LibGuides: Conservation : A Research Guide: Tools, Statistics, Regulations

Conservation Tools, Statistics & Regulations

Alexandria Digital Research Library
Searchable digital library of geographically referenced materials. From UC Santa Barbara libraries.
GIS Interactive Map Server
Cornell University's GIS Project. Developing a comprehensive information system for the geosciences
GIS Tools for Conservation Planning
GIS tools from USGS. Rapidly assess landscape attributes and link them with species-habitat information
Global Change Master Directory (GCMD)
Keyword-searchable directory of 29,000+ earth and environmental science data sets and services. NASA database fosters information exchange between government agencies and universities worldwide
Google Earth Outreach
Online tool for non-profits and public benefit organizations. Create a visual geographic representation of your cause
National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (GEOINT)
Geospatial intelligence from U.S. Government, in support of national security
Southern California Integrated GPS Network (SCIGN)
Access to high-level GPS data products
USGS EarthExplorer
Search earth science data from the archives of the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS). Read EarthExplorer Tutorial to get started
WWF's Ecoregions
Identifies ecoregions for priority conservation consideration

Biodiversity: Facts and figures
Data on world's biodiversity as of October 2010 (SciDev.net)
Biostatistics
Online biostatistic lectures by Dr. C. Nicolas Padilla Raygoza (University of Guanajuato, Mexico)
Ecosystem Valuation-- USDA/NOAA
How economists value the beneficial ways that ecosystems affect people, written for non-economists
IUCN Summary Statistics
Summary of Red List data, categorized by taxonomic group and country
UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre -- United Nations Environment Programme
Datasets, Tools & Reports.

Center for International Environmental Law (CIEL)
Strengthens and uses international law to promote environmental protection, health, justice, and sustainability. Research publications, education & training
Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC)
U.S.-based environmental action group (service of the USDA). Research reports, issue briefs, fact sheets, analyses, free publications
Regulations.gov
U.S. government regulatory portal. Submit/review comments on proposed regulations & supporting documents
USFWS
Laws, Policies and Federal Register Notices. Links to summaries of major USFWS Endangered Species Act policies.

Library Home
Home page, San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Catalog
SDZWA Library's online public-access catalog - SDZWA team members may request books for delivery via interoffice mail
Journals A-Z
Journals available to team members through the SDZWA Library - search contents, view library holdings, access full text
Databases
Article databases available through the SDZWA Library; journal information
Fact Sheets
Portal to the SDZWA Library's detailed, fully referenced animal fact sheets
Priority Species Information
Custom literature searches and fact sheets for current priority species — for SDZWA team members, onsite access only
SDZWA Research Publications
Peer reviewed and scientific works by San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance staff.
Research Guides
Portal to the SDZWA Library's research guides: Animals, Animal Welfare, Conservation, Plants, Reference, Veterinary Medicine, Zoos & Aquariums
Contact Us
Email the SDZWA Library at library@sdzwa.org.

Animals
Guide to finding animal information online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Animal Welfare
Guide to finding animal welfare, training, and enrichment information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library.
Conservation
Guide to finding conservation information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Plants
Guide to finding plant, plant conservation, and botanical garden information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Veterinary Medicine
Guide to finding veterinary and biomedical information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Zoos & Aquariums
Guide to zoo & aquarium information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance; natural history museum links