LibGuides: Scholarly Search Engines: Search Engines

Academic and Scholar Search Engines and Sources

AcaWiki - Democratization of Academic Knowledge For reference only. Please check sources. AcaWiki offers a web 2.0 way of interacting with the public to increase impact. Research often languishes in academic journals, perhaps read only a few times by infrequent visitors. AcaWiki allows scholars to increase the impact of their research by enabling them to share summaries, long abstracts and literature reviews of their peer-reviewed work online.
AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics AgEcon Search collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.
Archives Hub The Archives Hub provides a single point of access to 18,420 descriptions of archives held in UK universities and colleges. At present these are primarily at collection-level, although complete catalogue descriptions are provided where they are available.
Refdoc - France Information for innovation, creation, invention. As a digital scientific library, Inist-CNRS has been providing access to research results, promoting and disseminating scientific work and analysing information. Access through the Refdoc catalogue for members of the CNRS (French National Center for Scientific Research), French Higher Education and Research and public centre institutions in France and abroad to consult bibliographic records and order document copies. Inist-CNRS also provides portals which allow researchers to consult on line the major scientific journals and databases in each field of study. Promotion/dissemination is achieved through the management, enhancement and dissemination of research data and of the databases of research communities. Inist-CNRS provides laboratories with a digital publishing platform and technical and editorial support. Analysis thanks to its strong Language Engineeering dimension, Inist-CNRS - services.
arXiv.org arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation. Included are hints for more fulfilling searches.
Asia-Studies Full-Text Online Asia-Studies Full-Text Online is the premier database for the study of modern Asia Pacific. As the exclusive licensee for many of the region's most prestigious research institutions, Asia-Studies.com brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 55 countries* on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues
Bioline International Bioline International is a non-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries. BI's goal of reducing the South to North knowledge gap is crucial to a global understanding of health (tropical medicine, infectious diseases, epidemiology, emerging new diseases), biodiversity, the environment, conservation and international development. By providing a platform for the distribution of peer-reviewed journals (currently from Bangladesh, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Egypt, Ghana, India, Iran, Kenya, Malaysia, Nigeria, Tanzania, Turkey, Uganda and Venezuela), BI helps to reduce the global knowledge divide by making bioscience information generated in these countries available to the international research community world-wide.
BPubs.com – The Business Publications Search Engine BPubs.com is a directory based Internet search engine that strives to cover the topic of Business Publications. By eliminating the noise of “homepages, index pages, and other extraneous web site components”, our users are able to extract what they truly searching for – content. Messy site, but returns good results.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on “Advanced Search” for more options.
Center for International Collections Databank The Ohio University Libraries Center for International Collections Databank includes the following fully searchable resources: a) Berita Database – Publications on Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei; b) Database for Overseas Chinese Newspapers and Journals; c) Distribution of the Ethnic Chinese Population around the World; d) Films Database; e) Database for Publications on Overseas Chinese; f) Database on Scholars and LIbrarians in Chinese Overseas Studies; g) Davis K. Wyatt Thai Database; and h) East Asian Scholars Database.
Deep Web Research Subject Tracer™ Information Blog A Subject Tracer™ Information Blog developed and created by Internet expert, author, keynote speaker and consultant Marcus P. Zillman, M.S., A.M.H.A. for monitoring deep web research resources and sites on the Internet.
Digital Library for Earth System Education (DLESE) DLESE supports Earth system science education by providing access to high-quality collections of educational resources and access to Earth data sets and imagery including the tools and interfaces that enable their effective use in educational settings. DLESE resources include electronic materials for both teachers and learners, such as lesson plans, maps, images, data sets, visualizations, assessment activities, curriculum, online courses, and much more. Lower levels (k-12) education materials.
Digital Library of the Commons (DLC) The Digital Library of the Commons (DLC) is a gateway to the international literature on the commons. The DLC provides free and open access to full-text articles, papers, and dissertations. This site contains an author-submission portal; an Image Database; the Comprehensive Bibliography of the Commons; a Keyword Thesaurus, and links to relevant reference sources on the study of the commons.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 1373 journals in the directory. Currently 336 journals are searchable on article level. As of today 61463 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
DOE Data Explorer (DDE) Use the DOE Data Explorer (DDE) to find scientific research data – such as computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images – generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research in various science disciplines. The DOE Data Explorer provides access both to collections and to individual datasets that have been submitted to OSTI by their creator, by a DOE National Laboratory, or by a DOE Data Center. OSTI became a member of and a registering agency for DataCite in 2011 and now assigns Digital Object Identifiers to individual datasets.
DOE PAGES (beta) DOE PAGESBeta contains an initial collection of journal articles and accepted manuscripts as a demonstration of its functionality and eventual expanded content. Over the next year, additional metadata and links to articles and accepted manuscripts will be added as they are submitted to OSTI, with anticipated annual growth of 20,000-30,000 publicly-accessible articles and manuscripts. When DOE PAGES moves beyond the "beta" period, it will offer distributed full-text access to all DOE-affiliated accepted manuscripts or articles after an administrative interval of 12 months.
DOE SciTech Connect SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, software, and data information, and was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to increase access to science, technology, and engineering research information from DOE and its predecessor agencies. OSTI is a program within DOE's Office of Science, the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States. Our mission is to advance science and sustain technological creativity by making R&D findings available and useful to DOE researchers and the American people.
Eigenfactor.org – Ranking and Mapping Scientific Knowledge together in a vast network of citations. Eigenfactor uses the structure of the entire network (instead of purely local citation information) to evaluate the importance of each journal. Eigenfactor contains 115,000 reference items. Eigenfactor not only ranks scholarly journals in the natural and social sciences, but also lists newsprint, PhD theses, popular magazines and more.
Electronic Environmental Resources Library (eERL) – Environmental and Energy Resources Library EERL's mission is to be the best possible online collection of environmental and energy sustainability resources for community college educators and for their students. The resources are also available for practitioners and the public. EERL is a product of a community college-based National Science Foundation Center, the Advanced Technology Environmental and Energy Center (ATEEC), and its partners.
EThOS – Electronic Theses Online Service EThOS aims to provide: •A national aggregated record of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions •Free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers to further their own research.
HathiTrust Digital Library HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than fifty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide. The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations.
IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research IDEAS the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 2,100,000 items of research, including over 2,000,000 that can be downloaded in full text. This site is part of a large volunteer effort to enhance the free dissemination of research in Economics, RePEc, which includes bibliographic metadata from over 1,800 participating archives, including all the major publishers and research outlets. IDEAS is just one of several services that use RePEc data.
MIT Theses – 30,000+ Masters and Ph.D. This collection of MIT Theses in DSpace contains selected theses and dissertations from all MIT departments. Please note that this is NOT a complete collection of MIT theses. To search all MIT theses, use Barton, MIT Libraries’ catalog. MIT’s DSpace contains more than 30,000 theses completed at MIT dating as far back as the mid 1800’s. Theses in this collection have been scanned by Document Services or submitted in electronic format by thesis authors. Since 2004 all new Masters and Ph.D. theses will be scanned and will be added to this collection after degrees are awarded.
NARCIS – The Gateway to Dutch Scientific Information NARCIS provides access to 170,259 scientific publications, 3,051 data sets, and information on researchers (expertise), research projects and research institutes in the Netherlands.
Open Grey – System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, is your open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents. Examples of grey (gray) literature include technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference papers, some official publications, and other types of grey literature. OpenGrey covers Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Science and Humanities.
Public Library of Science (PLOS) PLOS was founded in 2001 as a nonprofit Open Access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication. Open is no longer just about free and unrestricted access to research, it's also about open data, transparency in peer review and an open approach to science assessment. Open is a mindset that represents the best scientific values. One that focuses on bringing scientists together, to share work as rapidly and as widely as possible, to advance science faster and to benefit society as a whole.
Science.gov Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.
About ScienceResearch.com ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available Internet Web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. ScienceResearch.com is designed to allow students, teachers, professors, researchers, and the general public to access information from both public and private research journals and databases via a single portal.ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available Internet Web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. ScienceResearch.com is designed to allow students, teachers, professors, researchers, and the general public to access information from both public and private research journals and databases via a single portal.
WorldWideScience.org – Global Science Database Search Gateway WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases. Subsequent versions of WorldWideScience.org will offer access to additional sources as well as enhanced features