This is the "Databases" page of the "Journals & Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library

Journals & Databases  

Research guide linking to subscription and open-access journals and databases, by type and content.
Last Updated: Jan 16, 2017 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/sdzg/main/journals_databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases

Encyclopedias (Subscription)

Databases (Subscription)

  • Academic Search Complete (ASC)
    Search a large multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles, reports, proceedings; download full-text; available on SDZG networked computers
  • BioOne
    Search a database of scholarly articles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences; download full-text; available on SDZG networked computers
  • JSTOR Biological Sciences Archival Collection
    Search a database of scholarly articles in the biological sciences; strong in ecology, evolutionary biology, plant and animals sciences, paleontology, and conservation; download full-text for all but recent years; available on SDZG networked computers
  • U.C. Davis biological & agricultural databases
    Portal to U.C. Davis subscription databases of scholarly articles in the life sciences, health sciences, and agriculture; download full-text; restricted to SDZG veterinary staff (login required)

Databases (Open Access) — Animals by Taxonomic Group

  • Bats — Research Library
    Bibliographic database of bat scientific literature; no full-text; use search box to view bibliographic entries; Bat Conservation International
  • Birds — Ornithological Worldwide Literature (OWL)
    Bibliographic database of ornithological literature (excluding domestic/pet birds); includes "gray literature" not indexed by commercial databases; bibliographic entries include abstracts; no full-text; American Ornithologists' Union, British Ornithologists' Union, and Birds Australia
  • Birds — Searchable Ornithological Research Archive (SORA)
    Free full-text articles from 15 major ornithology journals; joint effort of the American Ornithologists' Union, the Cooper Ornithological Society, the Association of Field Ornithologists, the Wilson Ornithological Society, and the University of New Mexico Libraries
  • Carnivores — Carnivore Ecology & Conservation
    Carnivore information resources include news, extensive bibliographic database (20,000+ entries, no full-text), and 500+ dissertations (free full-text); maintained by researcher Guillaume Chapron
  • Elephants — Elephant Bibliographic Database
    Bibliographic database of elephant literature, with a focus on healthcare, science, and husbandry; no full-text; browse or search by category; Elephant Care International
  • Elephants — African Elephant Library
    Bibliographic database for articles on the biology, ecology, and management of the African elephant; search/browse entries; IUCN/SSC African Elephant Specialist Group and Save the Elephants (full-text restricted to AfESG members and STE staff)
  • Elephants — Elephant Database
    Population and range data for elephants worldwide; joint project of the IUCN African Elephant Specialist Group and Asian Elephant Specialist Group
  • Primates — PrimateLit
    Bibliographic database of primate scientific literature (1940-2010); no full-text; last update November 2010; Wisconsin and Washington Primate Research Centers
  • Reptiles & Amphibians — CNAH Herpetology Literature Database
    Extensive bibliographic database of articles on reptiles and amphibians (primarily North American); maintained by the Center for North American Herpetology; many free full-text
  • Rhinos — Literature & Articles
    Extensive database of literature covering every aspect of rhinoceros knowledge; bibliographic references, abstracts, some full- text; Rhino Resource Center

Databases (Open Access) — Biology, Conservation, Environment

  • Agricola (NAL Catalog)
    Bibliographic database of agricultural publications; no full-text (see PubAg for free articles); for Advanced Search, select "Article Citation Database"
  • American Museum of Natural History (AMNH) Research Library
    Collection of AMNH scientific publications (American Museum Journal, Natural History Magazine, annual reports, lectures, manuscripts, museum publications); free full-text
  • AnAge: The Animal Ageing and Longevity Database
    Fact sheets and bibliographic database of ageing and life history in animals; extensive longevity records, life history events, metabolism; article citations, no full-text; compiled by the Integrative Genomics of Ageing Group, University of Liverpool
  • Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL)
    Biodiversity legacy literature from a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries; 150,000+ book and journal volumes digitized and made public; free full-text
  • Botany, Plant Biology and Plant Science Journals
    Directory of journals that publish articles on plant biology; follow links to view Tables of Contents; access to free full-text varies according to journal
  • GreenFILE
    Collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles about effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments on the environment and ways to minimize these effects; 780,000+ records indexed and abstracted, with free full-text for 11,000+ records.
  • IUCN Publications Catalog
    Portal to IUCN publications: SSC Action Plans, regional biodiversity assessments, Species Magazine, Species e-bulletin, other; topics covered include endangered species, biodiversity, and conservation; free full-text
  • NCBI (Entrez) biomedical databases
    Databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information: literature (some free full-text), health, genome, gene, protein, chemical
  • PubAg
    Portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research; 40,000+ free full-text articles, bibliographic entries for 340,000+ articles; no subscription required
  • Science.gov
    Database of U.S. government scientific publications; free full-text
  • Wildpro Electronic Library
    Collection of books, articles, and documents relevant to wildlife (ethics, disease, species information, management guidelines); free full-text

Databases (Open Access) — Biomedical, Animal Health & Welfare

  • BioMed Central (BMC)
    Directory of open access journals and selected free full-text articles published by BMC in the fields of biomedical research, medicine, and veterinary medicine; for articles not in collection, use search box or subject tabs and follow links to journal websites
  • Center for Zoo Animal Welfare Bibliography database
    The Center is compiling a bibliographic database (citations and abstracts) of all known published works related to captive animal welfare
  • Databases on Medicine and Molecular Biology
    Portal to a large collection of medical and molecular biology databases: genomics, healthcare, images, laboratory, lipidomics, medicine, microbiology, oncology, patents, pharmacology, physics/chemistry, proteomics, toxicology, veterinary medicine; compiled by Josef Koenig, M.D.
  • NCBI (Entrez) biomedical databases
    Databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information: literature (some free full-text), health, genome, gene, protein, chemical
  • NLM Digital Collection
    The U.S. National Library of Medicine's online resource of biomedical books and videos; includes veterinary medicine; free full-text
  • PubMed
    Bibliographic database of biomedical and veterinary literature; 24+ million citations, some free full-text
  • PubMed Central (PMC)
    Collection of free full-text scholarly articles in the biomedical, health, veterinary, and life sciences; maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM); note: some journals have an embargo period before they release articles
  • Science.gov
    Database of U.S. government scientific publications; free full-text

Databases (Open Access) — Government, Regulations

  • Federal Register
    U.S. Government publications — free full-text; select "Federal Register" from Collections list, click "Add," enter search term below, click "Search"
  • SANDAG
    San Diego Association of Governments web portal with links to a variety of local information resources: programs, data, maps, publications, services, meetings, news
  • Science.gov
    Database of U.S. government scientific publications; free full-text
  • USFWS
    U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service's web portal to information on endangered species, conservation, and climate change; categories include programs, grants, importing/exporting, international activities, law enforcement, news, offices, permits, policies, and training

Databases (Open Access) — Multidisciplinary

  • Google Scholar
    Search a comprehensive, up-to-date bibliographic database of scholarly articles; multidisciplinary; view citations; some free full-text
  • HathiTrust Digital Library
    Book and journal content from the collections of a partnership of major research institutions and libraries, digitized and made public; free full-text
  • Paperity
    Collection of articles from 2450+ peer-reviewed open access journals; multidisciplinary; free full-text
  • Q-Sensei Scholar
    Bibliographic database of scholarly books and articles in the Library of Congress, National Library of Medicine, arXiv, IngentaConnect, and Research Papers in Economics (RePEC); multidisciplinary; 40+ million citations; alerts and other tools

Databases (Open Access) - Specialty

Our Mission. The Library is dedicated to supporting San Diego Zoo Global’s mission by providing outstanding
information resources and research services to advance knowledge and strengthen our organization’s capacity to save
species worldwide. Our Vision. We will empower San Diego Zoo Global to lead the fight against extinction by serving as
the organization’s information hub and facilitating research of the highest quality.


© 2016 San Diego Zoo Global — All Rights Reserved

Our Family of Sites

  • Zoo logoSan Diego Zoo
  • Park logoSan Diego Zoo Safari Park
  • ICR logoSan Diego Zoo Institute for Conservation Research
  • SDZ Global logoSan Diego Zoo Global
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip