This is the "Collection 1005D" page of the "Department of Tropical Research. Terrestrial expeditions. Simla Station, Trinidad records, 1949-1961" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Department of Tropical Research. Terrestrial expeditions. Simla Station, Trinidad records, 1949-1961  

Last Updated: Nov 6, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=535589 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1005D Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research Simla Station, Trinidad Expeditions, 1949-1961

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research Simla Station, Trinidad Expeditions, 1949-1961 1005D

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research Simla Station, Trinidad Expeditions, 1949-1961
1005D

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.
Collection Number
1005D
Title
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research. Terrestrial expeditions. Simla Station, Trinidad records
Date
1949-1961
Extent
0.84 linear feet (2 Hollinger boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
This collection consists of handwritten and typed notes and field observations, primarily by William Beebe, during the New York Zoological Society's Department of Tropical Research studies at Simla Station, Trinidad, between 1949 and 1961.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.

Geographic Name(s)

  • Arima (Trinidad and Tobago)

Personal Name(s)

  • Beebe, William, 1877-1962

Subject(s)

  • Amphibians -- Trinidad
  • Birds -- Trinidad
  • Fishes -- Trinidad
  • Insects -- Trinidad
  • Mammals -- Trinidad
  • Meteorology -- Observations -- Trinidad
  • Reptiles -- Trinidad
  • Scientific expeditions -- Trinidad
  • Zoological specimens -- Collection and preservation

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

 Finding aid revised and entered into Archivists' Toolkit by Nicholas Kennedy. July 2012

Related Collections

Collection 1005A. Department of Tropical Research general records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1005B. Department of Tropical Research British Guiana and Venezuela records, 1916-1924.

Collection 1005C. Department of Tropical Research Rancho Grande, Venezuela records, 1945-1949.

Collection 1005E. Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions general records, 1923-1957.

Collection 1005F. Department of Tropical Research Noma and Arcturus records, 1923-1925.

Collection 1005G. Department of Tropical Research Zaca records, 1936-1938.

Collection 1005H. Department of Tropical Research Antares and Hardi Biaou records, 1932-1936.

Collection 1005J. Department of Tropical Research Bermuda oceanographic expedition records, 1929-1949.

Collection 1006. Gloria Hollister papers, 1925-1988.

Collection 1016. Department of Tropical Research additional records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1017. William Beebe and John Tee-Van records, 1909-1947.

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Department of Tropical Research Simla Station, Trinidad, records, 1949-1961. Collection 1005D. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Items Separated

F. W. Ulrich, Trinidad fauna. (Folder separated to Collection 1005K.)

Trinidad: Photographed map of Arima. (Folder separated to Collection 1005K.)

Return to Table of Contents »


Historical Note

In 1950 William Beebe, Director of the New York Zoological Society's Department of Tropical Research donated a field station named Simla, in the Arima Valley of Trinidad, to NYZS. Beebe had purcahsed the property in 1949 and named it after Simla in India, which he had visited in 1910. After Beebe’s death in 1962, the Simla Station was renamed the William Beebe Tropical Research Station by the NYZS Board of Trustees. From 1965 through 1971, Simla Station was administered through the Institute for Research in Animal Behavior (a collaborative effort between NYZS and Rockefeller University). In 1974, the property was donated to the Asa Wright Nature Center.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

This collection consists of handwritten and typed notes and field observations, primarily by William Beebe, during the New York Zoological Society's Department of Tropical Research studies at Simla Station, Trinidad, between 1949 and 1961. The documentation of specimens and the disposition of specimens is a major topic; study materials and meteorological records are also included.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged into two series:

Series 1
 Meteorological records, circa 1951-1961
Series 2
 Notes on Trinidad insects, vertebrates, and birds, 1949-1958, arranged in three subseries:

(2A) Insecta

(2B) Vertebrates (except birds)

(2C) Birds

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Meteorological records, circa 1951-1961 

Box

Meteorological records, charts of physical parameters, especially temperature, humidity, and rainfall, 

1

Rainfall records, weekly entries, 1951-1956 

Related Archival Materials note

See also Collection 1016 for an additional rain-temperature record: 1952 December-1961 June.

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Notes on Trinidad insects, vertebrates, and birds, 1949-1958 

Box

Trinidad fauna study material, including Birds of paradise notes, 

1

Trinidad insect notes, organized by species, 

1

Trinidad insect notes, assorted notes, 

1

Subseries a: Insecta, 

Box

Suggestions, 

1

Insect house, 

1

Light-traps, 

1

Communities, 

1

Nymphalid tangerine bait, 

1

Insect notes, 1958 

1

Insect notes, 1956-1957 

1

General Lepidoptera, moths, 1949-1955 

1

Moth positions, 

1

Euchromids and Fedegoso, 

1

Saturnid notes, 

1

Moth fauna of Trinidad, 

1

Moth names, 

1

Lepidoptera, butterflies, 1949-1955 

1

Butterfly notes, 

1

Jerking caterpillars, Fighting caterpillars, 

1

Hymenoptera notes, 1949-1955 

1

Hymenoptera notes, 1951-1952 

1

Ants, 1950-1955 

1

Coleoptera, 1949-1955 

1

Odd orders, 1949-1955 

1

Study materials, 

1

Subseries b: Vertebrates (except birds), 

Box

General notes, 

2

Fish, Notes and correspondence, 1951 

2

Amphibia, Drawings, lists, and notes, 1951 

2

Lizards, crocodiles, and turtles, 

2

Snakes, includes J. A. Oliver, "Key to Snakes of Trinidad", 

2

Trinidad snakes, by R. R. Mole, 

2

Mammals, minus bats and rats, 

2

Mammals, rats and bats, 

2

Mammal keys, 

2

Subseries c: Birds, 

Box

Guiana bird lists, 

2

Tyranidae, 

2

Hummingbirds, 

2

Birds notes, 1951-1953 

2

Bird notes, 1955-1957 

2

Compiled data,   (2 folders)

2

Tinamou, 

2

Pelican, booby, and frigatebird, 

2

Cathartidae, 

2

Accipitridae, 

2

Emerald hummer, 

2

Mango hummer, 

2

Kingfishers, 

2

Honey-creepers, 

2

Goatsucker, 

2

Bellbirds, includes nest photos, 

2

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip