This is the "Sperm Atlas A-Z Index" page of the "Sperm Atlas" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library

Sperm Atlas   Tags: databases, reproduction, san diego zoo, sdzg, sperm atlas, zoos  

The Sperm Atlas displays morphology information for sperm cells collected from animals at the San Diego Zoo and other organizations. The database was created by the Reproductive Physiology Division of the San Diego Zoo Institute for Conservation Research;
Last Updated: Feb 9, 2017 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/sdzg/databases/spermatlas Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Sperm Atlas A-Z Index Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Sperm Atlas Index

desert tortoise sperm

Desert tortoise (Gopherus agassizii) sperm. Credit: San Diego Zoo Institute for Conservation Research. All rights reserved.

About

The Sperm Atlas is a sperm morphology database created and maintained by the Reproductive Physiology Division of the San Diego Zoo Institute for Conservation Research. It highlights a portion of the sperm cells collected from animals at the San Diego Zoo and other organizations.

This access portal is maintained by the San Diego Zoo Global Library. The combined file is available for download below. Individual species records may be viewed online and downloaded as PDFs.

Download Complete Atlas

Download Sperm Atlas [15 MB]

View Individual Records

Click a link under Common Name A-Z or Scientific Name A-Z. The PDF will open on a separate page. To view names by taxonomic category, select one of the tabs above.

 

History of the Sperm Atlas

In February of 2009, The Reproductive Physiology Division of the San Diego Zoo Institute for Conservation Research took on their first High Tech High intern, Michelle Doyle, to create a database that would display the diversity of sperm morphology that exists in the animal kingdom. Using our historical slide inventory, which includes sperm morphology slides dating back to 1980, Michelle created a database that one day would be available to the public. We call this database the Sperm Atlas.

The project was taken over by a High Tech High North County intern, Michael Figlioli in 2010. Together they have created a database that highlights a small portion of the sperm cells that have been collected from the San Diego Zoo, as well as other organization’s animals over the 4 decades that the Reproductive Physiology Division has been in existence. Many of the cells pictured were representative samples taken from sperm that are now frozen and stored in the San Diego Zoo’s Frozen Zoo©.

This was a student project that came out of a realization that no other online, free access, animal sperm atlas existed thus far. The staff of the Reproductive Physiology Department felt they had a treasure they would like to share with other researchers, teachers, students and people excited by biology and the many wonders of nature.

We continue to make additions to this atlas as more samples are processed. The measurements are often averages from many measurements taken from several specimens.

All Species — Common Name A-Z

All Species — Scientific Name A-Z

Our Mission. The Library is dedicated to supporting San Diego Zoo Global’s mission by providing outstanding
information resources and research services to advance knowledge and strengthen our organization’s capacity to save
species worldwide. Our Vision. We will empower San Diego Zoo Global to lead the fight against extinction by serving as
the organization’s information hub and facilitating research of the highest quality.


© 2016 San Diego Zoo Global — All Rights Reserved

Our Family of Sites

  • Zoo logoSan Diego Zoo
  • Park logoSan Diego Zoo Safari Park
  • ICR logoSan Diego Zoo Institute for Conservation Research
  • SDZ Global logoSan Diego Zoo Global
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip