Skip to main content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library

Veterinary Medicine : A Research Guide: Literature & Databases

Online and print resources for veterinary information -- topics include organizations, apps, animal groups, diseases, diagnosis, anesthesia, emergency medicine, nutrition, bites/stings/envenomation, toxic plants

Veterinary Literature & Databases

a panda cub gets and exam at the San Diego Zoo

Giant panda cub Xiao Liwu, San Diego Zoo. ©San Diego Zoo Global. All rights reserved.

Disclaimer: This site is maintained by the SDZG Library for the use of San Diego Zoo Global staff and volunteers. Although we make every attempt to provide accurate information, some of the resources and links may become outdated. If you have suggestions for updates or additional resources, we welcome your feedback.

Books & Media

Books

Fowler's zoo and wild animal medicine: volume 8
Edited by R. Eric Miller and Murray E. Fowler
Call no. SF996 .Z66 2015

Avian medicine, 2nd ed.
By Jaime Samour
Call no. SF994 .A95 2007 ZOO

Handbook on injectable drugs : single user version
Edited by Lawrence A. Trissel
Call no. RM143 .T75 2011 ZOO

IACUC handbook
Edited by Jerald Silverman, et al.
Call no. QL55 .I23 2007

Pathologic basis of veterinary disease
Edited by M. Donald McGavin and James F. Zachary
Call no. SF769 .P38 2012

Physician's desk reference, 69th ed.
Call no. RS75 .P5 2015

Plumb's veterinary drug handbook
By Donald C. Plumb
Call no. SF748 .P68 2015

Restraint and handling of wild and domestic animals, 3rd ed.
Edited by Murray E. Fowler
Call no. QL74 .F78 2008

The Sanford guide to antimicrobial therapy
By David N. Gilbert
Call no. SF748 .S26 2015

Zoonoses: infectious diseases transmissible from animals to humans, 4th ed.
By Rolf Bauerfeind et al.
Call no. SF996 .Z666 2016

CD-ROMs

Basic avian techniques [3 CD-ROM set]
Produced by M. Schott Echols
Call no. QL674 .E35 2003 CD-ROMS

Transmissible diseases handbook
By Nico Schoemaker, et al.
Call no. SF996 .T73 2006 CD-ROMS

What's that? A beginner's guide to veterinary ultrasound
By Tom Baker
Call no. SF748 .B36 2009 WAP

Zoonotic diseases: a summary of the more common maladies afflicting animals and man, 3rd ed.
Produced by AAZK
Call no. SF995.84 .A4 2005 CD-ROM

Databases

Veterinary and Animal Care Literature Databases

Articles

Searching for zoo and evidence-based veterinary medicine articles

Full-text provided to SDZG staff: If the link does not access free full-text, download the article
through the veterinarians' UCD login or submit a request to library@sandiegozoo.org.

Good Places to Start

SDZG Research Guides

SDZG Library Links