This is the "Collection 4041" page of the "New York Zoological Society International Conservation bluebooks, 1962-1993" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

New York Zoological Society International Conservation bluebooks, 1962-1993  

Last Updated: Dec 16, 2014 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=596843 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 4041 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the New York Zoological Society International Conservation bluebooks

Guide to the New York Zoological Society International Conservation bluebooks 4041

Guide to the New York Zoological Society International Conservation bluebooks
4041

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
New York Zoological Society. Animal Research and Conservation Center.
New York Zoological Society. Conservation Department.
New York Zoological Society. International Conservation Division.
Collection Number
4041
Title
New York Zoological Society. International Conservation bluebooks.
Date
Bulk, 1973-1989
Date
1962-1993
Extent
21.55 linear feet (17 cartons, 2 Hollinger boxes)
Language
English
Abstract
The collection holds of the records of the international programs of the New York Zoological Society (NYZS), with records relating to NYZS sponsorship of field research and wildlife conservation projects carried out from the 1970s to the early 1990s. These grants funded ecological studies of animals and regions, as well as projects promoting wildlife conservation education, conservation legislation, and the creation of protected areas. The bulk of the collection consists of correspondence between NYZS officials and project grantees, administrative records relating to grant approval and funding processes, and the resulting field reports and publications.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Zoological Society. Animal Research and Conservation Center.
  • New York Zoological Society. Conservation Department.
  • New York Zoological Society. International Conservation Division.
  • New York Zoological Society.
  • Wildlife Conservation International (New York Zoological Society).

Personal Name(s)

  • Bernard, Peyton
  • Carr, Archie Fairly, 1945-
  • Clark, Susan G., 1942-
  • King, F. Wayne, (Frederic Wayne), 1936-
  • Lewis, D. M., (Dale M.)
  • Mittermeier, Russell A.
  • Western, David

Subject(s)

  • National parks and reserves
  • Protected areas
  • Scientific expeditions
  • Wildlife conservation
  • Wildlife conservation -- Fieldwork
  • Wildlife conservation -- Law and legislation
  • Wildlife conservation -- Sudan
  • Wildlife management
  • Wildlife research

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer, 1985 (Acc. 1985.007)

Internal transfer, 1987 (Acc. 1987.006)

Internal transfer, 1989 (Acc. 1989.010)

Internal transfers, 1990 (Acc. 1990.001, 1990.009, 1990.010)

Internal transfers, 1991 (Acc. 1991.017, 1991.018)

Internal transfers, 1993 (Acc. 1993.004, 1993.009, 1993.013)

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Finding aid created and collection processed by Alexanne Brown, Pratt Institute Archives Intern. May 2014

Revision Description

Addition processed and finding aid revised by Helen Schubert Fields, Simmons College MS Intern. December 2014.

Related Collections

Collection 4002. International Conservation. North America Program records, circa 1990-2005

Collection 4004. International Conservation. Africa Program records, circa 1973-2004

Collection 4005. International Conservation. Asia Program records, circa 1984-1999

Collection 4006. International Conservation. Latin America & Caribbean Program records, 1982-1998

Collection 4007. International Conservation. Mesoamerica and Caribbean Program records, 1976-2004

Collection 4008. International Conservation. Animal Research and Conservation Center records, 1977-1984

Collection 4012. Michael Klemens records, circa 1977-2006

Collection 4013. International Conservation. Wildlife Conservation International records, circa 1971-1995

Collection 4062. New York Zoological Society Center for Field Biology and Conservation records, 1962-1982 (bulk 1969-1979)

Preferred Citation

[Item, date].  New York Zoological Society. International Conservation bluebooks, 1962-1993. Collection 4041. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Biographical/Historical note

Throughout the 1970s and 1980s, the New York Zoological Society (NYZS) sponsored numerous international wildlife conservation projects. NYZS grants provided aid for hundreds of field researchers and supported conservation efforts in dozens of countries. These projects furthered scientific studies, expanded wildlife conservation awareness, promoted conservation legislation, and aided in the creation of several new parks and reserves.

General Director William Conway led the growth of the Society’s international programs in the 1970s. With the creation of the Center for Field Biology and Conservation, as well as as a separate Conservation Department, the Society expanded its role in global fieldwork and conservation efforts. This work continued when the two units combined to form the Center for Conservation and Wildlife Research (briefly) and the Animal Research and Conservation Center, which later evolved into Wildlife Conservation International and the International Conservation Division. The field grants funded by the Society supplemented work by NYZS staff—with grants usually intended to fund special research projects, or support in a specific conservation goal.

Chronology of conservation units at the Wildlife Conservation Society
1972 - 1979 Center for Field Biology and Conservation
1974 - 1979 Department of Conservation
1979 Center for Conservation and Wildlife Research
1979 - 1984 Animal Research and Conservation Center
1984 - 1992 Wildlife Conservation International
1992 - 1997 International Conservation

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

The collection holds records of the international programs of the New York Zoological Society (NYZS). (The records are also referred to internally as the “bluebook” records because the files were originally kept in blue folders). Most records relate to grant funding for wildlife conservation and management fieldwork, with projects including animal population surveys, studies of the ecology or behavior of specific species, or analysis of wildlife management in a particular region. Several projects also involve the creation of national parks or wildlife reserves, the promotion of conservation legislation, or education about conservation or wildlife management. A small number of grants involve funding for publications or academic support. Records were created between 1962 and 1993, with the majority of records created between 1973 and 1989.

Correspondence between NYZS staff and field researchers makes up much of collection. The primary NYZS correspondents include Archie Carr III, Mary Pearl, William Conway, and F. Wayne King. Topics include grant enquiries, status updates from the field, and general conservation discussion. Internal correspondence between NYZS staff members includes deliberations on grant proposals and discussions about the work of various researchers and their relationships to NYZS.

Administrative records include grant proposals (generally containing project descriptions, examples of previous research, curriculum vitas, and projected budgets), NYZS Conservation Committee grant assessments, NYSZ grant contracts, expenditure lists, and collections of receipts for expenses. Education and conservation awareness projects often include ephemera, or drafts for ephemera. Progress or final reports submitted by grantees include written descriptions of the work completed and analysis of findings, often supplemented with data tables, charts and images (either illustrations or photographs). Copies of academic or general interests publications resulting from NYZS-sponsored research are often included as well. Some folders contain architectural sketches, usually conveying plans for field research facilities.

The geographical scope of the materials is extensive, with an emphasis on projects in East Africa, Southeast and East Asia and Central and South America. Within Africa, the countries Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Sudan, and Mauritius are heavily represented—especially in the Tana River, Kibale Forest and Amboseli National Park areas. Elsewhere, Costa Rica, Peru, India and Thailand are prominently featured or frequently included as research locations. North American projects focus on mountain or coastal regions. The research projects report on diverse species, with a large proportion of projects devoted to primates, large mammals (especially elephants, rhinoceroses, and bears), birds, and reptiles (especially turtles and crocodiles). Most materials are written in English, with the most common exceptions being Spanish-language items.

Several files are devoted to David Western’s conservation work in East Africa, including work with the African Elephant and Rhino Specialist Group and Amboseli National Park. Other prominent research projects include Dale Lewis’s conservation development projects and elephant research in Zambia; Russell A. Mittermeier’s research and conservation efforts involving primates in Central and South America; Bernard Peyton’s research on the spectacled bear in South America; Tim Clark’s research on the black-footed ferret in the Rocky Mountain region of the United States; and Thomas T. Struhsaker’s primate research and forest conservation work in Uganda. Materials also relate to the Gombe Stream Research Centre, involving primate research by Jane Goodall and Derek Bryceson; elephant conservation studies in Africa by Iain Douglas-Hamilton; and several conservation efforts in Sudan, involving researchers John Fryxell, A. R. E. Sinclair, Jesse Chris Hillman, and Alison Karen Kesenyonye Hillman.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

The collection is in one series. The collection is arranged alphabetically (primarily by last name, with some folders by project name or subject). Box 19 was added at a later date and is alphabetized separately from the rest of the collection.

Return to Table of Contents »


Other Finding Aids note

The Wildlife Conservation Society Archives holds additional descriptive information pertaining to this collection; please contact the archivist for more detail.

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip