We all have trouble finding free or low-cost articles, books, and other resources. It's nice to have the IELC community and our discussion list for quick requests! Here are a few additional resources for you to investigate. Send a message out to the discussion list if you learn of others!
A reminder about copyright
Remember that your use of an article or item (especially if shared by an IELC colleague) reflects on all of us. Make sure you understand the copyright and permissions associated with ILL and loan items (even if there is no copyright statement attached to the item you received).
The American Library Association has a nice libguide on this very topic: Copyright for Libraries
Cornell University ILL Services for Non-Cornellians - use their online lending request form (around $20/request).
DOCLINE is the National Library of Medicine's interlibrary loan request routing system. Sign up for an account, or contact your regional library association or medical library for potential low-cost/subsidized access (as is the case in NY). DOCLINE utilizes the PubMed database of biomedical literature (including veterinary medicine).
Linda Hall Library Document Delivery provides digital copies of articles, book chapters and other materials ($13-18/request).
Research Solutions (formerly Reprints Desk) for document deliveries ASAP
RightFind from the Copyright Clearance Center for "full-text journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, standards, and more..."
University of Maryland Interlibrary Loan provides libraries throughout the world with access to UMCP collections. You will need to create an ILLiad account to request items. $15 for electronic and photocopies. Pay by credit card.
University of Michigan- to place requests, email ill-lending@umich.edu. Be sure to indicate: "agree to fee" when submitting requests. $20 for electronic copies and photocopies. Pay by credit card.
Wisconsin TechSearch, "a full-service, one-stop document delivery source for all your information needs" - including books!
E-book ILL Lender Tracker is a self-reporting tool for libraries to share the publishers and e-book collections they are able to lend through interlibrary loan. "..the tracker serves as a vendor neutral resource to aid libraries in facilitating e-book interlibrary loan practices. While proprietary software solutions have the ability for libraries to report their openness to sharing e-books, these tools currently lack the nuance required to publicly identify which publishers and collections of e-books are shareable at each institution. The E-Book ILL Lender Tracker serves to bridge this gap and support the broader expansion of digital resource sharing."
Toolkit Link is a crowd-sourced resource to facilitate international ILL. It includes: a list of different lenders across the world, tips and tricks for international ILL, and request templates in different languages.