This is the "Collection 4062" page of the "New York Zoological Society Center for Field Biology and Conservation records, 1962-1982 (bulk 1969-1979)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

New York Zoological Society Center for Field Biology and Conservation records, 1962-1982 (bulk 1969-1979)  

Last Updated: Dec 4, 2014 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=640883 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 4062 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the records of the Center for Field Biology and Conservation, 1962-1982 (bulk 1969-1979)

Guide to the records of the Center for Field Biology and Conservation, 1962-1982 (bulk 1969-1979) 4062

Guide to the records of the Center for Field Biology and Conservation, 1962-1982 (bulk 1969-1979)
4062

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
New York Zoological Society. Center for Field Biology and Conservation.
Collection Number
4062
Title
New York Zoological Society. Center for Field Biology and Conservation records
Date
Bulk, 1969-1979
Date
1962-1982
Extent
2.9 linear feet (2 cartons, 1 Hollinger box, 1 flat-box)
Language
English
Abstract
Collection contains records produced by the Center for Field Biology and Conservation, a department of the New York Zoological Society, as well as some records produced by its predecessor institution, the Institute for Animal Research and Behavior. From 1972 to 1979, the Center was responsible for managing the field research and conservation activities of staff researchers Roger Payne, George Schaller, and Thomas Struhsaker and their assistants. The collection includes records concerning Payne’s research on whales in Patagonia, Bermuda, Hawaii, and Alaska, Struhsaker’s research on primates in the Kibale Forest and northern Columbia, and Schaller’s research on jaguars in Brazil and snow leopards in Pakistan and Nepal, as well as other large mammals in both regions.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • Kibale Forest Reserve (Uganda)
  • New York Zoological Society. Center for Field Biology and Conservation.
  • New York Zoological Society.

Personal Name(s)

  • Payne, Roger, 1935-
  • Schaller, George B.
  • Struhsaker, Thomas T.

Subject(s)

  • Mammals -- Research
  • Primates -- Africa
  • Scientific expeditions
  • Whale sounds
  • Whales
  • Wildlife conservation
  • Wildlife conservation -- Fieldwork
  • Wildlife conservationists
  • Wildlife research

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Select items in this collection are restricted. Please contact the WCS Archives for more information.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer, 1980 (Acc. 1980.163)

Internal transfer, 1998 (Acc. 1998.011)

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Collection processed and finding aid created by Helen Schubert Fields, Simmons College MS Intern, October 2014.

Related Collections

Collection 1028. William G. Conway records, circa 1900-2004 (bulk 1960-2003).

Collection 4008. New York Zoological Society Animal Research and Conservation Center records, 1977-1984.

Collection 4041. New York Zoological Society International Conservation bluebooks, 1962-1993.

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Center for Field Biology and Conservation Records, circa 1962-1982. Collection 4062. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Items Separated

A file of personnel records has been set aside for H.R. review.

Return to Table of Contents »


Historical & Biographical Note

The New York Zoological Society (NYZS) established the Center for Field Biology and Conservation (CFBC) in 1972. It succeeded the Institute for Research in Animal Behavior (IRAB), which opened in 1966, absorbing the Department of Tropical Research. A joint effort between the New York Zoological Society and Rockefeller University, the Institute included both field researchers (expeditionary field studies) and lab scientists (experimentally-oriented studies). The IRAB was the first non-governmental organization to employ a full-time field staff conducting long-term research. Chief field and behavioral studies conducted under the auspices of the Institute included George Schaller’s studies of lions in the Serengeti, Thomas Struhsaker’s studies of primates in West Africa, and Roger Payne’s studies of whales. The growth of NYZS’s international wildlife conservation programs, which included IRAB, NYZS, and their later incarnations, was facilitated by William Conway, who became General Director of NYZS in 1966 while continuing to serve as Director of the Bronx Zoo. In 1972, IRAB was discontinued. The experimentally-oriented component remained administered by Rockefeller University, while the Center for Field Biology and Conservation, focusing on field research and wildlife conservation worldwide, was established as a department of NYZS, with George Schaller as Coordinator. Struhsaker and Payne continued their work with primates and whales, respectively, while Schaller studied several mammals in Asia and South America. In 1978, both Schaller and Payne were awarded the Knight of the Golden Ark, given by Prince Bernhard of the Netherlands. In 1979, the Center was merged with the Department of Conservation (formed in 1973 to manage conservation grants to non-staff scientists) to form a new department, which by 1980 was named the Animal Research and Conservation Center. George Schaller became Director of Conservation, while Thomas Struhsaker and Roger Payne continued their research under the auspices of the new department In 1985, the department was renamed Wildlife Conservation International. By 1992, Conservation had become a full-fledged division of NYZS, named International Conservation until 2007, when the name was changed to Global Conservation.

Roger Payne was born January 29, 1935 and studied at Harvard and Cornell Universities. He was an assistant professor of Biology at Rockefeller University and a research zoologist at the New York Zoological Society. After an early period studying bat echolocation and owl auditory localization, he became best known for the discovery of humpback whale song, a recording of which was released by Capitol Records. He also studied other aspects of humpback whale and right whale physiology and behavior in Bermuda, Hawaii, Argentina, Alaska, and Baja California and was involved in efforts to stop commercial whaling and establish whale sanctuaries. The Whale Fund was established in 1969 to promote his work and whale conservation. Payne’s wife, Katherine Payne, worked alongside and co-authored publications with him. His work was profiled in the 1975 television special, Magnificent Monsters of the Deep.

George Schaller, Coordinator of the Center and later Director of Conservation, was born in Berlin in 1933 and moved to the United States as a teen, where he studied at the University of Alaska and the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He joined the New York Zoological Society in 1966. His diverse research interests included mountain gorillas in Central Africa, lions in the Serengeti, blue sheep in the Himalayas, snow leopards in Pakistan and Nepal, marsh deer and jaguars in Brazil, pandas in China, and wildlife surveys in Tibet, Vietnam, Mongolia, Myanmar, and Laos. His books include The Serengeti Lion: A Study of Predator-Prey Relations (winner of the 1973 National Book Award for Sciences), Serengeti: A Kingdom of Predators in 1972, Mountain Monarchs: Wild Sheep and Goats of the Himalayas in 1977, and The Last Panda in 1992. Dr. Schaller’s efforts in panda conservation were documented in the National Geographic Society film Save the Panda in 1983.

Thomas Struhsaker received his Ph.D. in Zoology from the University of California, Berkeley. He specializes in primate ecology and tropical rain forest ecology. He began studying primates in East Africa in 1962, before establishing a permanent research station in Kibale Forest, Uganda in 1970, where he studied primates (including five species of colobus and mangabey monkeys) through the mid-1980s. He published The Red Colobus Monkey in 1975. He also studied primate behavior in Zanzibar and Colombia and coordinated field work in the rain forests of Kenya and Cameroon. His research helped spur the establishment of a nature reserve in the Kibale Forest Government Reserve by the Ugandan Forest Department in 1980. Kibale Forest Station was transferred to Makerere University in 1987, with Struhsaker remaining as an advisor to the station. In the 1990s, Dr. Struhsaker joined the Evolutionary Anthropology department at Duke University, studying red colobus monkeys in Tanzania.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

The records of the Center for Field Biology and Conservation document the operation of the center from the New York Zoological Society’s New York headquarters, as well as research conducted internationally by George Schaller (coordinator of the Center), Thomas Struhsaker, and Roger Payne. Files include financial records, internal memos, external correspondence, grant proposals, research reports, and published articles. The Payne and Struhsaker series contain some material created prior to 1972, under the auspices of the Institute for Research in Animal Behavior. In addition to the three principal researchers, the collection also includes records authored by research assistants and other field biologists employed by the Center. With the exception of the last subseries in the Roger Payne series (a binder put together by Payne himself in 1982 to document his research and accessioned separately by the Archives), the records in this collection were maintained by Center administrator Allegra Hamer.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in four series:

Series 1
 General administration, 1970-1979
Subseries 1a
 Correspondence, 1970-1978
Subseries 1b
 Facilities, circa 1970s
Subseries 1c
 Financial records, 1971-1979
Subseries 1d
 Personnel, circa 1970s
Subseries 1e
 Publications, circa 1970s
Series 2
 Roger Payne, 1962-1982
Subseries 2a
 Correspondence, 1972-1973, 1975-1978
Subseries 2b
 Financial records, 1970-1975, 1979
Subseries 2c
 Funding, 1971-1972, 1975-1978
Subseries 2d
 Personnel, circa 1979
Subseries 2e
 Writings, 1968-1982
Subseries 2f
 Survey of work by R. Payne 1972-1982, 1962-1982
Series 3
 George Schaller, 1974-1979
Subseries 3a
 Correspondence, 1976-1978
Subseries 3b
 Financial records, 1976-1979
Subseries 3c
 Funding, 1975-1979
Subseries 3d
 Personnel, 1974, 1976-1978
Subseries 3e
 Writings, circa 1970s
Series 4
 Thomas Struhsaker, 1969-1979
Subseries 4a
 Correspondence, 1970-1979
Subseries 4b
 Financial records, 1969-1979
Subseries 4c
 Funding, 1969, 1972-1979
Subseries 4d
 Personnel, 1975-1979
Subseries 4e
 Writings, circa 1974, 1977
Subseries 4f
 Writings by others, 1969-1977

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: General administration, 1970-1979 

Scope and Content

This series includes records related to the operation of the Center as a whole, or to more than one individual researcher. It includes correspondence to and from George Schaller in his capacity as Coordinator; correspondence concerning his research projects can be found in Series 3.

Subseries a: Correspondence, 1970-1978 

General correspondence, 1970-1977  (Bulk, 1974)


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 1

Conservation issues, 1973-1974, 1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 2

Equipment -- Kreeger & Sons, 1976-1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 3

Subseries b: Facilities, circa 1970s 

Floor plan, 


Carton Folder
Graphic materials (00003944) 1 4

Vehicle records, 1973-1978 


Carton Folder
Mixed materials (00003944) 1 5

Subseries c: Financial records, 1971-1979 

Center budget, 1972-1975 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 6

Center budget, 1972-1976 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 7

Center budget, 1978   (2 folders)


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 8-9

Insurance, 1971-1979 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 10

Subseries d: Personnel, circa 1970s 

Staff curricula vitae, circa 1970s 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 11

Arturo Tarak, 1973-1975 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 12

Subseries e: Publications, circa 1970s 

"The Center for Field Biology and Conservation," Animal Kingdom, 1972 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 13

NYZS report on support for the Center of Field Biology and Conservation, circa 1976 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 14

Annual report for NYZS International Wildlife Conservation Program for 1978, circa 1979 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 15

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Roger Payne, 1962-1982  (Bulk, 1970-1982)

Scope and Content

This series includes records pertaining to the financing, operations, and findings of Roger Payne’s and his team’s research on Humpback and Right Whales in Bermuda, Alaska, Argentina, Hawaii, and Baja California. The correspondence subseries includes memos related to financial records. Writings by Dr. Payne can be found in both the writings subseries (which also includes a large quantity of research material for unpublished appendices to the Whale Fund Manual) and the “survey of work” subseries. This last subseries consists of a binder of materials prepared by Roger Payne in 1982. It features an updated version of “Whale research and conservation: A ten year history 1968-1978” and a bibliography section including copies of selected publications from 1962-1971 and all publications from 1972-1982. It includes a copy of the National Geographic sound sheet Songs of the Humpback Whale, published January 1979.

Subseries a: Correspondence, 1972-1973, 1975-1978 

Correspondence and memos, 1972, 1975-1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 16

Correspondence and memos, 1973, 1975-1976, 1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 17

Correspondence and memos, 1977-1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 18

Subseries b: Financial Records, 1970-1975, 1979 

Whale fund, 1970-1975 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 19

Whale research budget, 1979 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 20

Subseries c: Funding, 1971-1972, 1975-1978 

Donor correspondence, 1977-1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 21

Marine Mammal Commission grant, 1975-1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 22

National Geographic Society, 1971-1972 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 23

Other grants, 1976-1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 24

Subseries d: Personnel, circa 1979 

Research reports, 1979 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 25

Resumes, circa 1979 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 26

Subseries e: Writings, 1968-1982 

Articles and lectures, 1968, 1971, 1977-1979 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 27

Communication and Behavior of Whales chapters, Ed. Payne, circa 1982 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 28

Proposed designation of a dual marine sanctuary for humpback whales in Hawaii and Alaska, 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 29

Research reports, circa late 1970s 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 30

Whale Fund Manual, 1972 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 31

Whale Fund Manual -- Correspondence, 1970-1971 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 32

Whale Fund Manual -- Drafts, circa 1971   (5 folders)


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 33-37

Whale Fund Manual -- Drafts -- Map, circa 1971 


Carton Folder
Graphic Materials (00003946) 3 1

Whale Fund Manual -- Drafts -- Appendix D, circa 1971 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 38

Whale Fund Manual -- Drafts -- Appendices (Used & Unused), circa 1970-1971 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 39

Whale Fund Manual -- Drafts -- Possible Appendix (Unused), 1971 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 40

Whale Fund Manual -- Drafts -- Unused Appendices, Compiled 1971   (15 folders)


Carton Folder
Mixed Materials (00003944) 1 41-55

Whale research and conservation: A ten year history 1968-1978, 1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 56

Subseries f: Survey of work by R. Payne 1972-1982, 1962-1982  (Bulk, 1972-1982)

Contributions 1972 to present -- Research, 1982 


Flat-box Folder
Text (00003947) 2 1

Contributions 1972 to present -- Public education, 1982 


Flat-box Folder
Text (00003947) 2 2

Contributions 1972 to present -- Conservation, 1982 


Flat-box Folder
Text (00003947) 2 3

R. Payne bibliography and publications, 1962-1982  (Bulk, 1972-1982)


Flat-box Folder
Mixed Materials (00003947) 2 4

Selected papers from Communication and Behavior of Whales, Ed. R. Payne, 1982 


Flat-box Folder
Text (00003947) 2 5

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 3: George Schaller, circa 1974-1979 

Scope and Content

This series includes records pertaining the financing, operations, and findings of George Schaller’s research on jaguars in Brazil and the maned wolf and marsh deer in Argentina and Paraguay, as well as writings on his research on snow leopards in Pakistan and Nepal and large mammals in Brazil, Père David’s deer and yak in East Asia, and Marco Polo sheep and markor in Pakistan. Correspondence to and from Dr. Schaller in his capacity as Center Coordinator can be found in Series 1.

Subseries a: Correspondence, 1976-1978 

Brazil research equipment, 1976-1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 57

General correspondence, 1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 56

Subseries b: Financial records, 1976-1979 

Center budget, 1976, 1978-1979 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 58

Jaguar account, 1977-1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 59

Subseries c: Funding, 1975-1979 

Explorers' Club grant for jaguar study in Brazil, 1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 60

National Science Foundation grant for jaguar study in Brazil, 1976-1979 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 61

World Wildlife Fund for maned wolf and marsh deer study in Argentina and Paraguay, 1975 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 62

Subseries d: Personnel, 1974, 1976-1978 

Andrew Laurie, 1974, 1976-1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 63

Mark Lenarz, 1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 64

Subseries e: Writings, circa 1970s 

Reports on Brazil research (unpublished), circa late 1970s 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 65

Reports on miscellaneous research (unpublished), circa 1970s 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 66

Reports on Pakistan research (unpublished), 1974-1975 


Carton Folder
Text (00003944) 1 67

Snow leopard manuscript draft,   (6 folders)


Box Folder
Text (00003946) 3 2-7

Snow leopard manuscript draft -- Maps, tables, and diagrams, 


Box Folder
Text (00003946) 3 8

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 4: Thomas Struhsaker, 1969-1979 

Scope and Content

This series includes records pertaining to the financing, operations, and findings of Thomas Struhsaker’s research on primates (specifically five species of monkey, including the red colobus and redtail monkey) in the Kibale Forest, Uganda, as well as writings on his study of primates in northern Columbia and rain forest conservation. It includes records concerning the receipt and administration of significant grants from the NIH (specifically the National Institute of Mental Health) and the National Science Foundation. Of particular interest in the funding subseries is a set of correspondence with Assistant Secretary of State Patsy Mink in 1978 concerning conditions in Uganda. The series also contains a substantial quantity of writings by others working in the Kibale Forest, including several of Dr. Struhsaker’s assistants.

Subseries a: Correspondence, 1970-1979 

Correspondence, 1970-1972 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 1

Correspondence, 1973-1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 2

Correspondence, 1977-1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 3

Correspondence, 1978-1979 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 4

Subseries b: Financial records, 1969-1979 

Center budget, 1969-1975 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 5

Center budget, 1976-1977   (2 folders)


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 6-7

Center budget, 1977-1978   (2 folders)


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 8-9

Center budget, 1978-1979 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 10

NIH grant, 1972-1973 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 11

NIH grant, 1974-1975   (2 folders)


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 12-13

NIH grant, 1975-1976 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 14

NIH grant, 1976-1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 15

National Science Foundation grant, 1969-1974 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 16

National Science Foundation grant, 1969-1972 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 17

National Science Foundation grant, 1972-1973 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 18

Subseries c: Funding, 1969, 1972-1978 

NIH grant, 1972-1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 19

NIH grant, 1977-1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 20

National Science Foundation grant, 1969, 1972 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 21

Other grants, 1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 22

Pan American Health Organization, 1974 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 23

Subseries d: Personnel, 1975-1979 

Michael Ghiglieri -- Financial, 1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 24

John Sidle -- Correspondence, 1977-1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 25

Simon Wallis -- Financial, 1975-1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 26

Simon Wallis -- Correspondence, 1979 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 27

Subseries e: Writings, circa 1974, 1977 

List of Kibale Forest publications by Struhsaker and others, 1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 28

Status reports, 1977-1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 29

Survey of primates and their habitats in northern Columbia, circa 1974 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 30

Survey of primates of Cabaña El Duda, Colombia, 1974 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 31

Bioeconomic reasons for conserving tropical rainforests, 1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 32

Comparison of the behaviour and ecology of the red colobus and redtail monkeys in the Kibale Forest, circa 1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 33

Food habits of five monkey species in the Kibale Forest, circa 1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 34

Infanticide and social organization of the redtail monkey, 1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 35

Socioecology of five sympatric monkey species in the Kibale Forest, 1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 36

Subseries f: Writings by others, 1969-1977 

William Freeland -- Progress reports, 1974-1975 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 37

William Freeland -- Dissertation, 1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 38

J.S. Gartlan, 1973 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 39

Michael Ghiglieri -- Progress reports, 1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 40

Katherine Homewood, circa 1974 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 41

Clive Marsh -- Progress reports, 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 42

Doyle McKey -- Progress reports and publications, circa 1974-1975 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 43

John F. Oates, 1969, 1971, 1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 44

Rasanayagam Rudran -- Progress reports and publications, circa 1973-1974, 1978 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 45

Charles Southwick -- Research proposal, 1976 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 46

Simon Wallis -- Progress reports, 1976-1977 


Carton Folder
Text (00003945) 4 47

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip