dealer), 

4

U-Z,   (3 folders)

4

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Subject files, 1939-1940 

Box

Accessions report (not used), 1940 

5

American Museum, Specimen preservation, 

5

Appraisal/survey of mammals, 1940 May 

5

Appraisal/survey of birds, 1940 July 

5

Arizona big horn sheep project, 

5

Attendance, 1939-1940 

5

Bermuda station, 

5

Bronx Board of Trade, 

5

Budgets, city lines,   (2 folders)

5

Comparative analysis, Other zoos, 

5

Deaths and purchases, NYZP, 

5

Distribution of specimens, 

5

Dismissals, 

5

Hawking Falconry party, 

5

Hornaday Memorial Fund, 

5

Insect exhibit, NYZP, 

5

Investments, 

5

Live fish feeding: ASPCA, Sidney Coleman, 

5

Memos to staff, 

5

Museums Council, New York City, 

5

National Parks, 

5

New York City, Notices, 

5

North American Group, NYZP, and specifications, 

5

Panda, Diet, 

5

Privilege operations, 

5

Rat hunting, 

5

Reports of General Director, 1940 

5

Reptile skin exhibit, 

5

Rocking Stone Restaurant, 

5

Statements, Financial, 

5

Texas longhorns, 

6

Trustees tea, 

6

Vandalism, 

6

Vida, M. (animal dealer), 

6

Walruses, 

6

Wild pig exhibit, 

6

Zoo survey: Brookfield Zoo, Chicago, 

6

Zoo survey: Cincinnati, 

6

Zoo survey: Detroit, 

6

Zoo survey: National Zoo, Washington, 

6

Zoo survey: New York Aquarium, 

6

Zoo survey: New York Zoological Park, 

6

Zoo survey: Philadelphia, 

6

Zoo survey: St. Louis, 

6

Zoo survey: San Diego Zoological Park Relief Association, 

6

Miscellaneous, 

6

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip