Skip to Main Content
site header image

TNC Elsevier Overview: Home

This guide provides TNC researchers with information on the Elsevier platform specific to TNC's subscription. It also helps users learn about platform features and functionality, and determine whether Elsevier can aid in their research.

Vendor Summary

Elsevier is a world leader in information, analytics, and scientific publishing, and has served the global research and healthcare communities for over 140 years: 

  • Provides services and resources to academic, government, and medical institutions, and top research and development companies in over 180 countries and regions 

  • High-quality and trusted journals publish 600,000 articles per year, accounting for 18% of articles and 28% of citations internationally 

The TNC E-Collection provides users with selections from the ScienceDirect Subject Collection, two complete titles, and Elsevier's open access materials. For more, see below for general information on Elsevier's platform and go to the "Subscriptions" tab for subscription details.  

Subscription Access

Select the link here to search for e-resources through Elsevier. Unlike our other subscription platforms, users have to login to Elsevier vs. connect via VPN. Please refer to the TNC E-Collection Access Instructions available on the Journal Access Connect page for more details. 

Research Tools

Elsevier's platform includes numerous features that enable efficient research:

  • Create custom alerts for a specific field of research or study 

  • Download, save, and share citations in numerous formats

  • Editable reading history tracks users’ 100 most-recently viewed resources  

  • 363,000 Topic Pages help users quickly familiarize themselves with new concepts:  

    • Set alerts for specific Topic Pages 

    • View Topic Pages separately or via embedded links within resources

  • Recommends reading based on reading history, articles viewed by peers, and Scopus citation data

  • Use tabular navigation to view usage metrics, references, and cross-reference citations separately from main resource content 

  • Enhanced PDF reader shows outlines, citations, recommendations, in-article references, and author links for a richer reading experience 

Vendor Training Resources

View the ScienceDirect Support Center for information on a wide range of topics and platform usage resources.  

Librarian

Contact Information

If you have any questions about the TNC E-Collection or the Elsevier products TNC subscribes to, please email journals@tnc.org.