This is the "Collection 1006" page of the "Anable, Gloria Hollister. NYZS Department of Tropical Research Associate papers, 1914-1988 (bulk 1926-1947)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Anable, Gloria Hollister. NYZS Department of Tropical Research Associate papers, 1914-1988 (bulk 1926-1947)  

Last Updated: Jun 7, 2016 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=625196 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 1006 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the papers of the NYZS Department of Tropical Research Associate, Gloria Hollister Anable, 1914-2005 (bulk 1926-1947)

Guide to the New York Zoological Society Department of Tropical Research Research Associate Gloria Hollister Anable papers 1006

Guide to the papers of the NYZS Department of Tropical Research Associate, Gloria Hollister Anable, 1914-2005 (Bulk 1926-1947)
1006

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
Anable, Gloria Hollister
Collection Number
1006
Title
New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research. Research Associate. Gloria Hollister Anable papers
Date
Bulk, 1926-1947
Date
1914-2005
Extent
1.2 linear feet (3 Hollinger boxes, 2 glass slide / negative boxes, 3 photo binder boxes, 1 flat box)
Language
English
Abstract
Gloria Hollister Anable, nee Gloria Hollister, was a naturalist and ichthyologist who, from 1928-1941, was employed as a Research Associate under Dr. William Beebe in the New York Zoological Society’s Department of Tropical Research. As a Research Assistant, she specialized in preparing ichthyological specimens, and she developed a new technique for preparing fish specimens in which the skin and internal organs of the fish were made transparent, rendering their skeletons far more useful for study than under previous methods. Hollister’s collection includes black and white photographs and negatives; glass lantern slides; correspondence; journals; lecture, research, and motion picture notes; and specimen lists relating to her expeditions, particularly her 1926 expedition to British Guiana (now Guyana) and Arima Gorge in Trinidad and her 1936 expedition to Kaieteur Falls and Plateau in Guyana. In addition, this collection includes material on an unrealized expedition to Iceland, articles relating to Beebe and Hollister’s work with the Bathysphere, correspondence, biographical material about Hollister, and newspaper clippings concerning her professional affiliations, conservation work, and personal interests. 

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Zoological Society. Department of Tropical Research.
  • New York Zoological Society.

Personal Name(s)

  • Anable, Gloria Hollister
  • Beebe, William, 1877-1962

Subject(s)

  • Bathysphere
  • Ichthyologists
  • Scientific expeditions -- Bermuda Islands
  • Scientific expeditions -- Guyana
  • Scientific expeditions -- Trinidad

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Gift, 1981 (Acc. 1981.228)

Gift, 1987 (Acc. 1987.003)

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Partial processing and original finding aid by Jill Yael Milhorat, MLIS student, Long Island University, May 2005.

Revision Description

Additional finding aid updates by Madeleine Thompson, July 2011. Further processing and finding aid revisions by Kristen Moore, MLIS intern, August 2014.

Related Collections

Collection 1005 A-J. Department of Tropical Research records, 1900-1971.

Collection 1016. Department of Tropical Research additional records, 1900-1971.

Also see:

The Papers of Gloria Hollister Anable, 1916-2003. Manuscript Division, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.

The Society of Women Geographers Oral History Project, at http://www.iswg.org/vignettes

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Gloria Hollister Anable papers, 1914-2005 (bulk 1926-1947). Collection 1006. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Items Separated

A file of duplicate materials was transferred to the subject files at the Wildlife Conservation Society Library.

Other Finding Aids

The Wildlife Conservation Society Archives holds additional descriptive information pertaining to this collection; please contact the archivist for more detail.

Return to Table of Contents »


Biographical Note

Gloria Hollister developed an interest in zoology and conservation at an early age due to working alongside her father at the family farm during her childhood summers. In 1926, she was selected to head an expedition in British Guiana (now Guyana) and Trinidad. In 1928, she applied for and was given the position of research associate with Dr. William Beebe of the Department of Tropical Research [DTR] at the New York Zoological Society [NYZS]. Hollister took part in several expeditions with the DTR: the West Indies Oceanographic Expedition from 1932 until 1933; the Pearl Islands Oceanographic Expedition in 1934; a 1936 expedition to Guyana; and the Bermuda Oceanographic Expedition from 1928 to 1940. During the Bermuda expedition Beebe granted Hollister the chance to make several dives in the Bathysphere, including a 1934 descent to 1,208 feet that set the record for the farthest underwater descent made by a woman; an accomplishment that would stand for thirty years.

In April 1936, Hollister led an expedition to Guyana to study the flora and fauna that grew near the Kaieteur Plateau and Falls, and to collect live animal specimens for the New York Zoological Park (now known as the Bronx Zoo). Hollister’s team discovered several species, including the golden frog and the hoatzin, also called the Canje pheasant. She hired Arthur Williams to take her and the expedition’s cameraman, Arthur Menken, up in his airplane to make an aerial survey and motion picture capture of the surrounding jungle. During this flight, Hollister and Menken recorded 43 waterfalls that had previously been known only to local natives.

In 1939, Hollister was nominated by NYZS for a scholarship sponsored by the Icelandic Zoological Society to study that country’s fish and the fishing industry during the summer of 1940. Unfortunately this expedition was cancelled due to the outbreak of World War II, naval warfare having made travel to neutral Iceland impossible. In 1952 Hollister spearheaded the Mianus Gorge Project, and chaired the Mianus River Gorge Conservation Committee of the Nature Conservancy. She died on February 19, 1988 in Fairfield, Connecticut.



Return to Table of Contents »

Scope and Content

This collection contains the records, photographs and papers of Gloria Hollister Anable, Research Associate in the Department of Tropical Research (DTR) of the New York Zoological Society (NYZS). Most of the collection consists of photographs, glass slides and negatives, the bulk of which concern the DTR’s 1936 expedition to British Guiana (now Guyana), led by Hollister. The photographs document topics such as the discoveries of the golden frog and the hoatzin, animal specimens retrieved, and waterfalls encountered along the way, particularly Kaieteur Falls and two that Hollister wished to call the Princess Elizabeth Fall and the King Edward VIII Fall. (However, the Colonial Secretary’s Office of British Guiana believed these falls had been discovered and named prior to Hollister’s encounters with them.) Other photographs highlight the 1926 expedition to Guyana and Trinidad, during which Hollister collected a guácharo; additional negatives thought to originate from Dr. William Beebe.

Hollister’s non-photographic materials are divided between records relating to her professional work and her personal papers. The focus is also mainly on the 1936 Guyana trip, which is documented by journals, correspondence, contracts, finances, specimen lists, newspaper clippings, ephemera, lecture notes, and movie scripts. Also included are the journals from the 1926 Guyana expedition; correspondence and ephemera pertaining to a baby tarpon expedition; and research notes, scholarship proposal draft, ephemera, and correspondence regarding the failed Icelandic Expedition. Finally, the collection also contains newspaper clippings and correspondence concerning Hollister’s hobbies and her personal and professional acquaintances, including William Beebe, the Society of Women Geographers, and the Mianus River Gorge Conservation Committee of the Nature Conservancy.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in five series:

Series 1
 Expedition records, 1926-1946 (bulk 1936-1937)
Subseries 1A
 British Guiana, 1926-1939 (bulk 1926)
Subseries 1B
 Baby tarpon, 1936-1946 (bulk 1936)
Subseries 1C
 British Guiana, 1936-1943 (bulk 1936-1937)
Series 2
 Correspondence and clippings, 1928-1986 (bulk 1933-1947)
Subseries 2A
 General subjects, 1929-1986 (bulk 1930-1940)
Subseries 2B
 Iceland 1928-1947 (bulk 1939-1947)
Series 3
 Personal papers, circa 1925-1988 (bulk 1930-1945)
Series 4
 Photographic materials, circa 1916-1930s (bulk 1926-1936)
Subseries 4A
 British Guiana expeditions, circa 1916-1930s (bulk 1926-1936)
Subseries 4B
 Assorted expeditions, 1920s-1930s (bulk 1925-1936)
Subseries 4C
 Negatives, circa 1926-1930s (bulk 1931-1936)
Series 5
 Ephemera and clippings, 1914-2005 (bulk 1930-1936)

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Expedition records, 1926-1946  (Bulk, 1936-1937)

Subseries a: British Guiana -- 1926, 1926-1939  (Bulk, 1926)

Catalogs, 1926 


Box Folder
Text 1 1

Journal, 1926 February 26-April 26 


Box Folder
Mixed materials 1 2

Notebooks, 1926 February 25-July 28 


Box Folder
Text 1 3

Specimen preparation records, circa 1935, 1939 


Box Folder
Text 1 4

Subseries b: Baby tarpon, 1936-1946  (Bulk, 1936)

Correspondence and maps, 1936-1946  (Bulk, 1936)


Box Folder
Mixed materials 1 5

Subseries c: British Guiana -- 1936, 1936-1943  (Bulk, 1936-1937)

Journal, 1936 April 6-29 


Box Folder
Mixed materials 1 6

Notebook, 1936 April 2-30 


Box Folder
Text 1 7

Motion picture annotations and newspaper clippings, 1936-1937 


Box Folder
Text 1 8

Princess Elizabeth Falls -- Expenses and correspondence, 1936-1943  (Bulk, 1936-1937)


Box Folder
Mixed materials 1 9

Still and motion picture contracts, finances, and correspondence, 1936 March-October 


Box Folder
Text 1 10

Expedition bid correspondence, 1936-1938 


Box Folder
Text 1 11

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Correspondence and clippings, 1928-1986  (Bulk, 1933-1947)

Subseries a: General subjects, 1929-1986  (Bulk, 1932-1940)

Anchor earrings -- Correspondence, 1932-1935  (Bulk, 1934-1935)


Box Folder
Text 2 1

Lectures -- Clippings and correspondence, 1937-1940 


Box Folder
Mixed materials 2 2

William Beebe correspondence, 1937-1938 


Box Folder
Text 2 3

Society of Women Geographers, 1930-1937  (Bulk, 1933-1935)


Box Folder
Text 2 4

New York Zoological Society correspondence, 1929, 1966-1971 


Box Folder
Text 2 5

Bathysphere, 1929-1949  (Bulk, 1934)


Box Folder
Text 2 7

Subseries b: Iceland, 1928-1947  (Bulk, 1939-1947)

General, 1928-1947  (Bulk, 1940-1947)


Box Folder
Mixed materials 2 8

Scandinavian Foundation --Application and correspondence, 1931-1947  (Bulk, 1946-1947)


Box Folder
Text 2 9

Scholarship research matter and correspondence, 1932-1947  (Bulk, 1939-1940)


Box Folder
Text 2 10

Important letters and addresses, 1939 


Box Folder
Text 2 11

Bibliography, 1931-1947 


Box Folder
Text 2 12

Hyndman correspondence, steamship schedules, circa 1931-1935 


Box Folder
Mixed materials 2 13

Fishes of Iceland, circa 1945 


Box Folder
Text 2 14

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 3: Personal papers, circa 1925-1988 (bulk 1930-1945) 

Biographical information, 1936-1988  (Bulk, 1958-1986)


Box Folder
Mixed materials 3 1

Clippings on friends, 1936-1962  (Bulk, 1936-1940)


Box Folder
Mixed materials 3 2

Manuscripts and typescripts -- Other authors, circa 1925-1937 


Box Folder
Text 3 3

"The fabulous new world 4,000 feet under the sea" typescript, 1961 October 


Box Folder
Text 3 4

Newspaper clippings, circa 1929-1936 


Box Folder
Text 3 5

Newspaper clippings and other materials, circa 1937-1949, 1978 (bulk 1937-1940) 


Box Folder
Mixed materials 3 6

British Guiana newspapers, 1945 July 4-27 


Box Folder
Text 3 7

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 4: Photographic materials, circa 1916-1930s (bulk 1926-1936) 

Subseries a: British Guiana expeditions, circa 1916-1930s (bulk 1926-1936) 

Sailing photographs, circa 1926-1936 


Flat-box Folder
Graphic materials 4 1

Island visits, circa 1936 


Flat-box Folder
Graphic materials 4 2

Guacharo -- Trinidad, circa 1936 


Flat-box Folder
Graphic materials 4 3

Georgetown, Barbica, circa 1930s 


Flat-box Folder
Graphic materials 4 4

Kartabo, Garraway and Potaro, 1936 


Flat-box Folder
Graphic materials 4 5

Kaieteur Fall and Plateau, 1936 


Flat-box Folder
Graphic materials 4 6

Animal specimens, circa 1920s-1936 


Flat-box Folder
Graphic materials 5 1

British Guiana Indians, circa 1936 


Flat-box Folder
Graphic materials 5 2

Personal photographs, circa 1916-1930s 


Flat-box Folder
Graphic materials 5 3

5 x 7 Negatives -- Personal, circa 1926-1930s 


Flat-box Folder
Graphic materials 5 4

British Guiana negatives 5 x 7, circa 1926-1936 


Flat-box Folder
Graphic materials 9 2

Subseries b: Assorted Expeditions, 1920s-1930s (bulk 1925-1936) 

British Guiana, circa 1930s (bulk 1936) 


Flat-box Folder
Graphic materials 6 1

Assorted photographs and negatives, circa 1920s (bulk 1925-1926) 


Flat-box Folder
Mixed materials 6 2

Subseries c: Negatives, circa 1926-1930s 

Box

Glass lantern slides -- British Guiana expedition, 1936 

7

Glass lantern slides and negatives -- Assorted, circa 1926-1936 

8

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 5: Ephemera and clippings, 1914-2005 (bulk 1930-1936) 

Block prints, circa 1930s 


Flat-box Folder
Graphic materials 9 1

Annotated photograph and negative folders -- Preliminary processing, circa 1980s-2005 


Flat-box Folder
Mixed materials 9 3

Annotated photograph and negative folders -- Originals, circa 1920s-1930s 


Flat-box Folder
Mixed materials 9 4

"British Guiana; Memories", 1914 


Flat-box Folder
Text 9 5

Cloth map of British Guiana, circa 1924 


Flat-box Folder
Map 9 6

Kodak box lid, circa 1930s 


Flat-box Folder
Mixed materials 9 7

Newspaper clipping of Beebe and team, circa 1931 


Flat-box Folder
Text 9 8

Clippings -- Belle Baruch -- Horses, circa 1930s-1960s (bulk 1930-1933) 


Flat-box Folder
Text 9 9

Clippings from Country Life -- Gardening, 1932 


Flat-box Folder
Text 9 10

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip