Skip to main content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library

Carmine Bee-eaters (Merops nubicus & M. nubicoides) Fact Sheet: Bibliography

Bibliography

Birdlife International. 2016a. Merops nubicus. In: IUCN 2016. The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. Version 2017.3. <www.iucnredlist.org>. http://dx.doi.org/10.2305/IUCN.UK.2016-3.RLTS.T22683768A92999759.en. [accessed 2018 Jun 19].

Birdlife International. 2016b. Merops nubicoides. In: IUCN 2016. The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. Version 2017.3. <www.iucnredlist.org>. http://dx.doi.org/10.2305/IUCN.UK.2016-3.RLTS.T22683772A93000205.en. [accessed 2018 Jun 19].

Brooke, M. T. Birkhead 1991. The Cambridge encyclopedia of ornithology. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press. 362 p.

Casas-Crivillé and F. Valera. The European bee-eater (Merops apiaster) as an ecosystem engineer in arid environments. Journal of Arid Environments. 60(2):227-238.

Clarke, J., D. Ksepka, A. Smith, M. Norell 2009. Combined phylogenetic analysis of a new North American fossil species confirms widespread Eocene distribution for stem rollers (Aves, Coracii). Zoological Journal of the Linnean Society, 157 (3) 586-611.

Dubey, J. M. Garner, M. Stettert, A. Marsh, B. Barr. 2001. Acute Sarcocystis falcatula-like infection in a Carmine Bee-Eater (Merops nubicus) and immunohistochemical cross reactivity between Sarcosystis falcatula and Sarcocystis neurona. Journal of Parasitology 87(4):824-832.

del Hoyo, J., Collar, N., and Kirwan, G.M. 2018. Southern Carmine Bee-eater (Merops nubicoides). In: del Hoyo, J., Elliott, A., Sargatal, J., Christie, D.A. & de Juana, E. (editors). Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive. Lynx Edicions, Barcelona. (retrieved from https://www.hbw.com/node/467372 on 2018 Jun 19).

del Hoyo, J., A. Elliott, J. Sargatal (eds) 1992. Ostrich to Ducks. Handbook of the Birds of the World. Vol. 1 p 696.

_________________________________ 2001. Family Meropidae (bee-eaters). In: Handbook of the Birds of the World. Vol. 6. Mousebirds to hornbills. Barcelona: Lynx Edicions. pp. 286-325.

Elston, J. J. Carney, G. Quinones, C. Sky, C. Plasse, T. Bettinger. 2007. Use of novel nest boxes by Carmine Bee-eaters (Merops nubicus) in captivity. Zoo Biology 26:27-39.

Emlen, S. 1990. The white-fronted bee-eater: helping in a colonially nesting species. In: Stacey, P. and W. Koenig (Eds.) Cooperative breeding in birds: long-term studies of ecology and behavior. Cambridge University Press, Cambridge. pp 305-339.

Fry, C. 1969. The evolution and systematics of Bee-eaters (Meropidae). Ibis. 111(4); 557-592.

Fry, C. 1984. The Bee-eaters. Buteo Books, Vermillion, South Dakota.

Fry, C. and K. Fry. 1992. Kingfishers, Bee-eaters and Rollers: A Handbook. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1992.

Fry, C. 2001. Family Meropidae (Bee-Eaters) In: del Hoyo, J., A. Elliott, J.Sargatal (Eds) Handbook of the Birds of the World. Volume 6. Mousebirds to Hornbills. Lynx Edicions. Barcelona. pp. 286-341.

Fry, H., Boesman, P. & Kirwan, G.M. 2018. Northern Carmine Bee-eater (Merops nubicus). In: del Hoyo, J., Elliott, A., Sargatal, J., Christie, D.A. & de Juana, E. (editors). Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive. Lynx Edicions, Barcelona. (retrieved from https://www.hbw.com/node/55852 on 2018 Jun 19).

Hackett, S., R. Kimball, S. Reddy, R. Bowie, E. Braun, M. Braun, et al 2008. A phylogenetic study of birds reveals their evolutionary history. Science 320(5884):1763-1768.

Higes, M., R. Martin-Hernández, E. Garrido-Bailón, C. Botias, P. Garcia-Palencia, A. Meana 2008. Regurgitated pellets of Merops apiaster as fomites of infective Nosema ceranae (Microsporidia) spores. Environmental Microbiology 10(5):1374-9.

Hoare, B. Animal Migration 2009. University of California Press. Berkeley, Los Angeles, USA. pp.148-149.

ITIS (Integrated Taxonomic Information System) 2010. Merops. Linnaeus, 1758. dowloaded March 2010.

IUCN 2008. Merops nubicus. Redlist of Threatened Species.

Lessells C. 1990. Helping at the nest in European bee-eaters: who helps and why, pp. 357-368. In: Blondel J. et al. (Eds). Population Biology of Passerine Birds, An Integrated Approach. Berlin: Springer-Verlag.

Marks, B., J. Weckstein, R. Moyle 2007. Molecular phylogenetics of the bee-eaters (Aves: Meropidae) based on nuclear and mitochondrial DNA sequence data. Molecular Phylogenetics and Evolution, 45(1):23-32.

Price, R. and K. Emerson 1977. The Genus Meromenopon (Mallophaga: Menoponidae) from the Coraciiformes (Aves). Journal of the Kansas entomological Society. 50(2):215-221.

Ryan, P. 2009. Showtime: Carmine Bee-eaters. Africa - Birds & Birding. August/September 2009. Percy Fitzpatrick Institute of African Ornithology.

Sibley, C. and B. Monroe. Distribution and Taxonomy of Birds of the World. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 1990.

Sibley, C. and J.E. Ahlquist 1990. Phylogeny and classification of birds: a study in molecular evolution. Yale University Press, New Haven, Connecticut.

Watve, M., J. Thakar, A. Kale, S. Putambekar, I Shaikh, K. Vaze, M. Jog, S. Paranjape 2002. Bee-eaters (Merops orientalis) respond to what a predator can see. Animals Cognition 2002 5(4):253-9.

Zoological Information Management System (ZIMS). Ver 2.1. 2015. [updated 2015 May 19; accessed 2015 May 19 2015]. https://zims.species360.org/.

Additional Web Resources

SDZG Library Links