This is the "Collection 1005J" page of the "Department of Tropical Research. Oceanographic expeditions. Bermuda records, 1929-1949" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Department of Tropical Research. Oceanographic expeditions. Bermuda records, 1929-1949  

Last Updated: Nov 6, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=535623 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1005J Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research Bermuda oceanographic expeditions, 1929-1949

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research Bermuda oceanographic expeditions, 1929-1949 1005J

Guide to the Records of the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research Bermuda oceanographic expeditions, 1929-1949
1005J

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.
Collection Number
1005J
Title
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research. Oceanographic expeditions. Bermuda records
Date
1929-1949
Extent
5.0 linear feet (12 Hollinger boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
This collection consists of data, manuscript notes, and lists documenting the marine science activities of the Department of Tropical Research staff at Bermuda from 1929 through 1939. Included are trawling records, fish outlines, bird censuses. This collection also includes logbooks of notes dictated to Gloria Hollister by William Beebe via telephone from the bathysphere dives of 1930, 1931, and 1932; correspondence concerning the bathysphere, 1929-1930, from John H. J. Butler's office at the marine engineering firm of Cox & Stevens, Inc.; related correspondence of William Beebe, John Tee-Van, and bathysphere inventor Otis Barton; and a short series of letters dealing with the loan of the bathysphere to the United States Navy, 1943-1948.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • Cox and Stevens.
  • New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.
  • United States. Navy.

Personal Name(s)

  • Anable, Gloria Hollister
  • Barton, Otis
  • Beebe, William, 1877-1962
  • Butler, John H. J.
  • Tee-Van, John

Subject(s)

  • Bathysphere
  • Birds -- Bermuda Islands
  • Fishes -- Bermuda Islands
  • Marine animals -- Bermuda Islands
  • Scientific expeditions -- Bermuda Islands
  • Submersibles
  • Zoological specimens -- Collection and preservation

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Some files from John H.J. Butler, representative of the marine engineering firm of Cox & Stevens; all others internal transfer.

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

 Finding aid revised and entered into Archivists' Toolkit by Nicholas Kennedy. July 2012

Related Collections

Collection 1005A. Department of Tropical Research general records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1005B. Department of Tropical Research British Guiana and Venezuela records, 1916-1924.

Collection 1005C. Department of Tropical Research Rancho Grande, Venezuela records, 1945-1949.

Collection 1005D. Department of Tropical Research Simla Station, Trinidad records, 1949-1961.

Collection 1005E. Department of Tropical Research oceanographic expeditions general records, 1923-1957.

Collection 1005F. Department of Tropical Research Noma and Arcturus records, 1923-1925.

Collection 1005G. Department of Tropical Research Zaca records, 1936-1938.

Collection 1005H. Department of Tropical Research Antares and Hardi Biaou records, 1932-1936.

Collection 1005J. Department of Tropical Research Bermuda oceanographic expedition records, 1929-1949.

Collection 1006. Gloria Hollister papers, 1925-1988.

Collection 1016. Department of Tropical Research additional records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1017. William Beebe and John Tee-Van records, 1909-1947.

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Department of Tropical Research Bermuda records. Collection 1005J. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Historical Note

In Bermuda between 1928 and 1940, the Department of Tropical Research conducted intensive ecological investigations within well-defined areas of deep-sea and shore zones, and undertook record-breaking explorations in the depth of the sea with the submersible diving bell, the bathysphere.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

This collection contains records related to the oceanographic activities of the Department of Tropical Research staff at Bermuda from 1929 through 1939, most notably concern the bathysphere dives led by DTR Director William Beebe. These records include logbooks of notes dictated to Gloria Hollister by William Beebe via telephone from the bathysphere dives of 1930, 1931, and 1932; correspondence concerning lighting, cable, glass, and plans for the bathysphere, 1929-1930, from John H. J. Butler’s office at the marine engineering firm of Cox & Stevens, Inc.; related correspondence of William Beebe, John Tee-Van, and bathysphere inventor Otis Barton; and a short series of letters dealing with the loan of the bathysphere to the U. S. Navy, 1943-1948.

Additional data, manuscript notes, and lists documenting Bermuda marine science are also contained in the collection. Among them are trawling records for 1,607 hauls, usually noting vessel, data, station and net number of trawls, net type, location, meteorological conditions, duration and depth of haul, and fishes and plankton collected. Fish outlines and files on anatomy, coloration, eggs, and larvae document closer examination of cataloged specimens. The Bermuda Science Studies series includes notes on hauls, depth and pressure experiments, and discrete topics; land and shore observations contain bird censuses and notes.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in ten series:

Series 1
 Deep sea fish catalog, 1929-1931
Series 2
 Trawling records, 1929-1939
Series 3
 Data for publications on deep sea fishes
Series 4
 Bermuda Science Studies, arranged in two subseries:

(4A) Deep sea and pelagic studies

(4B) Land and shore studies

Series 5
 Fish outlines
Series 6
 Fish eggs and larvae data
Series 7
 Copepods
Series 8
 Anatomy
Series 9
 Color notes
Series 10
 Bathysphere

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Deep sea fish catalog, 1929-1931 

Box

Deep-sea fish catalog, 1929-1931   (3 folders)

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Trawling records, 1929-1939 

Box

Daily trawling records, 1929 April 2-September 30 

2

Daily trawling records, 1930 April 18-September 30 

2

Daily trawling records, 1931 May 12-November 17 

2

Trawling records station 115, net numbers 1-149, 1929 April 3-June 1 

2

Trawling records station 115, net numbers 150-300, 1929 June 1-July 13 

2

Trawling records station 115, net numbers 301-450, 1929 July 13-September 9 

2

Trawling records station 115, net numbers 451-528, 1929 September 10-30 

2

Trawling records station 115, net numbers 529-700, 1930 April 18-June 13 

2

Trawling records station 115 net numbers 701-850, 1930 June 13-September 5 

2

Trawling records station 115, net numbers 851-976, 1930 September 5-October 18 

3

Ship trawling record, 1931 June 2-September 17 

3

Trawling records station 115, net numbers 977-1100, 1931 May 12-July 24 

3

Trawling records station 115, net numbers 1101-1250, 1931 July 25-September 1 

3

Trawling records station 115, net numbers 1251-1350, 1931 September 1-November 17 

3

Trawling records, net numbers 1351-1461, 1932 September 4-1933 November 21 

3

Trawling records station 115, net numbers 1462-1607, 1934 May 18-1939 September 3 

3

Trawling summaries, net 779, nets 1501-1506, and net 1529, 1930, 1935 

3

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 3: Data for publications on deep sea fishes, 

Series 1: (151) Alepocephalidae, general, 

Box
4

Dolichopteryx, 

4

Anomalopterus, 

4

Bathytroctes drakei and B. rosturus, 

4

Macromastax, new species, 

4

Photostylus, 

4

Xenodemichthys, 

4

(170) Bathylagidae, general, 

4

B. bendicti, 

4

B. glacialis, 

4

Unused material, ideas for future papers, 

4

(176) S. Macrostomias calosoma, 

4

(177) Melanstomiatidae, general, 

4

Bathophilus, 

4

Chirostomias, 

4

Echiostomias, 

4

Eustomias, 

4

Flagellostomias, 

4

Grammatosomias, 

4

Leptostomias, 

4

Pachystomias, 

4

Photonectes, 

4

(181) Cyclothone, general, 

4

Distribution, 1929-1931   (3 folders)

4

Outlines and anatomical notes, 

4

References, 

4

(182) Idiacanthidae, general, 

4

(200) Derichthyidae, 

4

(212) Nettastomiadae and Nessorhampus, 

4

(217) Serrivomeridae and Labichtys, 

4

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 4: Bermuda Science Studies, 

Subseries a: Deep sea and pelagic studies, 

Box

Salt water fish to fresh, tank experiments,   (3 folders)

5

Pressure tank experiments (Harvey), 1930 

5

Depth data, graphs, and methods, 1929 

5

Depth gauge calculations, 1930 

5

Individual net hauls with accompanying data (duplicate except numbers of fish), 

5

Vertical hauls, temperature, and water samples, 

5

Miscellaneous daily fish lists (trapping), 1929, 1930 

5

Shore fish, trapping notes, 

5

Potassium hydroxide, outlines, and processes, 

5

Deep sea ecological factors ( Arcturus and Bermuda), 

5

Depth gauge specimens (Cyclothone microdon and Myctophids), 1930 September 11 

5

Invertebrate vitality notes, egg counts, 1931 

5

Invertebrate types, 

5

List of deep sea invertebrate data, 1931 

5

Bermuda deep sea fish II, 

5

Pelagic and deep sea fish catalog, 1933-1935 

5

Fish outlines (Somerset), 

5

Crabs, zones, 

5

Pipe fishes, 

5

Pelagic fishes, 

5

Missing specimen (169) Microsomidae nansenia oblita, 

5

Copepods, Bermuda, and miscellaneous, 

5

(155) Atherinidae, preliminary identifications, 

5

Invertebrate plankton, 1931 

5

Phronema, Nemertean summary, color notes, and notes on shark parasite, 

5

Shark data, 

5

Echeneis, 

5

Asymmetron, outlines and notes, 

5

Isospondyli, notes, and readings, 

5

Squid, 

5

Notes on Mollusks, Nonsuch trawling, and miscellaneous references, 

5

Catalog and net data omitted from "Amphipods of Bermuda oceanographic expeditions," by Shoemaker, 1945 

5

Fenner A. Chase, Jr., Littoral crustacea from Bermuda, and Special caridean notes, 

5

Subseries b: Land and shore studies, 

Box

Nonsuch, Tropic bird census, manuscript, typescript notes on observations, and maps, 1929, 1930 

5

Nonsuch, Land birds and waders, Typescript, notes, and writings, 

5

Birds of Nonsuch, Manuscript notes, 1929-1931 

5

Birds of Nonsuch, Notes, and correspondence from Robert Cushman Murphy, 1931 

5

Birds of Nonsuch, Clips, notes, typescript, and correspondence, 1929, 1930 

5

Insects of Nonsuch, Data (including Olgivie checklist), 1929-1939 

5

Bermuda bird notes, reports, and correspondence with Ernest Mayr and Warren Eaton, circa 1935-1937 

5

Food of fish birds, 1939 

5

List of Bermuda shore fish, 

5

Wharf light data, night light fish, and invertebrates, 1935 

6

Shore fishes, General habits, 

6

Fish notes, includes correspondence, 1929-1937 

6

Bermuda invertebrates, 

6

Nature notes, circa 1935 

6

Notes on Bermuda geology, 1928-1935 

6

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 5: Fish outlines, 

Box

Stomiatodiea, Description of Bermuda collection and typescript, 

6

(176) Stomias brevibarbatus,   (2 folders)

6

S. ferox, 

6

Stomiatodiea and Melanostomid, 

6

(177a) Malacosteidae, 

6

(178) Astronethes, 

6

(178) Astronethes ( Arcturus), 

6

Neonesthes, 

6

(180) Chauliodus, 

6

(181) Gonostomidae, 

6

(184) Opisthoproctidae, 

6

(185) Sternoptychidae: S. diaphana and S. Argyropelecus, 

6

Photichithys nonsuchi, new species, 

6

(187) Halosauridae, 

6

(202) Anguillidae oversize drawings, 

6

(204) Synaphobranchus, 

6

(211) Leptocephalidae, 

6

Eels, Odd notes, 

6

(218) Cyemidae, 

6

(224) Saccropharyngidae, 

6

(225) Eurpharynx, 

6

Unknown Nomichtyid, 

6

(305) Exocoetidae, 

7

(307) Macruridae, 

7

(308) Bregmacerotidae, 

7

(310) Gadidae, 

7

(326) Bothidae, 

7

(336) Zeidae (Cyttula), 

7

(339) Melamphaes, 

7

(344) Diretmidae, 

7

(351) Caristiidae, 

7

(356) Syngnathidae, 

7

(358) Aulostomidae, 

7

(379) Gempylidae, 

7

(380) Lepidopidae, 

7

(388) Bramidae, 

7

(391) Pteraclis, 

7

(396) Nomeidae, 

7

(401) Carangidae, 

7

(416) Oxyodon, 

7

(433) Priacanthidae, 

7

(441) Etelis, 

7

(457) Emmelichthys, 

7

(493) Scorpaenidae, 

7

(539) Sparisomidae, 

7

(545) Gobiidae, 

7

(561) Callionymidae, 

7

(578) Chiasmodontidae, 

7

(589) Blenniidae, 

7

(611) Brotulidae, 

7

(614) Carapidae, 

7

(80, formerly 624a Rabula minuta, new species) Chelorhmus suensonii, 

7

(626) Diodontidae, 

7

(627) Molidae, 

7

(628) Lophiidae, 

7

(629) Antennariidae, 

7

(632) Ogcocephalidae, 

7

(633) Ceratiidae, 

7

(634a) Oneirodidae, 

7

(634b) Linophrynidae, 

7

(635) Melanocetidae, 

7

(637) Aceratiidae, 

7

Unknown Ceratiads, 

7

Unnamed fish outlines, 

7

Mosaic-scaled fish and Cream-headed blind, 

7

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 6: Fish eggs and larvae data, 

Box

Miscellaneous, 1939 

8

Keys and diagrams, 

8

Miscellaneous drawings and outlines, 1933 

8

General eggs, drawings, and net summaries, 1933 

8

Spindle eggs, 1934-1935 

8

Yellow embryo and larva, 1933 

8

Black-spotted larva, 1933 

8

Green egg and larva, 

8

Tentacled headlight, 

8

Small-gobuled larva, 1934 

8

Abudefduf larva, 1934 

8

Smooth-egged flyingfish, 

8

Haul analysis for eggs, 1934, 1935 

8

Teeth, 

8

Thyroxin polarization, 

8

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 7: Copepods, 1935 

Box

Pelagic surface copepods, 1935 

8

Odd notes, charts, resumes, and color sketches, 1935 

8

Trawl lists, 1935 

8

Annotated list of species, 1935 

8

Copepods, General, 1939 

8

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 8: Anatomy, 

Box

Scales, deep sea fish, and drawings, 

8

Otoliths, 1930 

8

Alimentary canal, Shore fish outlines (lacking food records and egg counts), 1930 

8

Alimentary canal, Shore fish drawings and summary, 1931 

8

Alimentary canal, Shore fish drawings and outlines, Isopondyl, 

8

Digestive system, Shore fish drawings and miscellaneous, 1931   (2 folders)

8

Digestive system, Deep sea fish drawings and outlines, 1931 

9

Osteolog/Pectoral arch, Study matter, 

9

Caudal of cod, Study matter, 

9

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 9: Color notes, 

Box

Coelenterates, worms, and mollusks (except squid and octopuses), 

9

Squid and octopuses, 

9

Copepods, 

9

Crustacea (Mysids, Spuillas), 

9

Isopods, 

9

Amphipods, 

9

Shrimps and Schizopods, 

9

Crustacea, shore, fish food, and parasites, 

9

Deep sea fish, 

9

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 10: Bathysphere, 

Box

Bathysphere log recorded by Gloria Hollister, 1930 

10

Bathysphere log recorded by Gloria Hollister, 1932 

10

Bathysphere log recorded by Gloria Hollister, 1934 

10

General Electric Company (lamps), 1929-1930 

10

Miscellaneous, 1928-1930 

10

General Electric Co. (glass), 1929-1930 

10

Watson & Stillman, 1929-1930 

10

Ladd Schooner, Correspondence and plans, 

10

Westinghouse Lamp Co., 1928-1930 

10

Otis Barton, 1929-1930 

10

Lidgerwood Manufacturing Co., 1929-1930 

10

Okonite Cable Co., 1929 

10

Otis Barton, 1938-1949 

10

Loan of the Bathysphere to U. S. Navy, 1943-1948 

10

Loan of the Bathysphere to U. S. Navy, William Beebe correspondence, 1943-1947 

10

Blueprints, 

11

Photographs and art, Separates, 

12

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip