This is the "Collection 1005C" page of the "Department of Tropical Research. Terrestrial expeditions. Rancho Grande, Venezuela records, 1945-1949" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Department of Tropical Research. Terrestrial expeditions. Rancho Grande, Venezuela records, 1945-1949  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=533700 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1005C Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research Rancho Grande, Venezuela Expeditions, 1945-1949

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research Rancho Grande, Venezuela Expeditions, 1945-1949 1005C

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research Rancho Grande, Venezuela Expeditions, 1945-1949
1005C

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.
Collection Number
1005C
Title
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research. Terrestrial expeditions. Rancho Grande, Venezuela records
Date
1945-1949
Extent
1.25 linear feet (3 Hollinger boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
Rancho Grande, a high altitude field station overlooking Lake Valencia in Venezuela, was the site of three Department of Tropical Research expeditions between 1945 and 1948. The major expenses of the laboratory, living quarters, and trips were underwritten by the Creole Petroleum Corporation. The regular research staff consisted of Director William Beebe, research zoologist Jocelyn Crane, and entomologist Henry Fleming. This collection contains notes, chapter outlines, drafts, and study material for High Jungle (Duell, Sloan, and Pierce, 1949) by William Beebe. Also present are data, notes, and lists on ecology, and observations of Lepidoptera, other insects, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals, especially bats. Finally, the collection includes some correspondence, of which specimens are the primary subject.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • Creole Petroleum Corporation.
  • New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.

Geographic Name(s)

  • Parque Nacional Henri Pittier (Venezuela)

Personal Name(s)

  • Beebe, William, 1877-1962
  • Crane, Jocelyn
  • Fleming, Henry

Subject(s)

  • Amphibians -- Venezuela
  • Bats -- Venezuela
  • Birds -- Venezuela
  • Butterflies -- Venezuela
  • Insects -- Venezuela
  • Mammals -- Venezuela
  • Moths -- Venezuela
  • Reptiles -- Venezuela

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

 Finding aid revised and entered into Archivists' Toolkit by Nicholas Kennedy. June 2012

Related Collections

Collection 1005A. Department of Tropical Research general records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1005B. Department of Tropical Research British Guiana and Venezuela records, 1916-1924.

Collection 1005D. Department of Tropical Research Simla Station, Trinidad records, 1949-1961.

Collection 1005E. Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions general records, 1923-1957.

Collection 1005F. Department of Tropical Research Noma and Arcturus records, 1923-1925.

Collection 1005G. Department of Tropical Research Zaca records, 1936-1938.

Collection 1005H. Department of Tropical Research Antares and Hardi Biaou records, 1932-1936.

Collection 1005J. Department of Tropical Research Bermuda oceanographic expedition records, 1929-1949.

Collection 1006. Gloria Hollister papers, 1925-1988.

Collection 1016. Department of Tropical Research additional records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1017. William Beebe and John Tee-Van records, 1909-1947.

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Department of Tropical Research Rancho Grande, Venezuela records. Collection 1005C. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Historical Note

Rancho Grande, a high altitude field station overlooking Lake Valencia in Venezuela, was the site of three Department of Tropical Research expeditions between 1945 and 1948. The major expenses of the laboratory, living quarters, and trips were underwritten by the Creole Petroleum Corporation. The regular research staff consisted of Director William Beebe, research zoologist Jocelyn Crane, and entomologist Henry Fleming.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

This collection is composed of records created during the Department of Tropical Research's expeditions to Venezuela between 1945 and 1948. It contains notes, chapter outlines, drafts, and study material for High Jungle (Duell, Sloan, and Pierce, 1949) by William Beebe. Also present are data, notes, and lists on ecology, and observations of Lepidoptera, other insects, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals, especially bats. Correspondents include E. R. Dunn, James A. Oliver, W. H. Phelps, and George R. P. Tate. Specimens are the primary subject of the correspondence.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in two series:

Series 1
 Records related to High Jungle, circa 1942-1946
Series 2
 Rancho Grande field notes and related correspondence, circa 1945-1948, arranged by taxonomy into 5 subseries:

(2A) Insecta

(2B) Insect ecology

(2C) Reptiles and amphibians

(2D) Birds

(2E) Mammals

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Records related to High Jungle, circa 1942-1949 

Box

Outline, "Jungle Mountain", 

1

Venezuelan trip, 

1

Short drafts: wasps, cockroaches, and climate, 

1

Short drafts: mammals, 

1

Carrion notes, including "The Call of the Carrion", 1916 

1

"St Francis of the Plaster Cast," variety of typed drafts, and especially migration, 

1

"St Francis, One Year Later", 1946 

1

Water trail notes, 

1

Caripito, Caciques, and other birds, 1942 

1

Birds, 1945-1946 

1

Bird migration drafts and published articles (Beebe), 

1

Ants, 

1

Mayflies, 

1

Orthoptera, 1946 

1

Mollusks, includes correspondence, 

1

Savanna ecology data, 

1

Pits and scavenger basin,   (2 folders)

1

Jungle, mostly plants, 

1

Important study materials for Rancho Grande, keys, outlines, and lists, 

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Rancho Grande field notes and related correspondence, circa 1945-1949 

Subseries a: Insecta, 

Box

Lepidoptera (Fleming) and assorted data, 1946 

2

Moth positions list, 1946 

2

Moth positions data,   (4 folders)

2

Moth positions, Sphinx, 

2

Moth positions general, includes edibles, 1945-1946 

2

Position of eyes of butterflies and caterpillars, 1946 

2

Lepidoptera, including moths, 1945-1946 

2

"Moths at Light," unused book data, 1946 

2

Moth positions and general notes on relative abundance at lab windows, 1948 

2

Subseries b: Insect ecology, 

Box

Lepidoptera migrants, outline and photograph, 

2

Butterfly pass migrants, 1946 

2

Migration: moths and butterflies, 1948 

2

Passmoths: ultraviolet/edibility of migrants, 

2

Migrant butterflies, not used, 

2

Insects, general, 1948 

2

Subseries c: Reptiles and amphibians, 

Box

Correspondence, E. R. Dunn, 

3

Reptiles sent to museum for naming, includes correspondence with James A. Oliver, 

3

Reptiles, notes, 1948 

3

Lizards, notes and correspondence, 

3

Snakes, notes and lists, 1945-1946 

3

Amphibia, 1948 

3

Amphibia, minus Gastrotheca, 1946   (2 folders)

3

Gastrotheca, 

3

Amphibia, total lists, 

3

Habits of Batrachians and Reptiles from Lower Amazon, by Cott, 

3

Subseries d: Birds, 

Box

Observations on the Birds of Northern Venezuela, by Alexander Wetmore and annotated by Beebe, 

3

Rancho Grande birds for identification lists, notes, and correspondence with W. H. Phelps, 

3

Migrant birds, 1948 

3

List of Rancho Grande birds, 

3

Bird notes, includes correspondence with Phelps, 1945-1948   (2 folders)

3

Bird notes, includes correspondence with Phelps, 1948 

3

Zanthoura color change, includes correspondence with Phelps, 

3

Subseries e: Mammals, 

Box

Mammals, 1948-1949 

3

Mammals, 1945-1947 

3

Marsupials, 

3

Bats, 

3

Rats, 

3

Squirrels, data removed, 

3

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip