This is the "Collection 1005G" page of the "Department of Tropical Research. Oceanographic expeditions. Zaca records, 1936-1938" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Department of Tropical Research. Oceanographic expeditions. Zaca records, 1936-1938  

Last Updated: Dec 20, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=535612 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1005G Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions aboard the vessel Zaca, 1936-1938

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions aboard the vessel Zaca, 1936-1938 1005G

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions aboard the vessel Zaca, 1936-1938
1005G

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.
Collection Number
1005G
Title
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research. Oceanographic expeditions. Zaca records
Date
1936-1938
Extent
1.24 linear feet (3 Hollinger boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
The New York Zoological Society's Department of Tropical Research, led by William Beebe, used the diesel schooner Zaca for two expeditions, the first in 1936 in the Gulf of California, and the second in 1937-1938 in the Eastern Pacific. These records include station data, dredging and net haul records, vertebrate catalogs, miscellaneous correspondence, and data on invertebrates, fishes, and fish stomach examinations.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.

Personal Name(s)

  • Beebe, William, 1877-1962

Subject(s)

  • Scientific expeditions -- California, Gulf of (Mexico)
  • Scientific expeditions -- Pacific Ocean
  • Zoological specimens -- Collection and preservation

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

 Finding aid revised and entered into Archivists' Toolkit by Nicholas Kennedy. July 2012

Related Collections

Collection 1005A. Department of Tropical Research general records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1005B. Department of Tropical Research British Guiana and Venezuela records, 1916-1924.

Collection 1005C. Department of Tropical Research Rancho Grande, Venezuela records, 1945-1949.

Collection 1005D. Department of Tropical Research Simla Station, Trinidad records, 1949-1961.

Collection 1005E. Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions general records, 1923-1957.

Collection 1005F. Department of Tropical Research Noma and Arcturus records, 1923-1925.

Collection 1005H. Department of Tropical Research Antares and Hardi Biaou records, 1932-1936.

Collection 1005J. Department of Tropical Research Bermuda oceanographic expedition records, 1929-1949.

Collection 1006. Gloria Hollister papers, 1925-1988.

Collection 1016. Department of Tropical Research additional records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1017. William Beebe and John Tee-Van records, 1909-1947.

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Department of Tropical Research Zaca records, 1936-1938. Collection 1005G. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Historical Note

The diesel schooner Zaca, owned by Templeton Crocker, was placed at the disposal of the Department of Tropical Research for two expeditions. From 25 March through 25 May 1936, the Department was engaged in the Templeton Crocker Expedition; the trip consisted of observations, deep sea trawling, and dredging operations on the Pacific Coast of Lower California from San Diego to Clarion Island and Cape San Lucas, and in the Gulf of California. The second trip, the Eastern Pacific Zaca Expedition between 6 November 1937 and 5 April 1938, employed identical oceanographic techniques for exploring the faunal area from Guadalupe, San Benito, and Cedros Island on the west coast of Lower California south through the western bays of Mexico, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, and Colombia. The scientific staff for both expeditions included William Beebe, John Tee-Van, and Jocelyn Crane.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

These records include station data, dredging and net haul records, vertebrate catalogs, miscellaneous correspondence, and data on invertebrates, fishes, and fish stomach examinations.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in two series:

Series 1
 Templeton Crocker Expedition, 1936
Series 2
 Eastern Pacific Zaca Expedition, 1937-1938

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Templeton Crocker Expedition records, 1936 

Box

Ecology, 1936 

1

Comparison of Arena and Gorda faunas, 1936 

1

Abstract of log, 1936 March-April 

1

Section maps, 1936 

1

Stations, 1936 

1

Surface temperatures, 1936 

1

Government reports on Gorda, 1936 

1

Miscellaneous, 1936 

1

Correspondence, miscellaneous, 1936 

1

San Lucas region, Dredge hauls, 1936   (2 folders)

1

Inez area, Dredge hauls, 1936   (2 folders)

1

San Diego to Magdalena (Pacific Offshore-Clarion), Dredge hauls, 1936 

1

Plankton, Dredge hauls, 1936 

1

Field notes, Dredge hauls, 

1

Dredge list (excluding Clarion), 1936 

1

Shells (arranged by dredge), 1936 

1

Chronological list and index, 1936 

1

Dredges and invertebrates, 1936 

1

Net hauls, stations 125-175, 1936 

1

Vertebrate catalog, 1936 

1

Spider crabs and crab ecology, 1936 

1

Shrimp, Munida, Squilla, and Hermit crabs, 1936 

1

Oxystomata, 1936 

1

Cancroida, 1936 

1

Grapsoids, 1936 

1

Swordfish and Marlin, 1936 

1

(179) Carangidae, 1936 

2

Apogon, 1936 

2

(195) Serranidae, 1936 

2

(203) Lutianidae, 1936 

2

(198) Pseudopriacanthus serrula (Gilbert), 1936 

2

(201) Xenistus californiensis (Steindachner), 1936 

2

(205) Haemulidae, 1936 

2

(206) Calamus brachysomus (Lockington), 1936 

2

(207) Girella, 1936 

2

(208) Kyphosus analagous (Gill) and Hermosilla Asurea (Jenkins and Evermann), 1936 

2

(211) Girridae, 1936 

2

(212) Mullidae, 1936 

2

(213) Sciaenidae, 1936 

2

(223) Zanclus cornutus (Linnaeus), 1936 

2

(224) Xesurus, 1936 

2

(225) Scorpaenidae, 1936 

2

(231) Xantocles frenatus (Eigenmann), 1936 

2

(233) Icelidae, 1936 

2

(240) Averruncus sterletus (Gilbert), 1936 

2

(246) Triglidae, 1936 

2

(248) Embiotocidae, 1936 

2

(249) Ponocentridae, 1936 

2

(251) Bodianus diplotaenia (Gill), Julidio notospilus (Gunther), Emmeekia venusta, and Leptoscarus xenodon, 1936 

2

(254) Pseudoscarus perrico (Jordan & Gilbert), 1936 

2

Gobies and Blennies, 1936 

2

(258) Remora remora and Echeneis, 1936 

2

(260) Callionymus, 1936 

2

(263) Ammodytes, 1936 

2

(269) Dactyloscopids, 1936 

2

(271) Blennies, 1936-1937, 1946-1948 

2

(290) Biotulidae and (291) Ophidiidae, 1936 

2

(292) Encheliophis jordani, 1936 

2

(293) Porichthys, 1936 

2

(294) Gobiesocidae, 1936 

2

(299) Puffers, 1936 

2

Pediculati, (303) Lophius, (304) Antennarius, and (306) Zalieutes, 1936 

2

Numbers 5-1653, List and incomplete data sequence, 1936 

2

Numbers 1850-2067, List and data, 1936 

2

Miscellaneous reptiles and amphibia, 1936 

2

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Eastern Pacific Zaca Expedition records, 1937-1938 

Box

Abstract of log and station list, 1937-1938 

3

Fish notes, 1937-1938 

3

Vertebrate catalog, 1937-1938 

3

Chronological list of fishes, excluding dredges and plankton nets, 1937-1938 

3

Station list, fishes taken at light, and dredges, 1937-1938 

3

Dredge hauls, 1937-1938 

3

Dredge list, Invertebrates, 1937-1938 

3

Elops, Report, 1937-1938 

3

Odd notes and correspondence, 1937-1938 

3

Fish specimen forms and stomach examinations, 1936-1938   (3 folders)

3

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip