This is the "Collection 1005B" page of the "Department of Tropical Research. Terrestrial Expeditions. British Guiana and Venezuela records, 1916-1924" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Department of Tropical Research. Terrestrial Expeditions. British Guiana and Venezuela records, 1916-1924  

Last Updated: Oct 30, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=532795 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1005B Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research British Guiana and Venezuela terrestrial expeditions, 1916-1924

Guide to the records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research British Guiana and Venezuela terrestrial expeditions, 1916-1924 1005B

Guide to the records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research British Guiana and Venezuela terrestrial expeditions, 1916-1924
1005B

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.
Collection Number
1005B
Title
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research. Terrestrial Expeditions. British Guiana and Venezuela records
Date
1916-1924
Extent
5.0 linear feet (12 Hollinger boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
These records document ecological studies undertaken by the Department of Tropical Research in British Guiana and Venezuela between 1916 and 1924. Chiefly represented are field and anatomical data on more than 400 species of birds, and research and manuscript materials on the fishes of Kartabo, British Guiana. Additional records document the ecology and invertebrates of Kartabo and amphibians, reptiles, and mammals observed in British Guiana and Venezuela.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.

Subject(s)

  • Amphibians -- Guyana
  • Amphibians -- Venezuela
  • Birds -- Guyana
  • Birds -- Venezuela
  • Fishes -- Guyana
  • Fishes -- Venezuela
  • Mammals -- Guyana
  • Mammals -- Venezuela
  • Reptiles -- Guyana
  • Reptiles -- Venezuela
  • Scientific expeditions -- Guyana
  • Scientific expeditions -- Venezuela
  • Zoological specimens -- Collection and preservation

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

 Finding aid revised and entered into Archivists’ Toolkit by Nicholas Kennedy.August 2012

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Department of Tropical Research. Terrestrial Expeditions. British Guiana and Venezuela records. Collection 1005-B. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Historical

Between 1916 and 1924, the New York Zoological Society sponsored six expeditions to research stations near the Mazaruni River in British Guiana. Under the direction of William Beebe, work began at “Kalacoon House” on the Hills Rubber Plantation in 1916, continued within the boundaries of H. M. Penal Settlement during 1917, and moved upriver to Kartabo in 1919. During the 1919 expedition, additional work was undertaken at Guanoco, Venezuela, and, in 1942, the researchers opened a field station at Caripito, Venezuela. Data gathered at these sites were the basis of both discrete and comparative studies on faunas.

Staff researchers, artists, and visiting scientists conducted intensive ecological studies of the quarter square mile of jungle surrounding Kartabo throughout 1924.

The personnel included Beebe, Isabel Cooper, Alfred Emerson, G. Inness Hartley, Paul G. Howes, Clifford Pope, Ruth Rose, Mabel Satterlee, Helen Damrosch Tee-Van, and John Tee-Van. The staff at Caripito was comprised of Beebe, Jocelyn Crane, Henry Fleming, and George Swanson.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

This collection consists of field notes, systematic lists of faunas, summaries, references, and some drawings. The bulk of the material documents work done at Kartabo; chiefly represented are field and anatomical data on more than 400 species of birds, and research and manuscript materials on the fishes of Kartabo. Other subjects include the ecology and invertebrates of Kartabo and amphibians, reptiles, and mammals observed in British Guiana and Venezuela.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in nine series:

Series 1
 General ecology
Series 2
 Invertebrates
Series 3
 Fishes of Kartabo
Series 4
 Amphibia
Series 5
 Amphibia and reptiles
Series 6
 Birds general
Series 8
 Kartabo birds anatomy
Series 9
 British Guiana mammals
Series 7
 Birds data

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip