This is the "Books & Media" page of the "Animal Welfare : A Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library
A selection of animal welfare information resources at the San Diego Zoo Global Library and online.
Last Updated: Aug 16, 2016 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/sdzg/guides/animalwelfare Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books & Media Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books & Media


tigers playing in water

Sumatran tiger cubs Conrad and Thomas enjoy playing in the water at the San Diego Zoo Safari Park. ©San Diego Zoo Global. All rights reserved.

Topics on This Page

The books and videos on this page are available to San Diego Zoo Global staff and volunteers through the SDZG LibraryWe welcome suggestions for updates or new resources! Please contact us by email.

 

General Animal Welfare

Animal welfare
Edited by Michael C. Appleby, Joy A. Mench, I. Anna Olsson, and Barry O. Hughes.
Call Number: QL85 .A66 2011 MAIN

Animals : welfare, interests, and rights
Favre, David S.
Call Number: QL85 .F38 2003 MAIN

Education for animal welfare
Eadie, Edward N.
Call Number: QL85 .E23 2011 MAIN

Encyclopedia of animal rights and animal welfare
Bekoff, Marc
Call Number: QL85 .E53 1998 MAIN

The encyclopedia of applied animal behaviour and welfare
Call Number: QL750 .E53 2010 MAIN

Sentience and animal welfare
Broom, Donald M.,
Call Number: QL785.27 .B76 2014 MAIN

Understanding animal welfare : an integrated approach
Eadie, Edward N.
Call Number: QL85 .E233 2012 MAIN

Understanding animal welfare : the science in its cultural context
Fraser, David
Call Number: QP32 .F73 2008 MAIN

The welfare of animals : the silent majority
Phillips, C. J. C.
Call Number: QL85 .P45 2009 MAIN

 

Regulations & Guidelines

Regulations, policies, guidelines & more
Scientists Center for Animal Welfare (SCAW)
Call Number: KF5640 .R44 2007 CD-ROMS

The IACUC handbook
Silverman, Jerald, et al. (editors)
Call Number: QL55 .I23 2007 REF

Excellence beyond compliance : enhancing animal welfare through the constructive use of the Animal Welfare Act
Gesualdi, James F.
Call Number: KF5640 .G47 2014 MAIN

Basic legal documents on international animal welfare and wildlife conservation
Austen, Mark
Call Number: KF5640 .B37 2000 REF

 

Zoo Animals

Ethics on the ark : zoos, animal welfare, and wildlife conservation
Norton, Bryan G.
Call Number: QL76 .E84 1995

An Introduction to zoo biology and management
Rees, Paul A.
Call Nunber: QL76 .R44 2011 MAIN

The welfare ark : suggestions for a renewed policy in zoos
Margodt, Koen
Call Number: QL76 .M37 2000 MAIN

Well-being of animals in zoo and aquarium sponsored research : putting best practices forward
Bettinger, Tammie L.
Call Number: QL74 .W45 2008 MAIN

Wild animals in captivity : an outline of the biology of zoological gardens
Hediger, Heini
Call Number: QL74 .H43 1964 MAIN

Wild mammals in captivity : principles and techniques for zoo management
Kleiman, Devra G., et al. (editors)
Call Number: QL704 .W55 2010 MAIN

Zoo animal welfare
Maple, Terry L
Call Number: QL74 .M37 2013 MAIN

Zoo animals : behaviour, management and welfare
Hosey, Geoffrey R.
Call Number: QL74 .H67 2013 MAIN

 

Laboratory Animals


Environmental enrichment and refinement for nonhuman primates kept in research laboratories
Reinhardt, Viktor
Call Number: QL55 .R45 E58 2008 MAIN

The experimental animal in biomedical research : volume II, care, husbandry, and well-being : an overview by species
Rollin, Bernard E.
Call Number: QL55 .E97 1995 REF

Guide for the care and use of laboratory animals
Institute for Laboratory Animal Research
Call Number: QL55 .N37 2011 MAIN

Making lives easier for animals in research labs : discussions by the Laboratory Animal Refinement & Enrichment Forum
Baumans, Vera, et al.
Call Number: QL55 .M35 2007 MAIN

UFAW handbook on the care and management of laboratory animals
Poole, Trevor B.; Pauline English; Universities Federation for Animal Welfare
Call Number: SF406 .U55 1999 REF

Variables, refinement and environmental enrichment for rodents and rabbits kept in research institutions
Reinhardt, Viktor
Call Number: QL55 .R45 V37 2006 MAIN

 

Birds & Reptiles

Birds

Management guidelines for the welfare of zoo animals : ratites
Lee, Amanda R.
Call Number: QL74 .L44 M36 1994 MAIN

The welfare of domestic fowl and other captive birds
Duncan, Ian J. H.,
Call Number: QL74 .W445 2010 MAIN

Reptiles

The biology, husbandry and health care of reptiles
Ackerman, Lowell J.
Call Number: QL641.5 .A35 1998 REF

Health and welfare of captive reptiles
Warwick, Clifford
Call Number: QL641.5 .H43 1995 MAIN

 

Mammals

Carnivorans

Management guidelines for the welfare of zoo animals : cheetah (Acinonyx jubatus)
Lee, Amanda R.
Call Number: QL74 .L44 M36 1992 MAIN

The welfare and management of bears in zoological gardens
Ames, Alison
Call Number: QL737 .C27 A44 1994 MAIN

Elephants

Elephants and ethics : toward a morality of coexistence
Wemmer, Christen M., et al.
Call Number: QL737 .P98 E44 2008 MAIN

A review of the welfare of zoo elephants in Europe : a report commissioned by the RSPCA
Clubb, Ross, and Mason, Georgia
Call Number: QL737 .P98 C58 2002 MAIN

Primates

Applying ecological principles to captive primate environments
Clark, Bruce C.
Call Number: QL737 .P9 C52 1992 MAIN

Environmental enrichment and refinement for nonhuman primates kept in research laboratories
Reinhardt, Viktor
Call Number: QL55 .R45 E58 2008 MAIN

Enrichment for Nonhuman Primates
National Institutes of Health (NIH), 2005
A six-booklet series on enrichment for baboons, capuchins, chimpanzees, macaques, marmosets and tamarins, and squirrel monkeys.
Full-text available online [PDF]

Environmental enrichment information resources for nonhuman primates: 1987-1992
Swanson, Janice C.
Call Number: QL737 .P9 E56 1992

The psychological well-being of nonhuman primates
Committee on Well-Being of Nonhuman Primates
Call Number: QL737 .P9 P776 1998 MAIN

Handbook of primate husbandry and welfare
Wofensohn, Sarah
Call Number: QL737 .P9 W95 2005 MAIN

Ungulates

Management guidelines for the welfare of zoo animals : giraffe
Lee, Amanda R.
Call Number: QL74 .L44 M36 1991 MAIN

Management guidelines for the welfare of zoo animals : tapirs (Tapirus spp.)
Lee, Amanda R.
Call Number: QL74 .L44 M36 1993 MAIN

 

Stress, Stereotypy, Enrichment

Environmental enrichment and refinement for nonhuman primates kept in research laboratories
Reinhardt, Viktor
Call Number: QL55 .R45 E58 2008 MAIN

Enrichment notebook, 3rd ed. (AAZK) [CD]
Wagner, Denise, and Susan Chen (eds.)
Call Number: QL74 .A29 2004 MAIN

The importance of enrichment and developing a program framework [seminar on DVD]
Moore, Don (February 3, 2004)
Call Number: QL76.5 .S36 A39 2004 MAIN

Mental health and well-being in animals
McMillan, Franklin D.
Call Number: QL745 .M46 2004 MAIN

Second nature : environmental enrichment for captive animals
Shepherdson, David J., ed.
Call Number: QL74 .S435 1998 MAIN

Stereotypic animal behaviour : fundamentals and applications to welfare
Mason, Georgia
Call Number: QL751 .S74 2006 MAIN

Stress and animal welfare
Broom, Donald M.
Call Number: QL759.5 .B76 1993 MAIN

Variables, refinement and environmental enrichment for rodents and rabbits kept in research institutions
Reinhardt, Viktor
Call Number: QL55 .R45 V37 2006 MAIN

 

Animal Rights

The animal rights handbook : everyday ways to save animal lives
Fraser, Laura
Call Number: QL85 .B47 1993 MAIN

Game changer : animal rights and the fate of Africa's wildlife
Martin, Glen
Call Number: QL85 .M37 2012 MAIN

The politics of species : reshaping our relationships with other animals
Corbey, Raymond
Call Number: QL85 .P65 2013 MAIN

Zoos and animal rights : the ethics of keeping animals
Bostock, Stephen St. C.
Call Number: QL85 .B67 1993 MAIN

 

Good Places to Start

Cover Art
Animal Welfare - Michael C. Appleby (Editor); Barry O. Hughes (Editor); Joy A. Mench (Editor); I. Anna S. Olsson (Editor)
Call Number: QL85 .A66 2011 MAIN
ISBN: 1845936590
Publication Date: 2011
The welfare of animals continues to increase in recognition and concern throughout the world, with more and more research in the field offering new insights into the optimal conditions and treatment for the animals we live and work with. Providing a broad introduction to the key topics in the welfare of animals large and small, farm and companion, wild and zoo, this fully updated textbook covers ethics, animal pain and injury, health and disease and social conditions, welfare issues and problems, their assessment, and solutions. With contributions from renowned international experts Animal Welfare, 2nd Edition is an essential resource for students and researchers in animal and veterinary sciences. --Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Understanding Animal Welfare : The Science in its Cultural Context - David Fraser
Call Number: QP32 .F73 2008 MAIN
ISBN: 1405136952
Publication Date: 2008
Understanding Animal Welfare: The Science in its Cultural Context takes a completely fresh and thought-provoking approach. It is essential reading for anyone interested, studying or currently working in the fascinating field of animal welfare science. David Fraser places modern-day welfare issues within their historical framework by tracing the evolving ideas that led to current thinking. He also highlights some intriguing issues relating to the contradiction inherent in the term 'animal welfare science' and the practical problem of how to assess emotional states in animals. Special features: Encompasses ideas from a variety of disciplines to give a broad perspective of the topic. Discusses methods of measuring animal welfare and their strengths and limitations. Examines contemporary debates and applications of the science to policy issues. This book is part of the UFAW/Wiley-Blackwell Animal Welfare Book Series. --Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Zoo Animal Welfare - Terry L. Maple; Bonnie M. Perdue
Call Number: QL74 .M37 2013 MAIN
ISBN: 9783642359545
Publication Date: 2013
Zoo Animal Welfare thoroughly reviews the scientific literature on the welfare of zoo and aquarium animals. Maple and Perdue draw from the senior author's 24 years of experience as a zoo executive and international leader in the field of zoo biology. The authors' academic training in the interdisciplinary field of psychobiology provides a unique perspective for evaluating the ethics, practices, and standards of modern zoos and aquariums.  The book offers a blueprint for the implementation of welfare measures and an objective rationale for their widespread use. Recognizing the great potential of zoos, the authors have written an inspirational book to guide the strategic vision of superior, welfare-oriented institutions. The authors speak directly to caretakers working on the front lines of zoo management, and to the decision-makers responsible for elevating the priority of animal welfare in their respective zoo. In great detail, Maple and Perdue demonstrate how zoos and aquariums can be designed to achieve optimal standards of welfare and wellness. --Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Zoo Animals : Behaviour, Management and Welfare - Geoff Hosey; Vicky Melfi; Sheila Pankhurst
Call Number: QL74 .H67 2013 MAIN
ISBN: 9780199693528
Publication Date: 2013
The keeping of zoo animals has become a central tool in the conservation of some of the world's most fascinating, yet threatened, species. But how do zoos operate on a day-to-day basis? What are the key problems they face in trying to feed, breed, and keep healthy the animals in their care? How can they play their part in conserving biodiversity? Zoo Animals: Behaviour, Management and Welfare addresses the key questions surrounding the keeping of exotic animals in captivity, and reveals how we can apply our ever-growing understanding of animal behaviour to ensure zoo animals are managed as effectively as possible. Drawing on their extensive experience of zoo research, practice, and teaching, the authors blend together theory with a broad range of both mammalian and non-mammalian examples to give a highly-readable overview of this burgeoning field. Zoo Animals: Behaviour, Management, and Welfare is the ideal resource for anyone needing a thorough grounding in this subject, whether as a student or as a zoo professional. --Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
The Politics of Species - Raymond Corbey (Editor); Annette Lanjouw (Editor)
Call Number: QL85 .P65 2013 MAIN
ISBN: 9781107032606
Publication Date: 2013
The assumption that humans are cognitively and morally superior to other animals is fundamental to social democracies and legal systems worldwide. It legitimizes treating members of other animal species as inferior to humans. The last few decades have seen a growing awareness of this issue, as evidence continues to show that individuals of many other species have rich mental, emotional and social lives. Bringing together leading experts from a range of disciplines, this volume identifies the key barriers to a definition of moral respect that includes nonhuman animals. It sets out to increase concern, empathy and inclusiveness by developing strategies that can be used to protect other animals from exploitation in the wild and from suffering in captivity. The chapters link scientific data with normative and philosophical reflections, offering unique insight into controversial issues around the ethical, political and legal status of other species. --Provided by publisher.

SDZG Insider

SDZG staff can find a variety of useful resources in the Animal Welfare and Enrichment pages on SDZG's intranet portal, the Insider. Note: access is restricted to networked computers.

Our Mission. The Library is dedicated to supporting San Diego Zoo Global’s mission by providing outstanding
information resources and research services to advance knowledge and strengthen our organization’s capacity to save
species worldwide. Our Vision. We will empower San Diego Zoo Global to lead the fight against extinction by serving as
the organization’s information hub and facilitating research of the highest quality.


© 2016 San Diego Zoo Global — All Rights Reserved

Our Family of Sites

  • Zoo logoSan Diego Zoo
  • Park logoSan Diego Zoo Safari Park
  • ICR logoSan Diego Zoo Institute for Conservation Research
  • SDZ Global logoSan Diego Zoo Global
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip