This is the "Collection 1005F" page of the "Department of Tropical Research. Oceanographic Expeditions. Noma and Arcturus records, 1923-1925" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Department of Tropical Research. Oceanographic Expeditions. Noma and Arcturus records, 1923-1925  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=533374 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1005F Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions aboard the vessels Noma and Arcturus, 1923-1925

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions aboard the vessels Noma and Arcturus, 1923-1925 1005F

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions aboard the vessels Noma and Arcturus, 1923-1925
1005F

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.
Collection Number
1005F
Title
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research. Oceanographic expeditions. Noma and Arcturus records
Date
1923-1925
Extent
1.26 linear feet (3 Hollinger boxes, 1 oversize flat box)
Language
English
Abstract
The bulk of this collection consists of records created by the Department of Tropical Research, under the direction of William Beebe, during their investigation of the Sargasso Sea, Humboldt Current, and Hudson Gorge, aboard the Arcturus. Records include the logbook of the steamship, dredging records, haul summaries, outlines and field notes on fishes, data on deep-sea fauna, and background notes for published studies. Additionally, this collection holds some records created during a 1923 voyage to the Galapagos Archipelago aboard the Noma. These materials consist of the ship's bridge log and catalogs of birds and vertebrates.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.

Personal Name(s)

  • Beebe, William, 1877-1962

Subject(s)

  • Scientific expeditions -- Galapagos Islands
  • Scientific expeditions -- Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.)
  • Scientific expeditions -- Peru Current
  • Scientific expeditions -- Sargasso Sea
  • Zoological specimens -- Collection and preservation

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

 Finding aid revised and entered into Archivists' Toolkit by Nicholas Kennedy. July 2012

Related Collections

Collection 1005A. Department of Tropical Research general records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1005B. Department of Tropical Research British Guiana and Venezuela records, 1916-1924.

Collection 1005C. Department of Tropical Research Rancho Grande, Venezuela records, 1945-1949.

Collection 1005D. Department of Tropical Research Simla Station, Trinidad records, 1949-1961.

Collection 1005E. Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions general records, 1923-1957.

Collection 1005G. Department of Tropical Research Zaca records, 1936-1938.

Collection 1005H. Department of Tropical Research Antares and Hardi Biaou records, 1932-1936.

Collection 1005J. Department of Tropical Research Bermuda oceanographic expedition records, 1929-1949.

Collection 1006. Gloria Hollister papers, 1925-1988.

Collection 1016. Department of Tropical Research additional records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1017. William Beebe and John Tee-Van records, 1909-1947.

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Department of Tropical Research Noma and Arcturus records, 1923-1925. Collection 1005F. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Historical Note

The Harrison Williams Expedition aboard the steam yacht Noma was a two-and-a-half month voyage by the Department of Tropical Research to the Galapagos Archipelago during 1923. Under the direction of William Beebe, the expeditionary party included Harrison Williams, as Patron and Curator of Oceanography, and twelve other personnel. This brief exploration ignited an interest that came to fruition in 1925 with the DTR's first official oceanographic expedition. Through the generosity of Henry D. Whiton, who presented the steamship Arcturus to the Department, and Harrison Williams, who provided most of the financing, the DTR embarked on a six-month cruise to investigate the Sargasso Sea in the North Atlantic Ocean and the Humboldt Current in the Pacific Ocean. Additional work was conducted in Hudson Gorge, off the coast of New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

The bulk of this collection consists of Arcturus records, including the logbook of the steamship, dredging records, haul summaries, outlines and field notes on fishes and pediculates, data on deep sea fauna, and background notes for published studies. Noma materials consist of the ship's bridge log and catalogs of birds and vertebrates.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in five series:

Series 1
 Noma and Arcturus catalogs, 1923-1925
Series 2
 Arcturus records, arranged in three suberies:

(2A) Arcturus outlines and field notes

(2B) Fish records from Arcturus voyages

(2C) Pediculate records from Arcturus voyages

Series 3
 Hudson Gorge deep-sea fauna and reference matter
Series 4
 Data and notes collected from Arcturus voyages
Series 5
 Ship logbooks

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Noma and Arcturus catalogs, 1923-1925 

Box

Vertebrate catalog, 

1

Bird catalog, 

1

Land birds' (indefatigable) food, including lizards, 

1

Lizards, 

1

Record of dredgings, 

1

Haul summary, Atlantic and Pacific, 

1

Pacific plankton hauls, Stations 25-91,   (2 folders)

1

Vertebrate, numbers 5000-6653, 

1

Fish at American Museum, 

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Arcturus records, 

Subseries a: Arcturus outlines and field notes, 

Box

Fish, General, 

1

Jellyfishes, Net data, 1925 May 6-October 19 

1

False Cyclothone (Retreating forehead fish), 

1

Melamphaes (Atlantic and Pacific), 

1

Eels (Atlantic and Pacific), 

1

Leptocephalus (Atlantic and Pacific), 

1

Amphioyididae, Galeidae, Megalopidae, Stomiatidae, Stylophthalmidae, Chanliodontidae, and Maurolicidae (Atlantic), 

1

Echeneidae, Fierasferidae, Balistidae, Monicanthidae, Ostraciidae, and Diodontidae (Atlantic), 

1

Echelidae, Ariidae (Tachysiridae), Belonidae, Hemiramphidae, Exocoetidae, Gadidae, Holocentridae, Pilynamidae, and Gempylidae (Atlantic), 

1

Coryphaenidae, Nomeidae, Carangidae, Epinephelidae, Serranidae, Pomaoasidae, Mullidae, Chaetodontidae, Scorpaenidae, Pomacentridae, and Gobiidae (Atlantic), 

1

Unnamed fish (Atlantic), 

2

Macronridae, Bregmacerotidae, Scorpaenidae, Chiasmodontidae, and Brotulidae (Pacific), 

2

Saccopharyngidae, Evermanellidae, Bathypteroidae, and Malacosteidae (Pacific), 

2

Chaetodontidae, Tenthididae (Acanthuridae), Pomancentridae, Labridae, Coreidae, Scaridae, Eleotridae, Gobiidae, and Echeneidae (Pacific), 

2

Kuhliidae, Epinephelidae, Serranidae, Xenichthyidae, Lutianidae, Haemulidae, Sparidae, Kyphosidae, Oplegnathidae, Mullidae, Sciaenidae, Branchiostegidae, and Cirrhithidae (Pacific), 

2

Holocentridae, Fistulariidae, Atheriuidae, Mugilidae, Polynemidae, Scombridae, Thurmidae, Gempylidae, Coryphaenidae, Nomeidae, and Carangidae (Pacific), 

2

Alepocephalidae, Stomiatidae, Chanliodontidae, Idiacanthidae, and Sternoptychidae (Pacific), 

2

Dorsomidae, Synodontidae, Belimidae, Hemiramhpidae, and Exocetidae (Pacific), 

2

Blennidae, Balistidae, Ostraciidae, Tetraodoritidae, Canthigasteridae, Molidae, and Diodantidae (Pacific), 

2

Station 74, Vertical fish distribution and list of families and species (Pacific), 

2

Station 74, Journal (Pacific), 

2

Station 74, Deep-sea chapter (Pacific), 

2

Unnamed fish (Pacific), 

2

Zoarcidae (Hudson Gorge), 

2

Scorpionidae (Hudson Gorge), 

2

Subseries b: Fish records from Arcturus voyages, 

Box

(181) Fonostomidae (Cyclothone), 

2

(182) Idiacanthidae, 

2

(176) Stomias, 

2

(176a) Melanostomiatidae echinostoma, 

2

(178) Astronesthidae, 

2

(179) Stylophthalmus, 

2

(180) Chanliodus, 

2

(185) Sternoptychidae, 

2

(217) Nemichthyidae, 

2

(308) Bregmaceros, 

2

(329) Pleuronectidae, 

2

(339) Melaphanidae, 

2

(637) Aceratudae, 

2

Subseries c: Pediculate records from Arcturus voyages, 

Box

Atlantic and Pacific, Odd leftovers, 

2

Pacific II, Plates (old), 

2

Specimen excluded from Pacific pediculate paper, 

2

Used Pacific pediculate material, 

2

Melanocetus, 

2

Melanvietidae xenoceratis, 

2

Heinantolophus, new species, 

2

Chaenothryne parviconus, 

2

Trematorhynchus, 

2

Trematorhynchus, 

2

Cryptosparus couesii, 

2

Mancalias uranoscopus, 

2

Gigantactis periatus, 

2

Linophryne and Borophryne, 

2

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 3: Hudson Gorge deep-sea fauna and reference matter, 

Box

New York deep sea fauna, plankton, Coelenterata, and Medusae, 

3

Station 114, Haul contents, 1923 July 7-9-August 4-5 

3

Station 113, 24-hour haul, 

3

Fish catalogs and lists, Hudson Gorge and Arcturus

3

Arcturus catalogs (Hudson Gorge), Stations 111, 112, and 113, 

3

Journal reprints and clippings,   (2 folders)

3

Newspaper clippings, 

3

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 4: Data and notes collected from Arcturus voyages, 

Box

Panama data, Fauna of Fort Sherman and Colon Bay, 

3

Diving and shore notes, Cocos Island, 

3

Animals collected in Gardner Bay, Hood Island, and Station 54, 

3

Darwin Bay, Tower Island ecology, 

3

Atlantic, Mollusca, Halobates, birds, and Coelentera, 

3

Reptiles, Panama coast, and current rip, Station 31, 

3

Tagus Cove, unidentified journal, pp. 160-182, 1925 June 7-10 

3

Bird skins and sea snake data sheets, 

3

Shoe fish taken in Conolophus Cove, 

3

Drift bottles, return data, 

3

Fish study material and notes, Panama and Galapagos, 

3

Cephalopods thesis by Jay F. W. Pearson, 

3

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 5: Ship logbooks, 

Box

Noma logbook, 1923 March 1-May 16 

4

Arcturus logbook, 1925 February 12-August 2 

4

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip