This is the "General Reference" page of the "Reference : Resources & Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library

Reference : Resources & Information  

Recommended reference websites and print resources at the San Diego Zoo Global Library
Last Updated: Aug 16, 2016 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/sdzg/guides/reference Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Reference


dictionary tabs

San Diego Zoo Global Library. ©San Diego Zoo Global. All rights reserved.

Topics on This Page

What can I find in this guide? Recommended print and online reference resources for a variety of topics, including: computers & software; government & regulations; demographics & statistics; health & safety; management; maps & travel; writing & publishing.

Disclaimer: This site is maintained by the SDZG Library for the use of San Diego Zoo Global staff and volunteers. Although we make every attempt to provide accurate information, some of the resources and links may become outdated. If you have suggestions for updates or additional resources, we welcome your feedback.

Dictionaries & Thesauruses

  • Dictionary.com
    Random House Unabridged Dictionary and other sources; includes audio pronunciations, word origins
  • Lexicool
    Portal to 8000+ dictionaries and glossaries; search by language or subject
  • Merriam-Webster Dictionary
    Limited online access to the complete Merriam-Webster Dictionary
  • Thesaurus.com
    Dictionary of synonyms and antonyms, from Random House Unabridged Dictionary and other sources
  • Wordnik
    Definitions from multiple sources; examples in context; audio pronunciations; lists of similar words

Abbreviations & Acronyms

Quotations

  • Bartlett's Quotations
    Search a database of 11,000+ quotations, compiled by John Bartlett (10th ed., 1919)
  • ThinkExist.com
    Search a database of 300,000+ quotations by 20,000+ authors

Our Mission. The Library is dedicated to supporting San Diego Zoo Global’s mission by providing outstanding
information resources and research services to advance knowledge and strengthen our organization’s capacity to save
species worldwide. Our Vision. We will empower San Diego Zoo Global to lead the fight against extinction by serving as
the organization’s information hub and facilitating research of the highest quality.


© 2016 San Diego Zoo Global — All Rights Reserved

Our Family of Sites

  • Zoo logoSan Diego Zoo
  • Park logoSan Diego Zoo Safari Park
  • ICR logoSan Diego Zoo Institute for Conservation Research
  • SDZ Global logoSan Diego Zoo Global
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip