This is the "Reptiles & Amphibians" page of the "Animals : A Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library
Library and online resources for information about animals
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2017 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/sdzg/guides/animals Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Reptiles & Amphibians Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reptiles & Amphibians : Recommended Resources


Grand Cayman blue iguanas

Grand Cayman blue iguanas (Cyclura lewisi). ©San Diego Zoo Global. All rights reserved.

Topics on This Page

The books, videos, and journals listed below are a good starting point for your research. They can be found at the San Diego Zoo Global Library or on our website. Find more through our Search Everything! and Library Catalog links.

Updates? Suggestions? We welcome feedback.

 

Books

Conservation of mesoamerican amphibians and reptiles
By Jerry D. Johnson, et al. 
Call no. QL656 .C66 2010 REF

Handbook of venoms and toxins of reptiles
Edited by Stephen P. Mackessy
Call no. QL642 .H36 2010 REF

Venomous reptiles of the United States, Canada, and Northern Mexico
By Carl H. Ernst and Evelyn M. Ernst
Call no. QL642 .E76 2011 MAIN

Herpetology: an introductory biology of amphibians and reptiles
By George R. Zug, et al. 
Call no. QL641 .Z84 2001 REF

Turtles of the world
By Franck Bornin, et al. 
Call no. QL666 .C5 B66 2006 MAIN

Frogs: inside their remarkable world
By Ellin Beltz
Call no. QL666 .E2 B4 2005 MAIN

Amphibian declines: the conservation status of United States species
By Michael Lannoo
Call no. QL651 .A47 2005 MAIN

Threatened Amphibians of the World
Edited by Simon Stuart et al.
Call no. QL644.7 .T48 2008 REF
Download PDF

 

DVDs

Leap of faith: saving Panama's golden frogs
Ganglion Films
Call no. QL667 .E24 L43 2007

NATURE: The reptiles
WNET, New York
Call no. QL665 .R478 2003

Dragon Tale
Komodo Dragons
National Geographic
Call no. QL666 .L29 D73 2003

Websites : General Information

      

    Websites : Taxonomy

        

      Websites : Husbandry

          

        Websites : Bites & Envenomation

            

          Websites : Reptiles & Amphibians by Taxonomic Group

          Reptiles

          • Aquatic Snakes of Southeast Asia
            • Mud snake, sea krait, true sea snake, and file snake information compiled by the Field Museum, Chicago
          • Crocodilian.com
            • Natural history and conservation information for crocodilian species
            • Prepared by Dr. Adam Britton
          • Gila Monster Project
            • Gila monster study at Saguaro National Park: information, links, resources
          • Iguana Specialist Group Virtual Library
            • Database with 1700+ references for all species of iguanas: articles, reports, proceedings, theses, press releases, presentations, audio-visual files
            • Browse citations/abstracts, download articles
            • Open access to articles in public domain; other articles require ISG member login
          • Information Resources on Reptiles
            • Bibliography from USDA / Animal Welfare Information Network
          • Open Directory Project (ODP): Reptilia
            • Reptile and herpetology links in the largest human-edited directory of web resources, maintained by a global community of volunteers
          • Seaturtle.org
            • Sea turtle research and conservation information
          • Tortoise Trust
            • Tortoise care sheets and publications database - extensive collection
          • Turtles of the World
            • Continues Iverson's Revised Checklist with Distribution Maps of the Turtles of the World

          Amphibians

              

            Websites : Reptiles & Amphibians by Geographic Region

            California

            Other U.S. Regions

            North America

                

              Websites : Fact Sheets

                  

                Information Searches to End Extinction

                Search Everything! Try these pre-designed searches to find articles and books about at-risk species (onsite access only)

                Our Mission. The Library is dedicated to supporting San Diego Zoo Global’s mission by providing outstanding
                information resources and research services to advance knowledge and strengthen our organization’s capacity to save
                species worldwide. Our Vision. We will empower San Diego Zoo Global to lead the fight against extinction by serving as
                the organization’s information hub and facilitating research of the highest quality.


                © 2016 San Diego Zoo Global — All Rights Reserved

                Our Family of Sites

                • Zoo logoSan Diego Zoo
                • Park logoSan Diego Zoo Safari Park
                • ICR logoSan Diego Zoo Institute for Conservation Research
                • SDZ Global logoSan Diego Zoo Global
                Description

                Loading  Loading...

                Tip