This is the "Collection 3008" page of the "Ruggieri, George D. New York Aquarium and Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences Director records, 1906-1988" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Ruggieri, George D. New York Aquarium and Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences Director records, 1906-1988  

Last Updated: Dec 15, 2016 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=549235 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 3008 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the records of the New York Aquarium and Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences Director, George D. Ruggieri, 1906-1988 (bulk 1973-1987)

Guide to the Records of New York Aquarium Director and Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences Director George D. Ruggieri 3008

Guide to the Records of New York Aquarium Director and Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences Director George D. Ruggieri
3008

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
Ruggieri, George D.
Collection Number
3008
Title
New York Aquarium. Office of Director. New York Zoological Society. Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences. Office of Director. George D. Ruggieri records
Date
circa 1906-1988 (bulk 1973-1987)
Extent
36.15 linear feet (27 record cartons, 6 Hollinger boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
The collection holds records and personal papers from George D. Ruggieri, S.J., Director of the New York Aquarium [NYA] and of the Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences [OLMS]. Ruggieri began his affiliation with OLMS during his graduate studies in marine biology and joined the staff shortly after his 1962 ordination as a Jesuit Priest. His research concentrated on marine natural products, especially the effects of various metabolites on the reproduction and development of other organisms and their potential uses in the fight against disease. Ruggieri’s NYA recordsdocument the Aquarium’s various departments and showcase its exhibits and animals and its relationships with peer institutions, Brooklyn community and business groups, zoo and conservation organizations, and local politicians. The OLMS records document the scientists who worked at the Labs, their research, the Labs’ funders and fundraising efforts, and its relationship with the departments, administration, and trustees of the New York Zoological Society. Finally, the collection also includes a series of Ruggieri’s personal papers, comprising publicity about Ruggieri and his manuscript and publication files.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Aquarium.
  • New York Zoological Society. Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences.
  • New York Zoological Society.

Personal Name(s)

  • Ruggieri, George D.

Subject(s)

  • Aquarists
  • Aquarium animals
  • Aquatic animals
  • Marine biologists
  • Marine laboratories
  • Marine natural products
  • Public aquariums
  • Public aquariums -- Design and construction

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Certain portions of this collection are subject to access restrictions. Please contact the WCS Archives regarding these restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer, 1982 (Acc. 1982.005)

Internal transfers, 1985 (Acc. 1985.001, 1985.002, 1985.008, 1985.009).

Internal transfers, 1988 (Acc. 1988.003, 1988.004).

Internal transfer, 1996 (Acc. 1996.007).

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Collection processed and finding aid created by Leilani Dawson, 2011-2013.

Related Collections

Collection 3001. New York Aquarium records, circa 1900-1998 (bulk 1960-1990).

Collection 3007. Louis E. Garibaldi records, 1960-1999.

Collection 3011. James A. Oliver New York Aquarium records, 1966-1977 (bulk 1970-1976).

Collection 3021. Myron Gordon records, 1900-1978 (bulk 1940-1958).

Collection 3053. Ross F. Nigrelli records, 1929-1987 (bulk 1945-1980).

Collection 3054. New York Aquarium senior staff records, 1955-1979 (bulk 1964-1979).

Please contact the Wildlife Conservation Society Archives for information on additional holdings related to this collection.

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. George D. Ruggieri records, circa 1906-1988 (bulk 1973-1987). Collection 3008. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Items Separated

One Hollinger box worth of personnel records were removed and set aside for HR review.

Two Hollinger boxes of publications and ephemera from other zoos and aquariums, conservation organizations, and New York City and New York State groups were set aside for potential inclusion in a Zoo History special collection.

The 1980 Planning Committee file was transferred to the Planning Committee collection.

A significant volume of NYZS ephemera was transferred to the Publications-Printed Ephemera collection, as were duplicates of Dinner-Dance programs and other OLMS / NYA event ephemera and the NYA News newsletter for 1975.

Return to Table of Contents »


Biography

George D. Ruggieri began his affiliation with the Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences [OLMS] during his graduate studies in marine biology; he conducted the research for his 1960 PhD thesis at OLMS and joined the staff shortly after his 1962 ordination as a Jesuit Priest. During his early career Ruggieri was also a professor at St. Joseph’s College of Philadelphia, and later had affiliations with various other Catholic universities in the New York City area, including Fordham and St. John’s. Under previous OLMS Director Ross F. Nigrelli, Ruggieri quickly gained increasing responsibilities at OLMS, becoming Coordinator of Research when the Labs joined the Aquarium in Coney Island in 1967, and assuming the OLMS Directorship when Nigrelli retired in 1973. Also in 1973, NYA Director James Oliver named Ruggieri Associate Director of the Aquarium; Ruggieri became NYA Director in turn when Oliver retired in 1976.

Ruggieri’s research concentrated on marine natural products, especially the effects of various metabolites on the reproduction and development of other organisms and their potential uses in the fight against disease. He was a prolific writer, producing scores of academic research papers and popular articles, as well as a book, The Healing Sea. The effect of pollution and other human impacts on marine and coastal creatures and ecosystems was another focus of Ruggieri’s research, and he was a tireless advocate for the wetlands of the New York-New Jersey Bight, especially the Gateway National Recreation Area. In December 1987 Ruggieri passed away after a brief struggle with cancer, a disease that was one of the focuses of the research he shepherded at OLMS.

NYZS Career Chronology
1962 Collaborator, OLMS
1963-1964 Visiting Research Associate, Marine Biochemistry & Ecology, OLMS
1965 Research Associate, Experimental Morphogenesis, OLMS
1966 Research Associate, Experimental Embryology & Teratology, OLMS
1967-1969 Coordinator of Research (and Experimental Embryologist), OLMS
1970-1972 Assistant Director, Experimental Embryologist, and Coordinator of Research, OLMS
1973-1976 Associate Director, NYA
1973-1982 Director and Experimental Embryologist, OLMS
1976-1987 Director, NYA
1982-1987 Director and Experimental Embryologist, Carter Chair of Marine Science, OLMS

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

The collection holds records and personal papers from George D. Ruggieri, S.J., Director of the New York Aquarium [NYA] and of the Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences [OLMS]. For both the Aquarium and the Labs, the primary set of documentation consists of Ruggieri’s annual files of correspondence, administrative records, and ephemera. The NYA annual files document the day-to-day operation of the Aquarium and its departments, as well as the Aquarium’s relations with local politicians and civic groups. The OLMS annual files include records pertaining to the research work of the Labs, as well as to the relationship of the Labs and the Aquarium to their parent organization, the New York Zoological Society [NYZS]. The series for the Aquarium and Labs each also include subject files, and the OLMS series also contains a subseries devoted to the Labs’ researchers and to its annual Dinner-Dances. Finally, the collection includes a series of Ruggieri’s personal papers, comprising publicity about Ruggieri and his manuscript and publication files. Other highlights include documentation on a species of nautilus named after Ruggieri and an angelfish named after NYZS trustee Nixon Griffis, as well as the shooting script and other material pertaining to the TV movie Out of the Darkness, a fictionalized account of Detective Ed Zigo’s role in apprehending the Son of Sam serial killer that featured Hector Elizondo as a character (‘Father George’) based on Ruggieri.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

The collection is arranged in three series, with a total of nine subseries

Series 1
 New York Aquarium records, circa 1906-1908, 1950-1988 (bulk 1974-1987)
(Subseries 1.1)
 1976-1987 Annual files, circa 1906-1908, 1950-1988 (bulk 1976-1987
(Subseries 1.2)
 Subject files, 1964-1987 (bulk 1974-1987)
Series 2
 Osborn Laboratories of Marine Sciences records, 1957-1988 (bulk 1964-1987)
(Subseries 2.1)
 1975-1987 Annual files, 1964-1988 (bulk 1975-1987)
(Subseries 2.2)
 Dinner-Dances, 1981-1987
(Subseries 2.3)
 Personnel files, 1960-1987
(Subseries 2.4)
 Subject files, 1957-1987
Series 3
 George D. Ruggieri papers, 1960-1988
(Subseries 3.1)
 Publicity files, 1966-1987
(Subseries 3.2)
 Manuscripts, speeches, and pre-publication files, 1960-1987
(Subseries 3.3)
 Publications, 1960-1988

Return to Table of Contents »


Other Finding Aids note

The Wildlife Conservation Society Archives holds additional descriptive information pertaining to this collection; please contact the archivist for more detail.

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip