This is the "Collection 2069" page of the "Davall, Grace. NYZS Departments of Birds and Mammals Assistant Curator records, 1938-1973 " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
wcsbanner wcs

Davall, Grace. NYZS Departments of Birds and Mammals Assistant Curator records, 1938-1973  

Last Updated: Apr 1, 2016 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=644724 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Collection 2069 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide to the Records of Departments of Birds and Mammals Assistant Curator Grace Davall, 1938-1973

Guide to the Records of Birds and Mammals Departments Assistant Curator Grace Davall, 1938-1973 2069

Guide to the Records of Birds and Mammals Departments Assistant Curator Grace Davall, 1938-1973
2069

Collection Overview

Repository
Wildlife Conservation Society Archives
Creator
Davall, Grace
Collection Number
2069
Title
New York Zoological Society. Departments of Birds and Mammals. Office of Assistant Curator. Grace Davall records
Date
1938-1973
Extent
0.4 linear feet (1 Hollinger Box)
Language
English
Abstract
Collection contains correspondence and subject files kept by Grace Davall, who served first as a secretary at the Bronx Zoo from 1923-1952 and as then the Zoo’s Assistant Curator for Birds and Mammals from 1952-1970. It includes correspondence between Davall and the public and records pertaining to the acquisition and transport of zoo animals, including legal aspects. Also included are records pertaining to the offspring of Dacca, the zoo’s long-lived female tiger.

Return to Table of Contents »


Indexing Terms

Corporate Name(s)

  • New York Zoological Park.
  • New York Zoological Society. Mammalogy Department.
  • New York Zoological Society. Ornithology Department.
  • New York Zoological Society.

Personal Name(s)

  • Davall, Grace

Subject(s)

  • Zoo animals
  • Zoos -- Administration
  • Zoos -- Educational Aspects
  • Zoos -- Employees

Return to Table of Contents »


Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible access restrictions.

Usage Restrictions

Please contact the WCS Archives regarding possible usage restrictions.

Acquisition Information

Internal transfer, 1980 (Acc. 1980.211)

Repository Contact

Wildlife Conservation Society Archives

2300 Southern Boulevard
Bronx, NY, 10460
718.220.6874
library@wcs.org

Processing Information

Collection processed and finding aid created by Helen Schubert Fields, Simmons College MS Intern, November 2014.

Related Collections

Collection 2047. James Doherty records, 1937-2005.

Collection 2001. Department of Mammology general records, 1900-2002.

Collection 2009. Board of Trustees. Pension Board records, 1914-1966.

Preferred Citation

[Item], [Date]. Grace Davall records, 1938-1973. Collection 2069. Wildlife Conservation Society Archives, New York.

Return to Table of Contents »


Biographical Note

Grace Davall joined the staff of the Bronx Zoo in 1923 as a secretary. During her career she was secretary to both Dr. Raymond Ditmars (Curator of Reptiles 1902-1942 and of Mammals 1926-1940) and Lee S. Crandall (Curator of Birds 1920-1944 and Bronx Zoo General Curator 1942-1952). A picture of Davall with a snake coiled around her head from this period appears in William Bridges’s Gathering of Animals. After Crandall's retirement in 1952, Davall became Assistant Curator for Birds and Mammals, a position she held until her retirement in 1970. Circa 1959, the Zoo’s takin was named Gracie in her honor. After her retirement, she continued her involvement with the zoo as a Curator Emeritus.

Return to Table of Contents »


Scope and Content

The collection contains records from Grace Davall’s time as a secretary as well as her time as Assistant Curator of Birds and Mammals. The correspondence series consists primarily of personal and public correspondence from the year 1965. Additional years of correspondence, as well as public correspondence from 1965 filed under A-V, were not transferred to the Archives as part of this collection. Correspondence with the public includes letters inquiring about various animals at the zoo, especially from students, and Davall’s responses. Correspondence relating to specific topics can be found in the subject files series. In particular, memoranda and correspondence from General Curator Lee S. Crandall can be found in the animal purchases, shipments, and trade folders. The subject files series contains information on the acquisition of animals by the zoo, including lists of desired animals, information on purchases and sales, records of shipments containing animals, correspondence with the US Department of Agriculture, and copies of laws governing animal importation. It also includes correspondence and minutes relating to the Zoo’s behavior research program, as well as reference materials on conservation (including material produced by the New York Zoological Society) and pollution kept by Davall. Of particular interest is a file documenting Davall’s attempts to locate information about the offspring of Dacca, the Zoo’s long-lived female tiger.

Return to Table of Contents »


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in two series:

Series 1
 Correspondence
Series 2
 Subject files

Return to Table of Contents »


Collection Inventory

Series 1: Correspondence, 1958, 1965 

Personal correspondence, 1965 


Box Folder
Text (000093948) 1 1

Public correspondence, 1958 


Box Folder
Text (000093948) 1 2

Public correspondence -- W, 1965 


Box Folder
Text (000093948) 1 3

Public correspondence -- X-Z, 1965 


Box Folder
Text (000093948) 1 4

Return to Table of Contents »


Series 2: Subject files, 1938-1973 

Animal Inspection and Quarantine Division (USDA Agricultural Research Service), 1938, 1944-1962 


Box Folder
Text (000093948) 1 5

Animal purchases, sales, and exchanges, 1941-1955 


Box Folder
Text (000093948) 1 6

Animal shipments, 1946-1948 


Box Folder
Text (000093948) 1 7

Animal trade and importation regulations, 1939, 1946-58, 1962-70 


Box Folder
Text (000093948) 1 8

Behavior research, 1949-1957 


Box Folder
Text (000093948) 1 9

Conservation issues, 1958-1973 


Box Folder
Mixed materials (000093948) 1 10

Customs and importation regulations, 1964-1970 


Box Folder
Text (000093948) 1 11

Job duties, 1964 


Box Folder
Text (000093948) 1 12

List of animals at the Bronx Zoo, 1899-1969, circa 1970 


Box Folder
Text (000093948) 1 13

Lists of desired animals, 1943-1944, 1953 


Box Folder
Text (000093948) 1 14

Pollution control, circa 1969-1970 


Box Folder
Text (000093948) 1 15

Tiger cubs, 1964-1971 


Box Folder
Text (000093948) 1 16

Return to Table of Contents »


Wildlife Conservation Society Library & Archives | 2300 Southern Blvd. Bronx, NY 10460 | library[at]wcs[dot]org


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip