Research guide linking to subscription and open-access journals and databases, by type and content.
Blue-and-Yellow Macaws (Ara ararauna), San Diego Zoo. © San Diego Zoo Global. All Rights Reserved.
- Search Everything!
Comprehensive literature search portal: find books and articles in the SDZG Library collections and beyond; download or request full text PDFs; available on SDZG networked computers
- Search by Journal
Search or browse A-Z list of journals with full-text access; search within a selected journal; available on SDZG networked computers
- Journal List — SDZG Library
Alphabetical list of journals, newsletters, and magazines available through the San Diego Zoo Global Library, with years, issues, links to online content. Note: these pages will be retired in 2017; please try our new Search by Journal service.
- Academic Search Complete (ASC)
Search a large multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles, reports, proceedings; download full-text; available on SDZG networked computers
Search a database of scholarly articles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences; download full-text; available on SDZG networked computers
- Birds of North America
View information on the identification, distribution, and natural history of 716+ North American bird species; available on SDZG networked computers
- Google Scholar
Search a comprehensive, up-to-date bibliographic database of scholarly articles; multidisciplinary; view citations; some free full-text
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Online version of the revised 2003 edition; includes supplements Evolution (2011) and Extinction (2013); available on SDZG networked computers
- Handbook of the Birds of the World (HBW) Alive
- JSTOR Biological Sciences Archival Collection
Search a database of scholarly articles in the biological sciences; strong in ecology, evolutionary biology, plant and animals sciences, paleontology, and conservation; download full-text for all but recent years; available on SDZG networked computers
- NCBI (Entrez) biomedical databases
Databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information: literature (some free full-text), health, genome, gene, protein, chemical
Bibliographic database of biomedical and veterinary literature; 24+ million citations, some free full-text
Database of U.S. government scientific publications; free full-text
- U.C. Davis biological & agricultural databases
Portal to U.C. Davis subscription databases of scholarly articles in the life sciences, health sciences, and agriculture; download full-text; restricted to SDZG veterinary staff (login required)