This is the "Journal Articles" page of the ""How To" Guide to the SDZG Library's Collections & Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library

"How To" Guide to the SDZG Library's Collections & Services   Tags: aip, borrow, catalog, checkout, databases, ill, journals, library, renew, request, return, san diego zoo, sdzg, tutorials  

Last Updated: Jan 3, 2017 URL: http://ielc.libguides.com/sdzg/main/howto Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search Our Journals & Databases

journals on shelf

Paid journal and database subscriptions are provided for staff and volunteer use. They are available on SDZG-networked computers at no charge. Open-access journals and databases are freely available to all users. Please see our copyright link below to view information about appropriate use of published materials.

  • Search Everything!
    Comprehensive literature search portal: find books and articles in the SDZG Library collections and beyond; download or request full text PDFs; available on SDZG networked computers
  • Search by Journal
    Search or browse A-Z list of journals with full-text access; search within a selected journal; available on SDZG networked computers
  • Journals A-Z
    The SDZG Library subscribes to many zoological and conservation journals, online and in print. Browse the alphabetical list for information on available years/issues, locations, online access, and restrictions. This link will be retired in 2017, replaced by Search by Journal (above).
  • Databases
    This guide is a gateway to the Library's database subscriptions. It also provides links to a variety of open-access journals and databases, search engines, and journal services.
  • Copyright Policy
    Please see our copyright notice for details on appropriate use of published materials.
 

How to Retrieve an Article

On your own

SDZG staff and volunteers can download many articles at no charge.

To start an article or journal search:

Onsite. On an SDZG-networked computer, open the SDZG Library website and click on Search Everything! Click a PDF or Full Text Access link to read an article. If no full-text link is available, use the "Request from SDZG Library" link to submit a request.

Offsite. Search Everything! and journal subscriptions should also be accessible when connected to an SDZG network by VPN. Please let us know if a password is requested or you are having difficulties.

Submit a request

If you need help or can't get free access on your own, your friendly librarians are here to assist all SDZG staff and volunteers.

Please email or call us (x5736) with the full citation: title, authors, year, journal, volume, pages, doi. If we have direct access, turnaround time is quick (typically same day).

If we don't have direct access, we will submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request, which may take a few days or up to two weeks.

Popular Databases & Search Engines

  • Search Everything!
    Comprehensive literature search portal: find books and articles in the SDZG Library collections and beyond; download or request full text PDFs; available on SDZG networked computers
  • Google Scholar
    Search a comprehensive, up-to-date bibliographic database of scholarly articles; multidisciplinary; view citations; some free full-text
  • Academic Search Complete (ASC)
    Search a large multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles, reports, proceedings; download full-text; available on SDZG networked computers
  • JSTOR Biological Sciences Archival Collection
    Search a database of scholarly articles in the biological sciences; strong in ecology, evolutionary biology, plant and animals sciences, paleontology, and conservation; download full-text for all but recent years; available on SDZG networked computers
  • PubMed
    Bibliographic database of biomedical and veterinary literature; 24+ million citations, some free full-text

Our Mission. The Library is dedicated to supporting San Diego Zoo Global’s mission by providing outstanding
information resources and research services to advance knowledge and strengthen our organization’s capacity to save
species worldwide. Our Vision. We will empower San Diego Zoo Global to lead the fight against extinction by serving as
the organization’s information hub and facilitating research of the highest quality.


© 2016 San Diego Zoo Global — All Rights Reserved

Our Family of Sites

  • Zoo logoSan Diego Zoo
  • Park logoSan Diego Zoo Safari Park
  • ICR logoSan Diego Zoo Institute for Conservation Research
  • SDZ Global logoSan Diego Zoo Global
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip