LibGuides: Animals : A Research Guide: Regulations & Guidelines

Animal Regulations & Guidelines Information

African spotted-necked otter enrichment at the San Diego Zoo.
© San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance. All rights reserved.

Disclaimer: This site is maintained by the SDZWA Library for the use of San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance staff and volunteers. Although we make every attempt to provide accurate information, some of the resources and links may become outdated. If you have suggestions for updates or additional resources, we welcome your feedback.

Books & CDs

Animal Rights : What Everyone Needs to Know by Paul Waldau
Call Number: QL85 .W35 2011 MAIN
ISBN: 9780199739967
Publication Date: 2011
Organized around a series of probing questions, this timely resource offers the most complete, even-handed survey of the animal rights movement available. The book covers the full spectrum of issues, beginning with a clear, highly instructive definition of animal rights. Chronicled here are many key figures and organizations responsible for moving the animal rights movement forward, as well as legislation and public policy that have been carried out around the world in the name of animal rights and animal protection.
Wildlife Law : A Primer by Eric T. Freyfogle; Dale D. Goble
Call Number: KF5640 .F74 2009 MAIN
ISBN: 9781559639750
Publication Date: 2009
Wildlife Law is a comprehensive and readable primer that provides an overview of U.S. wildlife law for a broad audience. This book is the first ever to survey the entire field, covering state and federal law with a strong grounding in wildlife science. Wildlife Law fills a long-standing gap in the literature and introduces readers to the basics of wildlife law while exploring such current controversies as endangered species protection, tribal fishing rights, game ranches, and the challenges of constructing wildlife corridors.

Books

Animal rights : what everyone needs to know
By Paul Waldau
Call no. QL85 .W35 2011 MAIN

Basic legal documents on international animal welfare and wildlife conservation
By Mark Austen
Call no. KF5640 .B37 2000 REF

California Fish and Game Code handbook
California Department of Fish and Game
Call no. KF5640 .C35 2009 REF

International wildlife trade : a CITES sourcebook
CITES
Call no. SK591 .I58 1994 REF

Threatened species legislation : is it just an act?
By Pat Hutchings
Call no. KF5640 .H88 2004 MAIN

The trade in wildlife : regulation for conservation
By Sara Oldfield
Call no. QL82 .T73 2003 MAIN

Trading nature
By Dilys Roe
Call no. SK594 .R64 2008 MAIN

Wildlife law : a primer
By Eric T. Freyfogle
KF5640 .F74 2009 MAIN

CDs

Live animals regulations, 34th ed. [CD-ROM]
International Air Transport Association
Call no. SK591 .L58 2007 CD-ROMS

Regulations, policies, guidelines & more [CD-ROM]
Sciences Center for Animal Welfare
Call no. KF5640 .R44 2007 CD-ROMS

Journals & Databases

WildPro Electronic Library
Large database of information relating to wildlife care and management

Animal Welfare (UFAW)
Animal Welfare Institute Quarterly
CITES World
Fish and Wildlife News
Journal of the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science
Journal of Applied Animal Welfare Science (JAAWS)
Journal of International Wildlife Law and Policy
Lab Animal
SCAW Newsletter (Scientists Center for Animal Welfare)

Websites

General Laws & Regulations

Animal Welfare Act and Regulations
US law regulating treatment of animals in research, exhibition, and transport, and by dealers
California Department of Public Health (CDPH) : Office of Regulations
Public health regulatory proposals for the state of California, with descriptive information and documentation
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention : Division of Global Migration and Quarantine (DGMQ)
Information relating to prevention and control of communicable disease in the U.S. Animal importation regulations and forms
National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infections (NCEZID)
Information and regulations relating to the detection, prevention, and control of infectious diseases occurring as a result of travel, natural disasters, zoonoses
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA): Laws & Regulations
EPA laws, regulations, and policy information to protect health and the environment
U.S. Government Regulations: Regulations.Gov
Access US Federal government regulatory documents and proposed regulations for 300+ Federal agencies. Submit comments or applications; sign up for email alerts

Veterinary and Laboratory Animal Regulations

General

Animal Legal and Historical Center
Comprehensive repository of animal law information. Michigan State University College of Law
APHIS: Animal Care Policy Manual
Online manual from the USDA's Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS). Also available in PDF
AVMA: Animal Welfare: Responsibility & Opportunity
Animal welfare topics from the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA). Includes links to advocacy and policy issues
FDA: Animal & Veterinary Guidance Documents
U.S. Food and Drug Administration guidance documents - browse by topic
IACUC Resources
Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) information. Use the drop-down menu near the top of the page to select options. Includes links to governmental agencies, databases, examples of institutional websites, training programs, and more
NIH: Office of Animal Care and Use (OACU)
Regularly updated site of the OACU (U.S. National Institutes of Health). Includes information on how to prepare the Vertebrate Animal Section of an NIH grant.
OIE: Disease Emergency Preparedness
Plans for dealing with specific animal disease emergencies, and relevant links. From the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE)
OIE: Manual of Diagnostic Tests and Vaccines for Terrestrial Animals
Manual of diagnostic tests and vaccines; online version. From the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE)
OIE: Terrestrial Animal Health Code
International standards relating to animal health and zoonoses; online version. From the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE)

Elephants

AZA Research & Tissue Request
Protocol from AZA Elephant SSP
Necropsy Regulations
Protocol from AZA Elephant SSP
TB Management
Section of APHIS Animal Care Resource Guide

Primates

Wildlife & Conservation

California Department of Fish and Wildlife
Wildlife information and programs for the state of California
CITES
Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora. Protected species list; CITES Appendices
Guidelines for the Capture, Handling and Care of Mammals [PDF]
Sikes RS et al. 2011. Guidelines of the American Society of Mammalogists for the use of wild mammals in research. J Mammal 92(1):235-253. Current professional techniques and regulations involving mammals used in research and teaching
Guidelines for the Use of Live Amphibians and Reptiles in Field and Laboratory Research
Second edition, 2004. Revised by the Herpetological Animal Care and Use Committee (HACC) of the American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists
Guidelines to the Use of Wild Birds in Research
Third edition, 2010. From the Ornithological Council. Download chapters or the entire document as PDFs.
NISIC: Laws and Regulations
Federal, state, international laws and regulations relevant to invasive species. From the USDA's National Invasive Species Information Center (NISIC)
IUCN: Conservation Policy Tools
Guidelines and background information for conservation activities of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
USFWS: Permits
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service (USFWS) permits information. Includes application forms, laws/treaties/regulations, policies, and more

Zoos

AWIC Zoo, Circus & Marine Mammals
Guidelines, standards, and regulations for zoos, circuses, and marine mammal parks under the Animal Welfare Act. Site maintained by the USDA's Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC)
UK Standards of Modern Zoo Practice [PDF]
2012. UK Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs
Handbook of Zoo & Aquarium Research
Guidelines for conducting research in zoos and aquariums. 2013. British & Irish Association of Zoos & Aquariums (BIAZA)

SDZWA Research Guides

Animals
Guide to finding animal information online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Animal Welfare
Guide to finding animal welfare, training, and enrichment information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library.
Conservation
Guide to finding conservation information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Plants
Guide to finding plant, plant conservation, and botanical garden information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Veterinary Medicine
Guide to finding veterinary and biomedical information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Zoos & Aquariums
Guide to zoo & aquarium information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance; natural history museum links

SDZWA Library Links

Library Home
Home page, San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Catalog
SDZWA Library's online public-access catalog - SDZWA team members may request books for delivery via interoffice mail
Journals A-Z
Journals available to team members through the SDZWA Library - search contents, view library holdings, access full text
Databases
Article databases available through the SDZWA Library; journal information
Fact Sheets
Portal to the SDZWA Library's detailed, fully referenced animal fact sheets
Priority Species Information
Custom literature searches and fact sheets for current priority species — for SDZWA team members, onsite access only
SDZWA Research Publications
Peer reviewed and scientific works by San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance staff.
Research Guides
Portal to the SDZWA Library's research guides: Animals, Animal Welfare, Conservation, Plants, Reference, Veterinary Medicine, Zoos & Aquariums
Contact Us
Email the SDZWA Library at library@sdzwa.org.

Animals : A Research Guide: Regulations & Guidelines