Development & Aid: Home

AidData is an initiative that aims to (a) increase the impact of development assistance by making aid information more transparent and accessible to a wide range of stakeholders, and (b) improve the quality of research on aid allocation and aid effectiveness. This is a partnership between Brigham Young University, College of William and Mary, non-profit Development Gateway. It is run by an interdisciplinary team comprised of staff from all three institutions.

Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. ‘Aluka’, is derived from a Zulu word meaning ‘to weave’, reflecting our commitment to connect resources and scholars from around the world. In 2008, we announced that Aluka became part of JSTOR, a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive. JSTOR aims to place this content hosted by Aluka alongside current JSTOR collections.

"This database contains full text from nearly 2,800 quality magazines and journals, including sources ranging from general business periodicals to trade publications. The collection of titles also includes the top management journals. Additional sources include over 1,400 country economic reports; 10,000 substantial company profiles; and 4,498 industry reports. Business Source Corporate also provides two companion databases with hundreds of full text sources including regional business publicati

"USAID is an independent U.S. federal government agency that supports long-term and equitable economic growth and advances U.S. foreign policy objectives by supporting (1) economic growth, agriculture and trade; (2) global health; and (3) democracy, conflict prevention and humanitarian assistance. USAID's Development Experience Clearinghouse is the largest online resource for USAID funded technical and program documentation, with over 78500 documents available for electronic download."

Social network for development professionals. Covers international development business, humanitarian aid projects, global development tenders, and many others.

The Eco-Index database includes information about more than 1,250 inspiring conservation projects in the Americas.

The Gateway to Development Information - Free resourceEldis selects and provides full-text documents and current information on international development policy, practice, and research from over 7,500 development organizations.

Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.

The Environmental Sustainability Index (ESI) benchmarks the ability of nations to protect the environment over the next several decades by integrating 76 data sets –tracking natural resource endowments, past and present pollution levels, environmental management efforts, and a society’s capacity to improve its environmental performance –into 21 indicators of environmental sustainability. The site provides access to the latest ESI report and an archive for the 2000, 2001, and 2002 versions.

The Global Environment Outlook (GEO) is the United Nations Environment Program’s (UNEP) flagship assessment process that helps keep the global environment under review. The site provides links to reports on the GEO process as well as to the GEO data portal, which contains data covering themes like freshwater, forests, and climate.

GreenFILE: In keeping with our commitment to environmental consciousness, EBSCO proudly offers GreenFILE, a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positi

"This database of over 350,000 items includes over 250,000 items available for free download. Includes forestry, environmental, and development documents."*

"This timeline, prepared by the International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD)in 1997, lists significant sustainable development events and their implications starting from the 1962 publication of Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring and ending with the 1992 UN Conference on Environment and Development held in Rio de Janeiro. Links to related sites are included in the short event descriptions."

The LII collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe (excluding the U.S. material held in the LII's other collections). It also holds resources and document collections of International law.

Mongabay.com seeks to raise interest in and appreciation of wild lands and wildlife, while examining the impact of emerging trends in climate, technology, economics, and finance on conservation and development.

"Sustainability Reference CenterT is a comprehensive full-text database covering all aspects of sustainability. This collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to sustainability initiative management including, but not limited to: Corporate Social Responsibility, Environmental Stewardship, Federal, State and Local Regulations, 'Green' Issues & Initiatives, ISO 14000, LEED, Recycling, Renewable Energy, Resource Conservation, Social Entrepreneursh

"Sustainability Watch provides evidence-based summaries on over 200 sustainability-related topics. Monitoring thousands of leading journals and periodicals, this product presents best practices in a variety of sustainability areas including environmental impacts and pollution prevention initiatives, corporate citizenship, and long-term sustainable business practices."

Visualizes the locations of World Bank Bank-financed projects to better monitor development impact, improve aid effectiveness and coordination, and enhance transparency and social accountability. Combines the subnational socio-economic indicators such as poverty, health, malnutrition, and population density to better target development assistance.

Subjects indexed include: Tropical forest resources; deforestation; conservation; indigenous peoples; management; policy; trade and industrial development; nontimber forest products; research, education, and training; and history.

Global and regional data for Africa, Asia and Pacific, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, Western Asia. Includes demographic yearbooks, population distribution, population and vital statistics, children, urbanization, education, health, refugees, epidemiological fact sheets.

"The Urban Environmental Management Research Initiative (UEMRI), comprising urban planning researchers from around the world, looks at urban areas as the intersection of natural, built, and socio-economic environments. The documents section contains articles, reports, one-pagers, and bibliographies on urban environmental issues and related topics."

"USAID is an independent U.S. federal government agency that supports long-term and equitable economic growth and advances U.S. foreign policy objectives by supporting (1) economic growth, agriculture and trade; (2) global health; and (3) democracy, conflict prevention and humanitarian assistance. USAID's Development Experience Clearinghouse is the largest online resource for USAID funded technical and program documentation, with over 78500 documents available for electronic download."