This is the "Birds" page of the "Animals : A Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library
Library and online resources for information about animals
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2017 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/sdzg/guides/animals Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Birds Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Birds : Recommended Resources


California condor in flight

California condor (Gymnogyps californianus). ©San Diego Zoo Global. All rights reserved.

Topics on This Page

The books, videos, and journals listed below are a good starting point for your research. They can be found at the San Diego Zoo Global Library or on our website. Find more through our Search Everything! and Library Catalog links.

Updates? Suggestions? We welcome feedback.

 

Book Suggestions

Cover Art
Handbook of the Birds of the World (17-volume set and online database) - Edited by Josep del Hoyo et al.
Call Number: QL674 .H36 1992-2013 REF — also available online!
ISBN: 9788487334108
Publication Date: 1992-2013
Online: Entire contents of the print version, plus additional illustrations, maps, and multimedia. Includes Internet Bird Collection (IBC) database with videos, photos and sounds of all the birds of the world. Onsite access for staff only — contact SDZG Library for login information.
Contents: v.1. Ostrich to ducks; v.2. New world vultures to guineafowl; v.3. Hoatzin to auks; v.4. Sandgrouse to cuckoos; v.5. Barn-owls to hummingbirds; v.6. Mousebirds to hornbills; v.7. Jacamars to woodpeckers; v 8. Broadbills to tapaculos; v.9. Cotingas to pipits and wagtails; v.10. Cuckoo-shrikes to thrushes; v.11. Old World flycatchers to Old World warblers; v.12. Picathartes to tits and chickadees; v.13. Penduline-tits to shrikes; v.14. Bush-shrikes to Old World sparrows; v.15. Weavers to New World warblers; v.16. Tanagers to New World blackbirds; v.17. New Species and Global Index.

Cover Art
Birds of North America - Smithsonian Institution Staff; Fred J. Alsop (Illustrator); Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: QL681 .A625 2001 REF
ISBN: 0789480018
Publication Date: 2001
This comprehensive reference to the birds of North America includes full-page profiles of more than 930 species -- all the birds known to breed in the United States or Canada, as well as regular visitors and vagrants to the continent. [It] provides essential identification tips for each species together with fascinating information on feeding and behavior, breeding, and nesting habits.

 

DVDs

Audubon videoguide to 505 birds of North America on two DVDs
National Audubon Society
Call no. QL681 .A93 2004

The life of birds
Featuring narration by David Attenborough
BBC Video
Call no. QL698.3 L54 2002

Journals & Databases

  • Bird Journals
    Search bird periodical titles available to SDZG staff; download or request full-text; onsite access only
  • BioOne
    Search a database of scholarly articles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences; download full-text; available on SDZG networked computers
  • Birds of North America
    View information on the identification, distribution, and natural history of 716+ North American bird species; available on SDZG networked computers
  • GRIN (Global Raptor Information Network)
    Species accounts for diurnal raptors (hawks, eagles, falcons); bibliography of avian literature with focus on raptors (PDFs available upon request)
  • OWL (Ornithological Worldwide Literature)
    Database of ornithological citations and abstracts, including "grey" literature not abstracted by commercial databases
  • SORA (Searchable Ornithological Research Archive)
    First and largest open access ornithological publications archive, including history of ornithology in North America (free full text)

General Information

Taxonomy & Nomenclature

Husbandry

Sounds & Images

 

Birds by Taxonomic Group

Birds by Geographic Region

Fact Sheets

Our Mission. The Library is dedicated to supporting San Diego Zoo Global’s mission by providing outstanding
information resources and research services to advance knowledge and strengthen our organization’s capacity to save
species worldwide. Our Vision. We will empower San Diego Zoo Global to lead the fight against extinction by serving as
the organization’s information hub and facilitating research of the highest quality.


© 2016 San Diego Zoo Global — All Rights Reserved

Our Family of Sites

  • Zoo logoSan Diego Zoo
  • Park logoSan Diego Zoo Safari Park
  • ICR logoSan Diego Zoo Institute for Conservation Research
  • SDZ Global logoSan Diego Zoo Global
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip