Skip to main content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library

Galah (Eolophus roseicapilla) Fact Sheet: Bibliography

Bibliography

Allen GH. 1950. Birds as a biotic factor in the environment of pastures with particular reference to Galahs (Cacatua roseicapilla). J Aust Inst Agric Sci. 16:18–25.

Birdlife International. 2018. Eolophus roseicapillus. The IUCN red list of threatened species. Version 2018.2; e.T22684758A131874469 (species assessed 2018 Aug 07; page accessed 2019 Feb 21). doi:10.2305/IUCN.UK.2018-2.RLTS.T22684758A131874469.en.

Black A, McEntee J, Sutton P, Breen G. 2018. The pre-European distribution of the Galah, Eolophus roseicapilla Vieillot: reconciling scientific, historical and ethno-linguistic evidence. South Aust Ornithol. 42(2):37–57.

Cameron M. 2007. Cockatoos. Sydney (Australia): CSIRO Publishing.

Department of Environment and Energy. 2019a. Cacatua roseicapilla: Australian bird and bat banding scheme. Canberra: Department of the Environment (Australian Government); [accessed 2019 Mar 26]. https://www.environment.gov.au/topics/science-and-research/bird-and-bat-banding/banding-data/search-abbbs-database.

Department of the Environment and Energy. 2019b. About the EPBC Act [Internet]. Canberra: Department of the Environment (Australian Government); [accessed 2019 Feb 15]. http://www.environment.gov.au/epbc/about.

Engelhard D, Joseph L, Toon A, Pedler L, Wilke T. 2015. Rise (and demise?) of subspecies in the Galah (Eolophus roseicapilla), a widespread and abundant Australian cockatoo. Emu. 115(4):289–301. doi:10.1071/MU15018.

Gammage B. 2009. Galahs. Aust Hist Stud. 40(3):275–293. doi:10.1080/10314610903067094.

Gill F, Donsker D, editors. 2019. IOC world bird list, master list [ver. 9.1]. [updated 20 Jan 2019; accessed 21 Feb 2019]. http://www.worldbirdnames.org. http://www.dx.doi.org/10.14344/IOC.ML.9.1.

ITIS (Integrated Taxonomic Information System) [Internet database]. 2019. Eolophus roseicapillus. TSN 714023; [accessed 2019 Feb 21]. https://www.itis.gov/.

Johnstone RE, Storr GM. 1998. Handbook of western Australian birds, vol. 1: non-passerines (emu to dollarbird). Perth: Western Australian Museum; p. 280-281.

Johnstone RE and Darnell JC. 2018. Checklist of the birds of Western Australia. Perth: Western Australian Museum.

Johnstone RE, Kirkby T, Sarti K. 2013a. The breeding biology of the Forest Red-tailed Black Cockatoo Calyptorhynchus banksia naso Gould in south-western Australia. I. Characteristics of nest trees and nest hollows. Pac. Conserv. Biol. 19: 121-142. doi:10.1071/pc130121.

Johnstone RE, Kirkby T, Sarti K. 2013b. The breeding biology of the Forest Red-tailed Black Cockatoo Calyptorhynchus banksia naso Gould in south-western Australia. II. Breeding behavior and diet. Pac. Conserv. Biol. 19: 143-155. doi:10.1071/pc130143.

Joseph L, Boussès P, Wilke T, Austin JJ. 2016. Ancient DNA resolves the subspecific identity of the holotype of the Galah Eolophus roseicapilla, a widespread Australian cockatoo. Emu. 116(4):472–475. doi:10.1071/MU16061.

Marchant S, Higgins PJ, editors. 1999. Eolophus roseicapillus Galah. In: Handbook of Australian, New Zealand & Antarctic birds. Vol. 4: parrots to dollarbird. Melbourne (Australia): Oxford University Press. p. 104–127.

McWhorter TJ, Gerson AR, Talbot WA, Smith EK, McKechnie AE, Wolf BO. 2018. Avian thermoregulation in the heat: evaporative cooling capacity and thermal tolerance in two Australian parrots. J Exp Biol. 221(6):jeb168930. doi:10.1242/jeb.168930.

Pidgeon R. 1981. Calls of the Galah Cacatua roseicapilla and some comparisons with four other species of Australian parrots. Emu. 81(3):158–168. doi:10.1071/MU9810158.

Pizzey G, Knight F. 2012. Galah Eolophus roseicapillus. In: The field guide to the birds of Australia. Sydney (Australia): HarperCollinsPublishers. p. 248.

Rowley I. 1980. Parent-offspring recognition in a cockatoo, the Galah, Cacatua roseicapilla. Aust J Zool. 28(3):445–456. doi:10.1071/ZO9800445.

Rowley I. 1983. Mortality and dispersal of juvenile Galahs, Cacatua roseicapilla, in the western Australian wheatbelt. Wildl Res. 10(2):329–342. doi:10.1071/WR9830329.

Rowley I. 1990. Behavioural ecology of the Galah Eolophus roseicapillus in the wheatbelt of western Australia. Sydney (Australia): Surrey Beatty & Sons Pty Limited.

Rowley I, Boesman P. 2019. Galah (Eolophus roseicapilla). In: del Hoyo J, Elliott A, Sargatal J, Christie DA, de Juana E, editors. Handbook of the birds of the world alive. Barcelona (Spain): Lynx Edicions; [revised 2017 May; accessed 2019 Feb 26]. https://www.hbw.com/species/galah-eolophus-roseicapilla.

Royal Australasian Ornithologists Union. 1984. Galah Cacatua roseicapilla. In: Blakers M, Davies SJJF, Reilly PN, editors. The atlas of Australian birds. Carleton (Victoria): Melbourne University Press. p. 245.

Saunders DA, Rowley I, Smith GT. 1985. The effects of clearing for agriculture on the distribution of cockatoos in the southwest of western Australia. In: McFarland D, Milledge D, Trompp J, editors. Birds of eucalypt forests and woodlands: ecology, conservation, management. Sydney (Australia): Surrey Beatty & Sons Pty Limited. p. 309–321.

Scarl J. 2009. Heightened responsiveness to female-initiated displays in an Australian cockatoo, the Galah (Eolophus roseicapillus). Behaviour. 146(10):1313–1330. doi:10.1163/156853909X427696.

Scarl JC, Bradbury JW. 2009. Rapid vocal convergence in an Australian cockatoo, the Galah Eolophus roseicapillus. Anim Behav. 77(5):1019–1026. doi:10.1016/j.anbehav.2008.11.024.

Smith GT, Saunders DA. 1986. Clutch size and productivity in three sympatric species of cockatoo (Psittaciformes) in the south-west of western Australia. Wildl Res. 13(2):275–285. doi:10.1071/WR9860275.

UNEP. 2019. Eolophus roseicapilla. Species+ [online database]. Nairobi, Kenya: UNEP [compiled by UNEP-WCMC, Cambridge, UK]; [accessed 2019 Feb 21]. https://www.speciesplus.net/#/taxon_concepts/10325/legal.

Vall-llosera M, Cassey P. 2017. ‘Do you come from a land down under?’ Characteristics of the international trade in Australian endemic parrots. Biol Conserv. 207:38–46. doi:10.1016/j.biocon.2017.01.015.

Xie S, Nicholson A, Woolford L, McWhorter TJ. 2019. Physiological, biochemical and histopathological changes associated with heatstroke in the Galah (Eolophus roseicapilla) and Rock Dove (Columba livia). Avian Pathol. 48(1):57–72. doi:10.1080/03079457.2018.1546824.

Additional Internet Resources

Artist's Depiction

1848 painting of two Galah by John Gould

An 1848 illustration of Galah by John Gould.

Plate 4; by J. Gould. The Birds of Australia (Vol. 5), 1848. Biodiversity Heritage LibraryPublic domain.

SDZG Library Links