Skip to main content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library

Parma Wallaby (Macropus parma) Fact Sheet: Bibliography & Resources

Parma Wallaby Macropus parma

Bibliography

Archer M. 1985. The kangaroo. McMahons Point (Australia): Kevin Weldon.

Archer M, Arena R, Bassarova M, Black K, Brammall J, et al. 1999. The evolutionary history and diversity of Australian mammals. Aust Mammal. 21:1-45.

Cardillo M, Bininda-Emonds ORP, Boakes E, Purvis A. 2004. A species-level phylogenetic supertree of marsupials. J Zool Lond. 264:11-31.

Close RL, Lowry PS. 1989. Hybrids in marsupial research. Aust J Zool. 37 :259–267.

Dawson L, Flannery T. 1985 . Taxonomic and phylogenetic status of living and fossil kangaroos and wallabies of the genus Macropus Shaw (Macropodidae: Marsupialia), with a new subgeneric name for the larger wallabies. Aust J Zool. 33:473–498.

Domico T. 1993. Kangaroos: the marvelous mob. New York (NY): Facts on File.

Finnie EP, Littlejohns IR, Acland HM. 1976. Mortalities in parma wallabies (Macropus parma) associated with probably herpesvirus. Aust Vet J. 52:294.

Ganslosser U. 1989. Agonistic behavior in macropodoids -- a review. In: Grigg G, Jarman P, Hume I, editors. Kangaroos, wallabies and rat-kangaroos. Volume 2. Chipping Norton (Australia): Surrey Beatty & Sons. p. 475-504.

Ganslosser U. 1990. True kangaroos. In: Parker SP, editor. Grzimek's encyclopedia of mammals. Vol. 1. New York (NY): McGraw-Hill. p. 360-379.

Gove PB. 1971. Webster's third new international dictionary of the English language, unabridged. Springfield (MA): Merriam-Webster.

Hartman J. 2011. 2010 North American regional studbook: parma wallaby Macropus parma. Kansas City (KS): Kansas City Zoo.

Hartman J, Marti K. 2011. Population analysis & breeding and transfer plan: parma wallaby (Macropus parma) AZA Species Survival Plan Yellow Program. Chicago (IL): Association of Zoos & Aquariums Population Management Center. Available from: http://www.aza.org

Herter U, Schneider I, Ganslosser U. 1985. Some remarks on the behavioural repertoire of the parma-wallaby, Macropus parma Waterhouse. Zool Anz. 215(5/6):287-297. English.

Holz P. 2003. Marsupialia (Marsupials). In: Fowler ME, Miller RE, editors. Zoo and wild animal medicine, 5th ed. St. Louis (MO): Saunders. p. 288-303.

Hume ID, Jarman PJ, Renfree MB, Temple-Smith PD. 1989. 29. Macropodidae. In: Walton DW, Richardson BJ, editors. Fauna of Australia.

Hume ID. 1999. Marsupial nutrition. Cambridge (England): Cambridge University Press.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System database (ITIS) [Internet]. [cited 18 Jan 2013]. Macropus parma Waterhouse, 1848. Available from: http://www.itis.gov

Ivy JA, Miller A, Lacy RC, DeWoody JA. 2009. Methods and prospects for using molecular data in captive breeding programs: an empirical example using parma wallabies (Macropus parma). J Hered. 100(4):441-454.

Jackson S. 2003. Australian mammals: biology and captive management. Collingwood (Australia): CSIRO Publishing. Chapter 9, Macropods; p. 245-296.

Jackson S, Vernes K. 2011. Kangaroo : portrait of an extraordinary marsupial. Crows Nest (Australia): Allen & Unwin.

Jarman PJ, Coulson G. 1989. Dynamics and adaptiveness of grouping in macropods. In: Grigg G, Jarman P, Hume I, editors. Kangaroos, wallabies and rat-kangaroos. Chipping Norton (Australia): Surrey Beatty & Sons. p. 527-547.

Kilgallon CP, Bicknese B, Fagan DA. 2010. Successful treatment of chronic periapical osteomyelitis in a parma wallaby (Macropus parma) using comprehensive endodontic therapy with apicoectomy. J Zoo Wildl Med. 41(4):703-709.

Lentle RG, Haslett S, Hume ID, Stafford KJ , Kennedy M, Springett BP. 2003. Foraging behaviour in tammar (Macropus eugenii) and parma (Macropus parma) wallabies. Aust J Zool. 51:297–305.

Lunney D, McKenzie N. 2008 [cited 28 Dec 2012]. Macropus parma. In: IUCN 2012. IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. Version 2012.2. Available from: http://www.iucnredlist.org

Lunney D, McKenzie N. 2019. Parma Wallaby Macropus parma. The IUCN red list of threatened species. Version 2019.1; e.T12627A21953067 (species assessed 2015 Jun 15; page accessed 2019 Jun 15). doi:10.2305/IUCN.UK.2019-1.RLTS.T12627A21953067.en.

Martin HA. 2006. Cenozoic climatic change and the development of the arid vegetation in Australia. J Arid Environ. 66:533-563.

Maynes GM. 1973. Reproduction in the parma wallaby, Macropus parma. Aust J Zool. 21:331-351.

Maynes GM. 1976. Growth of the parma wallaby, Macropus parma Waterhouse. Aust J Zool. 24:217-236.

Maynes GM. 1977a. Breeding and age structure of the population of Macropus parma on Kawau Island, New Zealand. Aust J Ecol. 2(2): 207–214.

Maynes GM. 1977b. Distribution and aspects of the biology of the parma wallaby, Macropus parma, in New South Wales. Aust Wildl Res. 4:109-125.

Maynes G. 2008. Parma Wallaby, Macropus parma. In: Van Dyck S, Strahan R, editors. The mammals of Australia. 3rd ed. Sydney (Australia): Reed New Holland. p. 341-343.

Nowak RM. 1999. Walker's Mammals of the World, 6th ed. Vol. 1. Baltimore (MD): Johns Hopkins University Press. Order Diprotodontia; p. 84-146.

Office of Environment and Heritage (OEH), New South Wales Government. 2012 [cited 24 Jan 2013]. Parma wallaby -- profile. Available from: http://www.environment.nsw.gov.au

Prideaux GJ, Warburton NM. 2010. An osteology-based appraisal of the phylogeny and evolution of kangaroos and wallabies (Macropodidae: Marsupialia). Zool J Linnean Soc. 159(4):954-987.

Read DG, Fox, BJ. 1991. Assessing the habitat of the parma wallaby, Macropus parma (Marsupialia : Macropodidae). Wildl Res. 18:469–478.

Staker, Lynda. 2006. The complete guide to the care of macropods: a comprehensive guide to the handrearing, rehabilitation and captive management of kangaroo species. [Australia): Matilda's Publishing.

Tyndale-Biscoe H, Renfree M. 1987. Reproductive physiology of marsupials. Cambridge (England): Cambridge University Press.

UNEP. 2019. Species+ [online database]. Nairobi, Kenya: UNEP [compiled by UNEP-WCMC, Cambridge, UK]. [accessed 2019 Oct 08]. https://www.speciesplus.net/.

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. 2013 [cited 12 Feb 2013]. Parma wallaby (Macropus parma). Available from: http://ecos.fws.gov

Van Dyck S, Strahan R, editors. 2008. The mammals of Australia, 3rd ed. Sydney, Australia: Reed New Holland. Family Macropodidae: Kangaroos and Wallabies; p. 305-307.

Vernes K, Cooper T. 2007. Association of parma wallabies (Macropus parma) with sedge swamps in Gibraltar Range National Park. Aust Mammal. 29(1):111-113.

Vernes K. 2010. Mycophagy in a community of macropodoid species. In: Coulson G, Eldridge M, editors. Macropods: the biology of kangaroos, wallabies and rat-kangaroos. Collingwood (Australia): CSIRO Publishing. p. 155-169.

Warburton B. 2005. Parma wallaby. In: King CM, editor. The handbook of New Zealand mammals. 2nd ed. Auckland (New Zealand): Oxford University Press. p. 45-49.

Waterhouse GR. 1846. A natural history of the mammalia. Vol. 1, Marsupialia or pouched animals. London (England): H. Ballière.

Watson DM. 1998. Kangaroos at play: play behavior in the Macropodoidea. In: Beckoff M, Byers JA, editors. Animal Play. Cambridge (England): Cambridge University Press. p. 61-95.

Wilhelmsen CL, Montali RJ. 1980. Toxoplasmosis in a parma wallaby. In: Annual proceedings of the American Association of Zoo Veterinarians. p. 141-143.

Wilson DE and Mittermeier RA, eds. 2015. Parma wallaby Notamacropus parma. In: Handbook of the mammals of the world. Vol. 5: monotremes and marsupials. Barcelona (Spain): Lynx Edicions; c2015. p. 734.

Wodzicki K, Flux JEC. 1971. The parma wallaby and its future. Oryx. 11(1):40-47.

Additional Internet Resources

SDZG Library Links