This is the "Literature & Databases" page of the "Veterinary Medicine : A Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library

Veterinary Medicine : A Research Guide   Tags: animal welfare, animals, diseases, san diego zoo, sdzg, veterinary, zoos  

Online and print resources for veterinary information -- topics include organizations, apps, animal groups, diseases, diagnosis, anesthesia, emergency medicine, nutrition, bites/stings/envenomation, toxic plants
Last Updated: Dec 5, 2016 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/sdzg/guides/vetmed Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Literature & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Veterinary Literature & Databases


panda cub

Giant panda cub Xiao Liwu, San Diego Zoo. ©San Diego Zoo Global. All rights reserved.

Topics on This Page

The literature resources on this page are available to San Diego Zoo Global staff and volunteers through the SDZG Library. Journal titles are linked to the SDZG Library's journal list, which provides direct access from SDZG-networked computers. Staff may contact us to request articles from publications without a direct-access link.

We welcome suggestions for updates or new resources. Please contact us by email.

 

Books & Media

Books

Fowler's zoo and wild animal medicine: volume 8
Edited by R. Eric Miller and Murray E. Fowler
Call no. SF996 .Z66 2015

Avian medicine, 2nd ed.
By Jaime Samour
Call no. SF994 .A95 2007 ZOO

Handbook on injectable drugs : single user version
Edited by Lawrence A. Trissel
Call no. RM143 .T75 2011 ZOO

IACUC handbook
Edited by Jerald Silverman, et al.
Call no. QL55 .I23 2007

Pathologic basis of veterinary disease
Edited by M. Donald McGavin and James F. Zachary
Call no. SF769 .P38 2012

Physician's desk reference, 69th ed.
Call no. RS75 .P5 2015

Plumb's veterinary drug handbook
By Donald C. Plumb
Call no. SF748 .P68 2015

Restraint and handling of wild and domestic animals, 3rd ed.
Edited by Murray E. Fowler
Call no. QL74 .F78 2008

The Sanford guide to antimicrobial therapy
By David N. Gilbert
Call no. SF748 .S26 2015

Zoonoses: infectious diseases transmissible from animals to humans, 4th ed.
By Rolf Bauerfeind et al.
Call no. SF996 .Z666 2016

CD-ROMs

Basic avian techniques [3 CD-ROM set]
Produced by M. Schott Echols
Call no. QL674 .E35 2003 CD-ROMS

Transmissible diseases handbook
By Nico Schoemaker, et al.
Call no. SF996 .T73 2006 CD-ROMS

What's that? A beginner's guide to veterinary ultrasound
By Tom Baker
Call no. SF748 .B36 2009 WAP

Zoonotic diseases: a summary of the more common maladies afflicting animals and man, 3rd ed.
Produced by AAZK
Call no. SF995.84 .A4 2005 CD-ROM

 

Databases

Veterinary and Animal Care Literature Databases

Articles

Searching for zoo and evidence-based veterinary medicine articles

Full-text provided to SDZG staff: If the link does not access free full-text, download the article
through the veterinarians' UCD login or submit a request to library@sandiegozoo.org.

 

Good Places to Start

Cover Art
Fowler's Zoo and Wild Animal Medicine, Volume 8 - R. Eric Miller (Editor); Murray E. Fowler (Editor)
Call Number: SF996 .Z66 2015
ISBN: 9781455773978
Publication Date: 2015
Logically organized by taxonomic groups, this up-to-date text covers the diagnosis and treatment of all zoo animal species and free-ranging wildlife, including amphibians, reptiles, birds, mammals, and fish, unlikely to be seen by private practice veterinarians. Featuring full-color images, the consistent, user-friendly format supplies information on each animal’s biology, unique anatomy, special physiology, reproduction, restraint and handling, housing requirements, nutrition and feeding, surgery and anesthesia, diagnostics, therapeutics, and diseases. Global authorship includes multinational contributors who offer expert information on different species from around the world.

Cover Art
Pathologic Basis of Veterinary Disease - James F. Zachary (Editor); M. Donald McGavin (Editor)
Call Number: SF769 .P38 2012
ISBN: 9780323075336
Publication Date: 2012
With over 2,000 full-color illustrations, Pathologic Basis of Veterinary Disease, 5th Edition provides complete coverage of both general pathology and pathology of organ systems in one convenient resource. In-depth explanations cover the responses of cells, tissues, and organs to injury and infection. Expert researchers James F. Zachary and M. Donald McGavin keep you up to date with the latest advances in cellular and molecular pathology plus expanded coverage of genetics and disease, incorporating the newest insights into the study of disease mechanisms, genesis, and progression. Already the leading reference for pathology, this edition also includes an enhanced website with images of less common diseases and and guidelines for performing a complete, systematic necropsy.

Our Mission. The Library is dedicated to supporting San Diego Zoo Global’s mission by providing outstanding
information resources and research services to advance knowledge and strengthen our organization’s capacity to save
species worldwide. Our Vision. We will empower San Diego Zoo Global to lead the fight against extinction by serving as
the organization’s information hub and facilitating research of the highest quality.


© 2016 San Diego Zoo Global — All Rights Reserved

Our Family of Sites

  • Zoo logoSan Diego Zoo
  • Park logoSan Diego Zoo Safari Park
  • ICR logoSan Diego Zoo Institute for Conservation Research
  • SDZ Global logoSan Diego Zoo Global
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip