This is the "General Information" page of the "Animals : A Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library
Library and online resources for information about animals
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2017 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/sdzg/guides/animals Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Animals : A Research Guide


gray wolf pup

©San Diego Zoo Global. All rights reserved.

Topics on This Page

What can I find in this guide? Recommended print and online sources for information about animals: general information; training, enrichment, and husbandry; taxonomy; mammals; birds; reptiles and amphibians; invertebrates; regulations and guidelines.

Related guides: Animal WelfareVeterinary Medicine

Disclaimer: This site is maintained by the SDZG Library for the use of San Diego Zoo Global staff and volunteers. Although we make every attempt to provide accurate information, some of the resources and links may become outdated. If you have suggestions for updates or additional resources, we welcome your feedback.

Encyclopedias & Databases

  • Encyclopedia of Life
    Species accounts by leading natural history institutions, botanical gardens, and libraries
  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
    Online version of the revised 2003 edition; includes supplements Evolution (2011) and Extinction (2013); available on SDZG networked computers
  • IUCN Red List of Endangered Species
    Taxonomic, conservation status, and distribution information on plants and animals around the globe
  • Kimball's Biology Pages
    Comprehensive encyclopedia of biology terms
  • Tree of Life : Animals
    Evolution, characteristics, and diversity of life on Earth
  • WildPro Electronic Encyclopedia and Library
    Health and management of captive and free-living wild animals; emerging infectious diseases. To enter site, click launch and disclaimer buttons. To view documents, select "Electronic Library" (top right). To view encyclopedia articles, use search box and navigation menu (below).

Field Guides & Inventories

  • California Wildlife Habitat Relationships (CWHR) Life History Accounts and Range Maps
    Updated versions of the species information in: Zeiner DC, Laudenslayer WF, Mayer KE, California Department of Fish and Game. 1988-. California's Wildlife (3-vol. set).
  • eNature Field Guides
    Plant and animal guides from the National Wildlife Federation; "ZipGuides" to animals and plants from specific regions
  • InfoNatura
    Animals and ecosystems of Latin America
  • San Diego Natural History Museum : Field Guide
    Guides and checklists for the indigenous species of Southern California and Baja California.
  • ZIMS
    A comprehensive animal information database and management platform for zoological organizations and the zoological community. Membership required to login.
  • ZipcodeZoo
    Free online natural history encyclopedia. All living species, based on the Catalogue of Life. Includes content from Wikipedia and Wikispecies. Photographs, videos, sound clips, maps.

Longevity, Ethology, Animal Names

Sounds & Images

Our Mission. The Library is dedicated to supporting San Diego Zoo Global’s mission by providing outstanding
information resources and research services to advance knowledge and strengthen our organization’s capacity to save
species worldwide. Our Vision. We will empower San Diego Zoo Global to lead the fight against extinction by serving as
the organization’s information hub and facilitating research of the highest quality.


© 2016 San Diego Zoo Global — All Rights Reserved

Our Family of Sites

  • Zoo logoSan Diego Zoo
  • Park logoSan Diego Zoo Safari Park
  • ICR logoSan Diego Zoo Institute for Conservation Research
  • SDZ Global logoSan Diego Zoo Global
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip