This is the "Collection 1036" page of the "Grant, Madison. NYZS Board of Trustees. Office of President. Zoological History Project records, 1901 and 1923-1939" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Grant, Madison. NYZS Board of Trustees. Office of President. Zoological History Project records, 1901 and 1923-1939  

Last Updated: Nov 6, 2013 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=535653 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1036 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the Zoological History Project records collected by Madison Grant, 1901 and 1923-1939

Guide to the Zoological History of the project records collected by Madison Grant, 1901 and 1923-1939 1036

Guide to the Zoological History of the project records collected by Madison Grant, 1901 and 1923-1939
1036

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
Grant, Madison, 1865-1937
Collection Number
1036
Title
New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees. Office of President. Madison Grant. Zoological History Project records
Date
1901 and 1923-1939
Extent
0.21 linear feet (1 half-Hollinger box)
Language
English
Abstract
Madison Grant (1865-1937) initiated the collecting and writing of these memoirs regarding the formation and development of the New York Zoological Society. The writers represented are Madison Grant, DeForest Grant, C. Grant LaFarge, and William White Niles.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Zoological Society.

Personal Name(s)

  • Grant, DeForest
  • Grant, Madison, 1865-1937
  • La Farge, C. Grant, (Christopher Grant), 1862-1938
  • Niles, William White, 1860-1935

Subject(s)

  • New York Zoological Society -- History

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer, 1980 (Acc. 1980.108).

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Original collection description from Guide to the Archives of the New York Zoological Society, compiled by Terry Collins and Steven P. Johnson, 1982.

Revision Description

 Finding aid revised and entered into Archivists’ Toolkit by Nicholas Kennedy. August 2012

Related Collections

Collection 1003. Madison Grant records, 1895-1905.

Collection 1030. Madison Grant and W. Redmond Cross records, 1906-1940.

 

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Madison Grant Zoological History Project records, 1901 and 1923-1939. Collection 1036. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Historical Note

Madison Grant (1865-1937), who served as Secretary of the New York Zoological Society Board of Trustees and Chairman of the Executive Committee before becoming NYZS President in 1925, initiated the collecting and writing of these memoirs regarding the formation and development of the New York Zoological Society. The writers represented are Madison Grant, his brother DeForest Grant, New York Zoological Park architect C. Grant LaFarge, and NYZS Executive Committee member William White Niles.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

These records consist of of memoirs and drafts of memoirs collected by Madison Grant in preparation for a history of the New York Zoological Society. The collection also includes reference copies of all originals.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

The records are arranged alphabetically by author, and chronologically within authors. Reference copies follow originals.

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Box

Grant, DeForest, 

Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements note

1 page. Error in date cited for election of Mayor Strong.

1

Grant, Madison. "Origin of the New York Zoological Society", 1928 November 22 

Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements note

9 pages. Marked "History Soc" in pencil on first page. Inscribed by Grant. Apparently the final version. Begins: "The origin of all successful enterprises appears to be more or less buried in obscurity..."

1

Grant, Madison. "Origin of the New York Zoological Society", 

Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements note

7 pages. Draft. Begins: "Immediately after the election of Mayor Strong..." Differs from next folder in incomplete sentence at end of page 7, "In December 1894, Mr Andrew H Green, requested me to call at his office."

1

Grant, Madison. "Origin of the New York Zoological Society", 1928 January 

Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements note

7 pages. Draft. Marked “Copy” on first page

1

Grant, Madison. "Origin of the New York Zoological Society", 

Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements note

7 pages. Draft. Text apparently same as previous copy in this collection.

1

Grant, Madison. "Origin of the New York Zoological Society", 

Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements note

7 pages. Draft. Marked "2 copies" in pencil on first page. With editing in pencil and pen, but not resulting in text from 1928 copy in this collection.

1

Grant, Madison. "History of the New York Zoological Society," by Mr. Madison Grant, 1935 May 

Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements note

6 pages. Draft. Marked "Copy" on first page. Begins: "After leaving college in 1887, Mr. Madison Grant spent much of his time hunting..."

1

Grant, Madison. "History of the New York Zoological Society", 

Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements note

6 pages. Draft. Some editing marks.

1

Grant, Madison. "History of the New York Zoological Society," by Mr. Madison Grant, 1935 May 

Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements note

Draft. Carbon copy. Begins: "After leaving college in 1887, Mr. Madison Grant spent much of his time hunting..." Lacks final page of anecdote regarding lack of photographs of opening day ceremony at Bronx Zoo.

1

LaFarge, C. Grant. "My recollection of the establishment of the New York Zoological Society…", 1927 May 25 

Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements note

Marked "Copy" on first page.

1

Niles, William White. "In December, 1894, Mr. Andrew H. Green…", 1901 May 14 

1

Niles, William White. "Memorandum of an examination made by me September 5th, 1923, in State Library at Albany with reference to passage of a bill creating the New York Zoological Society.", 

Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements note

3 pages. Begins: "I called on Mr. Skinner the State Librarian..."

1

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip