Skip to main content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library

Rodrigues Fruit Bat (Pteropus rodricensis) Fact Sheet: Bibliography

Rodrigues Fruit Bat (Pteropus rodricensis)

Bibliography

Altringham, J.D. 1996. Bats: Biology and Behaviour. Oxford University Press. Oxford, New York, Tokyo.

American Zoo and Aquarium Association 2000. Rodriques Fruit Bat Fact Sheet.

Baker, R.J., M.J. Novacek, N.B. Simmons 1991. On the monophyly of bats. Systematic Zoology. 40(2): 216-231.

Bats Magazine 1995. The tale of the flying fox midwife. 13(2) On-line downloaded September 28, 2010. http://www.batcon.org/index.php/media-and-info/bats-archives.html?task=viewArticle&magArticleID=709

Braden, M. 2000. Fact Sheet: Rodrigues Fruit Bat (On-line). Behavior Matters. Accessed March 31, 2006 at http://www.letus.org/bmatters/animals/bat.html.

Carroll, J.B. 1979. The general behavioural repertoire of the Rodrigues fruit bat Pteropus rodricensis in captivity at the Jersey Wildflife Preservation Trust. Dodo: Journal of the Jersey Wildlife Preservation Trust 15:52-60.

Carroll, J.B. 1981. The wild status and behaviour of the Rodrigues fruit bat Pteropus rodricesis. A report of the 1981 field study. Dodo, Journal of the Jersey Wildlife Preservation Trust 18:20-29.

Carroll, J.B. 1984. The conservation and wild status of the Rodrigues fruit bat Pteropus rodricensis. Myotis 21-22:148-154.

Cheke, A.S., J.F. Dahl 1981. The status of bats on western Indian Ocean Islands with special reference to Pteropus. Mammalia 45:205-238.

Cox, P.A., T. Elmqvist, E.D. Pierson, W.E. Rainey 1992. Flying foxes as strong interactors in south Pacific island ecosystems: a conservation hypothesis. Conservation Biology 5:448-454.

Cox, P.A. and T. Elmqvist 1992. Flying foxes as pollinators and seed dispersers in Pacific Island ecosystems. In: Wilson D.E. and G. Graham Eds. Pacific Island Flying Foxes: Proceedings of an International Conservation Conference. U.S. Forest Service Biological Report 90(23)

Crichton, E., P. Krutzsch. 2000. Reproductive Biology of Bats. London: Academic Press

Dempsey, J.L. 2004. Fruit Bats: Nutrition and Dietary Husbandry. Nutrition Advisory Group Handbook Fact Sheet 014. Web version adapted (and updated) from Dempsey, J.L. 1998. Recent advances in fruit bat nutrition. Pp. 354-360 in Fowler, M.E. and R.E. Miller (eds.). Zoo and Wild Animal Medicine: Current Therapy 4. W.B. Saunders Co., Philadelphia, PA.

Dumont, E.R. 2003. Bats and fruit: an ecomorphological approach. In: Kunz, T.H. and M.B. Fenton (Eds.) Bat Ecology. University of Chicago Press: Chicago and London.

Durrell, G. 1977. Golden Bats and Pink Pigeons. Simon and Schuster.

Gillette, D. D. and J.D. Kimborough 1970. Chiropteran mortality. In: About Bats. B.H. Slaughter and D.W. Walton, (Eds.) Southern Methodist University Press. pp. 262-283.

Hayes, K., A. Feistner, E. Halliwell 1996. The effect of contraceptive implants on the behavior of female Rodrigues fruit bats, Pteropus rodricensis. Zoo Biology 15:21-36.

Heard, D.J., C.D. Buergelt, P.S. Snyder, A.K. Voges, E.S. Dierenfeld 1996. Dilated cardiomyopathy associated with hypovitaminosis E in a captive collection of Flying Foxes (Pteropus spp.). Journal of Zoo and Wildlife Medicine 27(2):149-157.

Heard, D.J. 1999. Chiroptera: medical management of megachiropterans. In: M.E. Fowler and R.E. Miller, (Eds.), Zoo and Wild animal Medicine. Philadelphia, WB Saunders Co.5th edition: pp. 344-354.

Hill, J.E. and J.D. Smith 1988. Bats: A Natural History. University of Texas Press, Austin, Texas. USA

Integrated Taxonomic Information System database (ITIS) [Internet]. [accessed 2017 Jan 24]. Pteropus rodricensis. http://www.itis.gov

Kirsch, J. A. W.; Flannery, T. F.; Springer, M. S.; and Lapointe, F. J. 1995. Phylogeny of the Pteropodidae (Mammalia:Chiroptera) based on DNA hybridization, with evidence for bat monophyly. Australian Journal of Zoology. 43, 395-428.

Kulzer, E. 1990. Bats. In: S. Parker (Ed.), Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Mammals. Vol. 1. Mammals. pp. 534-552. McGraw-Hill Publishing Company.

Kunz, T.H. and A.L. Allgaier 1994. Allomaternal care: helper-assisted birth in the Rodrigues fruit bat, Pteropus rodricensis (Chiroptera: Pteropodidae).

Kurta, A. and T. Kunz 1987. Size of bats at birth and maternal investment during pregnancy. Symposia Zoological Society of London No. 57:79-106.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System 2010. Accessed Sept 14, 2010 http://www.itis.gov/servlet/SingleRpt/SingleRpt?search_topic=TSN&search_value=203459

McNab, B. K.. and R. Bonaccorso 1995. The energetics of Pteropid bats. Symposium Zoological Society of London 67:111-122.

McNab, B.K., and M.I. Armstrong. 2001. Sexual dimorphism and scaling of energetics in flying foxes of the genus Pteropus. J. Mammal. 82(3):709-720

Mickleburgh, S., A.M. Hutson, P.A. Racey 1992. Old world fruit bats: an action plan for their conservation. IUCN/SSC chiroptera specialist group report. IUCN:, Gland, Switzerland.

Michleburgh, S., A.M. Hutson, W. Bergmans 2008. Pteropus rodricensis. In: IUCN 2010. IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. Version 20-10.3. <www.iucnredlist.org> Downloaded 14 Sept. 2010.

Nikaido, M., M. Harada, Y. Cao, M. Hasegawa, and N. Okada. 2000. Monophyletic origin of the order Chiroptera and its phylogenetic position among mammalia, as inferred from the complete sequence of the mitochondrial DNA of a Japanese megabat, the Ryukyu flying fox (Pteropus dasymallus).J. Mol. Evol. 51:318–328.

Nowak, R.M. 1999. Chiroptera: Pteropodidae; Genus Pteropus. Walker's Mammals of the World. 6th Edition Johns Hopkins University Press. Baltimore and London. pp. 264-305

O'Brien, J. G.F. McCracken, L. Say, T.J. Hayden 2007. Rodrigues fruit bats (Pteropus rodricensis, Megachiroptera: Pteropodidae) retain genetic diversity despite population declines and founder events. Conservation Genetics 8:1073-1082.

Olsson, A. 2009. Wing membranes. In: S.M. Barnard (Ed.), Bats in Captivity: Volume 1: Biological and Medical Aspects. Logos Press, Washington D.C.

Parsons, J.G. D. Blair, J. Luly, S. K.A. Robson 2008. Flying-fox (Megachiroptera: Pteropodidae) flight altitudes determined via an unusual sampling method:aircraft strikes in Australia. Acta Chiropterologica 10(2):377-379. http://www.bioone.org/doi/pdf/10.3161/150811008X414953

Pettigrew, J. D. (1986) Flying Primates? Megabats have the advanced pathway from eye to midbrain. Science 231, 1304-6.

Pettigrew JD, Jamieson BG, Robson SK, Hall LS, McAnally KI, Cooper HM (1989). "Phylogenetic relations between microbats, megabats and primates (Mammalia: Chiroptera and Primates)". Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, Series B, Biological Sciences 325 (1229): 489–559.

Pierson, E.D., and W.E. Rainey, 1992. The biology of flying foxes of the genus Pteropus: a review. In: Pacific island flying foxes: Proceedings of an international conservation conference (eds. D.E. Wilson and G.L. Graham), pp. 1–17. US Fish and Wildlife Service Biological Report 90(23). US Department of the Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service, Washington DC

Pierson, E.D.; Elmqvist, T.; Rainey, W.E. and Cox, P.A. (1996) Effects of cyclonic storms on flying fox populations on the South Pacific islands of Samoa. Conservation Biology 10, 438-451.

Pook, A.G. 1977. Breeding the Rodrigues fruit bat Pteropus rodricensis at the Jersey Zoological Park. Dodo 14:30-33.

Pope, B. 1998. Insectivory in Rodrigues fruit bats (Pteropus rodricensis) as an enrichment option. The Lubee Foundation Technical Bulletin, April 1998, The Lubee Foundation, Inc.

Powell, V.J. and S.C. Wehnelt 203. A new estimate for the population size of the critically endangered Rodrigues fruit bat Pteropus rodricensis. Oryx 37:353-357.

Schwab, I.R., J. Pettigrew 2005. Cover illustration: A choroidal sleight of hand. Journal of Ophthalmology 89:1398 http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1772916/pdf/bjo08901398.pdf

Simmons, Nancy B. and T. Conway. 1997. Chiroptera. Bats. Version 01 January 1997. http://tolweb.org/Chiroptera/15966/1997.01.01 in The Tree of Life Web Project. http://tolweb.org/Chiroptera

Simmons, N.B., Seymour, K.L., Habersetzer, J., Gunnell, G.F. 2008. Primitive Early Eocene bat from Wyoming and the evolution of flight and echolocation. Nature 451(7180):818–21.

Slaughter, B.H. and D.W. Walton (Eds.) 1970. About Bats: A Chiropteran Biology Symposium. Southern Methodist University Press.

Tatayah, V. R. Jhangeer-Khan, J.A. Bégué. 2017. Pteropus rodricensis. The IUCN red list of threatened species [Internet]. Version 2018.2; e.T18755A22087057 [species assessed 2016 Jul 12; page accessed 2019 Feb 26]. doi:10.2305/IUCN.UK.2017-2.RLTS.T18755A22087057.en.

Thatcher, O. 2010. Fruit and Nectar Bat Biology. Lubee Bat Conservancy.

Trewhella, W.J. K.M. Roodruquez-Clark, N. Corp., A. Entwistle, S.R. Garrett, et al. 2005. Environmental education as a component of multidisciplinary conservation programs: lessons from conservation initiatives for Critically Endangered fruit bats in the Western Indian Ocean. Conservation Biology 19(1):75-85.

United Nations System-Wide Earthwatch Web Site: Island Directory - Rodrigues Island. Data from 1988. Downloaded Sept 22, 2010. http://islands.unep.ch/IMK.htm

University of California, Museum of Paleontology. 2010. Morphology of the Chiroptera.

Vaughn, R. J. Ryan, N. Czaplewski 2010. Mammalogy, Fifth Edition. Jones and Bartlett Publishers. Sudbury, Massachusetts.

Wang, D. T. Oakley, J. Mower, L. Shimin, S. Yim, R. Honeycutt, H. Tsao, W.H. Li 2004. Molecular evolution of bat color vision genes. Molecular Biology and Evolution 21(2):295-302.

West, C.C. 1986. Reproductive biology of Pteropus rodricensis. Myotis 23-24:137-141.

West, C.C. and M.E. Redshaw 1987. Maternal behaviour in the Rodrigues fruit bat Pteropus rodricensis. Dodo: Journal of the Jersey Wildlife Preservation Trust 24:68-81.

Wilson, D.E. & Graham, G.L. 1992. Pacific Island Flying-Foxes. In Proceedings of an International Conservation Conference (eds D.E. Wilson & G.L. Graham). US Department of the Interior Biological report No 90.

Wing, S.M. 2001. Rodrigues fruit bat (Pteropus rodricensis): North American regional studbook. Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden.

Zhao, H. S. Rossiter, E. Teeling, C. Li, J. Cotton, S. Zhang. 2009. The evolution of color vision in nocturnal mammals. Proceeding of the National Academy os Sciences 106(22):8980-8985 http://www.pnas.org/content/106/22.toc

Additional Internet Resources

 

SDZG Library Links