LibGuides: Veterinary Medicine : A Research Guide: Websites

Veterinary Websites

Western lowland gorilla Joanne, delivered by c-section. At two days old, Joanne was successfully treated for a collapsed lung by a team of San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance veterinary and animal care staff, with the assistance of a human neonatal specialist and anesthesiologist from UC San Diego Health Systems. © San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance. All rights reserved.

Disclaimer: This site is maintained by the SDZWA Library for the use of San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance staff and volunteers. Although we make every attempt to provide accurate information, some of the resources and links may become outdated. If you have suggestions for updates or additional resources, we welcome your feedback.

Websites : Anesthesia & Restraint

American College of Veterinary Anesthesiologists
Small animal and equine guidelines, member directory
Anesthetics, Analgesics, and Tranquilizers in Laboratory Animals
Guidelines prepared by University of Minnesota
Anesthesia of Exotic Animals
Article by Christian J. Wenker, University of Zurich
Euthanasia Guidelines
Report prepared by AVMA
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia Support Group (VASG)
Analgesia/pain management guide, information by disease or drug name, videos
Virtual Anaesthesia Textbook
Online resource for anaesthesia providers and support staff. Prepared by Dr. Chris Thompson, MBBS, FANZCA, coordinator.
Zoological Restraint and Anesthesia -- IVIS (D. Heard, ed.)
Requires registration -- free for veterinarians and vet staff

Websites : Birds

Atlas of Avian Diseases
Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
Avian Influenza Information Resources
General information, links to further resources. USDA/AWIC
Field Manual of Wildlife Disease : General Field Procedures and Diseases of Birds
USGS National Wildlife Health Center.

Websites : Bites, Stings, Envenomation

Insects

Overviews from Medscape Reference (requires free registration):

Reptiles

AZA Antivenom Index
AZA & American Association of Poison Control Center (limited access)
Brown Snake Envenomation
Shaun J. Chun, MD, FACEP & David Cheng, MD
Cobra Envenomation
Robert Norris, MD & Sherman Minton, MD
Coral Snake Envenomation
Robert Norris, MD
Lizard Envenomation - Gila Monster and Beaded Lizard
Robert Norris, MD
Moccasin (pit viter) Envenomation
Sean P. Bush, MD, FACEP
Mojave Rattlesnake Envenomation
Sean P. Bush, MD, FACEP
Rattlesnake Envenomation
Sean P. Bush, MD, FACEP
Sea Snake Envenomation
James Foster, MD, MS
Venomous Snakebites in the U.S.: Management Review and Update
Gregory Juckett, MD, MPH, and John G. Hancox, MD

Websites : Diagnostic Aids

Atlas of Pathology -- University of Illinois
Image atlas, created by pathologists
Comparative Placentation
Online reference that examines and evaluates many different types of mammalian placentas
Consultant -- Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
Online diagnostic support system for veterinary medicine
Manual of Diagnostic Tests and Vaccines for Terrestrial Animals - OIE
Frequently updated
Merck Veterinary Manual
Comprehensive electronic reference for animal care information
MorphoSource
3D digital datasets of internal and external anatomy of specimens from the world’s universities and natural history institutions. Large representation of primates; growing coverage of other species. Primarily funded by Duke University.

Websites: Diseases & Epidemiology

Animal Disease Information -- OIE
Information prepared by the World Organization for Animal Health
Animal Disease Information -- CSFPH
Center for Food Security & Public Health, Iowa State University. Extensive list, wealth of information (fact sheets, images, clinical signs, agents, etc.)
HealthMap
Real-time zoonoses tracking map from UC Davis and US Agency for International Development
Center for Infectious Diseases
Web site of California Department of Public Health Center for Infectious Diseases. Local epidemiology news, data and statistics, regulations, etc.
Manual on the Preparation of National Animal Disease Emergency Preparedness Plans
Publication from UN Food and Agriculture Organization
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) -- CDC
Weekly publication
National Wildlife Health Center -- USGS
Wealth of health information, especially about diseases of North American wildlife
Pandemic Preparedness (CDC)
Resource from Centers for Disease Control
Pandemic Preparedness (WHO)
Resource from World Health Organization
West Nile Virus Surveillance
Latest West Nile Virus activity in California, updated biweekly
Weekly Epidemiological Record (WER) -- WHO
Weekly bulletin from WHO that disseminates information on communicable diseases
Wildpro Electronic Library: Diseases
Characteristics, epidemiology, and control of specific wildlife diseases, compiled by Twycross Zoo
Zoonoses Overview
Website from LA County, focuses on prevention.
Zoonoses -- MedlinePlus, NIH
Subject guide "Animal Diseases and Your Health"
Zoonotic Diseases Tutorial -- Purdue University School of Veterinary Medicine
Good overview on the epidemiology of human-animal interactions

Websites : Emergency Medicine

Animals in Disasters
NLM/NIH
Disaster Preparedness for Veterinarians -- AVMA
Includes link to free full-text Emergency Preparedness and Response Guide
Environmental Emergency Medicine
Articles provided by Medscape Reference
Insects & Spiders
List of resources compiled by San Diego Zoo librarians
Snakes
List of resources compiled by San Diego Zoo librarians

Websites : General Veterinary Information & Portals

AGRICOLA
Animal and veterinary science information. National Agricultural Library (NAL)
Animal & Plant Health Information Services (APHIS)
Information on diseases facing animals today and prevention measures. USDA
Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM)
Information on regulation of manufacturing/distribution of food additives and drugs for animals. U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
DVM360
Newsmagazine of Veterinary Medicine
Evidence-Based Practice (EBP)
Subject guide with information, tutorials, and search strategies for veterinary EBP. University of Tennessee Libraries
International Veterinary Information Service (IVIS)
Organization that provides information to veterinarians and health professionals. Requires registration -- free for veterinarians and vet staff
Martindale's Virtual Veterinary Center
Online index of veterinary medicine information resources
National Wildlife Health Center (NWHC) Database
Publications authored by staff
UC Davis Veterinary Medical Resources
Subject guide on veterinary science and practice. University of California Davis Health Sciences Libraries
Veterinary Information Portal
Gateway to online veterinary teaching information and resources. University of Sydney
VetMed Texts
Maintained by IVIS. Requires free registration
Wildlife Health Bulletins
Reports compiled by USGS

Websites : Mammals

Elephants

African Elephant Library (AEL)
Literature database (citations, some full text): African elephant biology, ecology, and management (IUCN/SSC African Elephant Specialist Group; Save the Elephants)
EEHV Information
Elephant endotheliotropic herpesviruses resource, by EEHV Advisory Group
Elephant Care International
Website of organization dedicated to supporting healthcare for elephants
Elephant Pharmaceutical Formulary
Prepared by Susan K. Mikota and Donald C. Plumb, published by Elephant Care International
Elephant Research and Tissue Request Protocol
Joint publication of AZA and International Elephant Foundation
Veterinary Care of African Elephants
Manual prepared by JG du Toit

Primates

Primate Info Net Vet Resources
Animal care information -- anesthesia, formularies, environmental enrichment, behavioral management, handling, housing, training, etc. Prepared by National Primate Research Center, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Ungulates

Bovine Necropsy Module
Step-by-step video on bovine field necropsy, diagnostic sample collection, packaging, and shipping. Prepared by Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
Johne's Disease
Resources compiled by APHIS/USDA
Rhino Ranching
White rhino management manual, prepared by JG du Toit
Rhino Resource Center Literature Database
Extensive database of rhinoceros information, including veterinary medicine

Websites : Nutrition

Board on Agricultural and Natural Resources (BANR) Nutrient Requirements Reports
Series from the National Academies on nutrient requirements of domesticated animals. Search database for "nutrient requirements" to filter out other reports
European Zoo Nutrition Centre (EZNC)
Non-profit foundation dedicated to stimulating the field of zoo nutrition in Europe
Milk Composition and Synthesis
Educational module on milk -- properties, components, synthesis in mammary cells. Prepared by Walter L. Hurley, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
USDA Nutrient Database
Reference for the foundation of most food and nutrition databases in the United States. Maintained by Nutrient Data Laboratory

Websites : Pharmacology

Adverse Drug Experience Reporting
Portal for reporting pet food complaints and adverse drug events
Elephant Formulary
Prepared by Susan K. Mikota and Donald C. Plumb. Published by Elephant Care International
FDA's Approved Animal Drugs (Green Book)
List of all FDA-approved animal drug products. Includes trade names, active ingredients, sponsor and patent information, monthly updates
FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM)
Information on regulation of manufacture and distribution of food additives and drugs given to animals
Martindale's "Virtual" Pharmacy, Pharmacology & Toxicology Center
Links to online pharmacology and toxicology resources
The Orange Book (FDA)
Drug products with therapeutic equivalence evaluations
RxList
Internet Drug Index, provided by WebMD
UK Veterinary Medicines Directorate
UK Adverse Reactions Surveillance

Websites : Toxic Plants

Guide to Plant Poisoning of Animals in North America
"This book is a resource for helping identify poisonous plants in the home and garden, as well as providing information on the toxic properties of the plants and the clinical signs that can be expected in animals that eat the plants." -- Publisher
Plants Poisonous to Livestock and other Animals
Reference list including images of poisonous plants and pictures of affected animals. Maintained by Cornell University Department of Animal Science
Plants Toxic to Animals
Plants listed by common and scientific names. Maintained by University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Veterinary Medicine Library

Websites : Zoo Veterinary Medicine

AWIC Zoo, Circus & Marine Mammals
Guidelines, standards and regulations from USDA
UK Standards of Modern Zoo Practice
From the UK Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Zoo Research Guidelines
From the British & Irish Association of Zoos & Aquariums

SDZWA Research Guides

Animals
Guide to finding animal information online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Animal Welfare
Guide to finding animal welfare, training, and enrichment information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library.
Conservation
Guide to finding conservation information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Plants
Guide to finding plant, plant conservation, and botanical garden information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Veterinary Medicine
Guide to finding veterinary and biomedical information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Zoos & Aquariums
Guide to zoo & aquarium information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance; natural history museum links

SDZWA Library Links

Library Home
Home page, San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Catalog
SDZWA Library's online public-access catalog - SDZWA team members may request books for delivery via interoffice mail
Journals A-Z
Journals available to team members through the SDZWA Library - search contents, view library holdings, access full text
Databases
Article databases available through the SDZWA Library; journal information
Fact Sheets
Portal to the SDZWA Library's detailed, fully referenced animal fact sheets
Priority Species Information
Custom literature searches and fact sheets for current priority species — for SDZWA team members, onsite access only
SDZWA Research Publications
Peer reviewed and scientific works by San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance staff.
Research Guides
Portal to the SDZWA Library's research guides: Animals, Animal Welfare, Conservation, Plants, Reference, Veterinary Medicine, Zoos & Aquariums
Contact Us
Email the SDZWA Library at library@sdzwa.org.