Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Help for AIP Students
Hippo calf and mother at the San Diego Zoo. © San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance. All rights reserved.
Disclaimer: This site is maintained by the SDZWA Library for the use of San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance staff and volunteers. Although we make every attempt to provide accurate information, some of the resources and links may become outdated. If you have suggestions for updates or additional resources, we welcome your feedback.
15 Steps to Good Research
A brief introduction to how to successfully plan and carry out a research project, step by step. Includes links to key resources. From Georgetown University.
Scholarly Research Tutorial
Wondering where to start finding sources for a paper? Not sure where to go beyond Google? Here is a quick but thorough tutorial in effective research methods for scholarly papers. From University of St. Mary.
1. Academic Writing
Are you facing your first college writing project, or the first one in a very long time? This excellent, big-picture guide is a good place to start. Topics include organization, logic, clarity, conciseness, and word choice. From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).
2. The Writing Process
This guide gives you detailed, step-by-step advice for how to plan and write an academic paper. From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).
3. Grammar & Spelling
Grammar and spelling guidelines. From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Punctuation guidelines. From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).
5. Strunk's Elements of Style (E-BOOK)
William Strunk, Jr. 1918. The Elements of Style. This is a classic, very helpful guide to writing style. Offered in ebook format by barteleby.com (1999).
Primary vs. Secondary Sources
Primary source: Authoritative firsthand account, or original creative work
- Examples: Research data, letters, diaries, speeches, original photographs
Secondary source: Summary, interpretation, critique, or analysis
- Examples: Encyclopedias, textbooks, reviews, editorials, commentaries
Tip: An article from a scholarly journal or newspaper may be either.
- Is it an original account (primary), or a review/commentary (secondary)?
Peer-reviewed (scholarly) journals have long been the gold standard for publishing research findings. When you search literature databases, look for the option to limit results to peer-reviewed or scholarly journals.
Finding Scholarly Sources
A guide that will help you locate scholarly sources and identify peer-reviewed articles, from Miami University Middletown Gardner-Harvey Library
Anyone can publish anything on the internet! The following guidelines will help you identify reliable online information sources:
Warning: Predatory Publishers
Unfortunately, newcomers looking for a quick profit are muddying the waters of scholarly publishing. These so-called predatory publishers do not rigorously review or fact-check articles before publishing, but they falsely advertise themselves as "peer-reviewed." Such scams are becoming disturbingly common.
Before you cite information from a journal, submit a manuscript, or agree to serve on an editorial board, please check the links below and take the following steps:
- Confirm that the journal publishes research articles only after they have passed an expert review process.
- Confirm that the editorial board consists of reputable experts in the field.
- Check the journal's reputation with colleagues or online.
Keep in mind, not all open-access journals are from predatory publishers. Many open-access journals are reputable and authoritative university, society, or other non-profit initiatives.
MU Libraries: Guide for AIP Students
Miami University Libraries Website
Contact an MU Librarian
Useful Research Guides
Howe Writing Center
- Online Consultations
- You and your consultant meet in real-time and talk through video, audio, and/or chat.
- Send your paper as a Microsoft Word document or Google Doc. Your consultant will provide written feedback.
All of these are available on the MU Libraries home page at Databases A-Z:
Biology, Conservation, Environment
- Web of Science is an interdisciplinary database best-known for the natural sciences. Its key feature is citation tracking (look up an article and find related, more recent papers that have cited it. Coverage includes 1965-present.
- Biological Abstracts/BIOSIS Previews gives the most comprehensive coverage of literature in the life sciences, including journal articles, meeting abstracts, and books. It covers both basic and applied biology broadly, e.g. agriculture, biochemistry, ecology, medicine, neuroscience, and physiology. Coverage includes 1969-present.
- ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database that offers journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. It currently includes more than 9.5 million articles/chapters and offers sophisticated search and retrieval options.
- AGRICOLA is the index of the National Agriculture Library. It covers animal welfare, plant science, fisheries, ecology, nutrition, environmental sciences, and veterinary science topics.
- Environment Complete covers environmental aspects of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning.
- PsychINFO is the principal lit database for basic and clinical psychology and includes excellent coverage of animal behavior and neuroscience literature.
- ERIC is an education literature database that indexes more than 600 journals. In addition, contributors have given ERIC permission to display more than 115,000 full-text materials in PDF format - at no charge.
- Education Research Complete covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- Education Full Text covers educational topics including administration and supervision, preschool, elementary, secondary, higher, and adult education; counseling and personnel service, teaching methods, and curriculum. It also covers contemporary educational issues.
- Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
SDZWA Library: How to Find Books and Articles
SDZWA Library Links
Home page, San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
SDZWA Library's online public-access catalog - SDZWA team members may request books for delivery via interoffice mail
Journals available to team members through the SDZWA Library - search contents, view library holdings, access full text
Article databases available through the SDZWA Library; journal information
Portal to the SDZWA Library's detailed, fully referenced animal fact sheets
Priority Species Information
Custom literature searches and fact sheets for current priority species — for SDZWA team members, onsite access only
SDZWA Research Publications
Peer reviewed and scientific works by San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance staff.
Portal to the SDZWA Library's research guides: Animals, Animal Welfare, Conservation, Plants, Reference, Veterinary Medicine, Zoos & Aquariums
Email the librarians at firstname.lastname@example.org
SDZWA Research Guides
Guide to finding animal information online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Guide to finding animal welfare, training, and enrichment information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library.
Guide to finding conservation information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Guide to finding plant, plant conservation, and botanical garden information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Guide to finding veterinary and biomedical information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Zoos & Aquariums
Guide to zoo & aquarium information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance; natural history museum links