Skip to main content
sdzglibrarybanner San Diego Zoo Global Library

Buergers'/Goodfellow's (Dendrolagus goodfellowi) and Matschie's (Dendrolagus matschiei) Tree Kangaroos Fact Sheet: Bibliography & Resources

Bibliography

Ancrenaz M, Dabek L, O'Neil S. 2007. The costs of exclusion: recognizing a role for local communities in biodiversity conservation. PLoS Biol. 5(11):e289.

Archer M, Arena R, Bassarova M, Black K, Brammall J, et al. 1999. The evolutionary history and diversity of Australian mammals. Aust Mammal. 21:1-45.

Blessington J, McKnight C, Schad K. 2011. Population analysis and breeding and transfer plan: Matschie's tree kangaroo (Dendrolagus matschiei) AZA Species Survival Plan® Program. [Chicago (IL): Lincoln Park Zoo].

Bonaccorso F, Clark P, Miller P, Byers O. 1999. Conservation assessment and management plan for the tree kangaroos of Papua New Guinea and population and habitat viability assessment for Matschie's tree kangaroo: final report. Apple Valley (MN): Conservation Breeding Specialist Group (SSC/IUCN). Available at: https://portals.iucn.org/library/node/7669.

Bush et al. 1998 Bush M, Montali RJ. 1999. Medical management of tree kangaroos. In: Fowler ME, Miller RE, editors. Zoo and wild animal medicine: current therapy. 4th ed. p. 337-343.

Cuthbert R. 2010. Sustainability of hunting, population densities, intrinsic rates of increase and conservation of Papua New Guinean mammals: a quantitative review. Biol Cons. 143(8):1850-1859.

Dabek L, Betz W. 1998. 1998 field report Tree Kangaroo Conservation Program. AZA Tree Kangaroo Species Survival Plan.

Dabek L, W. Betz W. 1998. Tree kangaroo conservation in Papua New Guinea. Endangered Species UPDATE. 15:114–116.

Dabek L. 1997. Tree kangaroo conservation project in Papua New Guinea: 1997 field research report. In: Tree kangaroo Dendrolagus spp. Master plan 1997-1998. 1999-2000 Tree Kangaroo SSP (TK-SSP) Master Plan session; 1999 Apr 27-28; San Jose, California. [San Diego (CA): San Diego Zoo].

Dawson L. 2004. A new Pliocene tree kangaroo species (Marsupialia, Macropodinae) from the Chinchilla Local Fauna, southeastern Queensland. Alcheringa. 28(1):267-273.

Edwards MS, Ward A. 1998. Nutrition, food preparation and feeding. In: Steenberg J, Blessington J, editors. Tree kangaroo (Dendrolagus spp.) nutrition husbandry manual (rev. 2001). p. 3.1-3.26.

Flannery TF, Boeadi, Szalay AL. 1995. A new tree-kangaroo (Dendrolagus: Marsupialia) from Irian Jaya, Indonesia, with notes on ethnography and the evolution of tree-kangaroos. Mammalia 59:65-84.

Flannery TF, Martin R, Szalay A. 1996. Tree kangaroos: a curious natural history. Port Melbourne (Australia): Reed Books.

Flannery TF, Seri L. 1990. The mammals of southern West Sepik Province, Papua New Guinea: their distribution, abundance, human use and zoogeography. Rec Aust Mus. 42(2):173-208.

Flannery TF. 1993. Taxonomy of Dendrolagus goodfellowi (Macropodidae: Marsupialia) with description of a new subspecies. Rec Aust Mus. 45:33-42.

Flannery TF, Martin R, Szalay A. 1996. Tree kangaroos: a curious natural history. Port Melbourne (Australia): Reed Books.

George GG. 1982. Tree kangaroos Dendrolagus spp.: their management in captivity. In: Evans DD. The management of Australian mammals in captivity. Melbourne (Australia): Zoological Board of Victoria. p. 102-107.

Gove PB. 1971. Webster's third new international dictionary of the English language, unabridged. Springfield (MA): Merriam-Webster.

Groube L, Chappell J, Muke J, Price D. 1986. A 40,000 year-old human occupation site at Huon Peninsula, Papua New Guinea. Nature 324:453-455.

Groves CP. 2005. Order Diprotodontia. In: Wilson DE, Reeder DM, editors. Mammal Species of the World, pp. 43-70.

Heath AS, Benner S, Watson-Jones J. 1990. A case study of tree kangaroo husbandry at CRC. In: AAZPA Regional Conference Proceedings, Wheeling. p. 518-527. p. 25-32

Hide RL, Pernetta JC, Senabe T. 1984. Exploitation of wild animals. In: The research report of the Simbu Land Use Project, Vol. 4. South Simbu: studies in demography, nutrition, and subsistence. Port Moresby (Papua New Guinea): I.A.S.E.R. p. 291-380.

Hutchins M, Smith R. 1990. Biology and status of wild tree kangaroos. In: Roberts M, Hutchins M. 1990. The biology and management of tree kangaroos. Proceedings from Tree Kangaroo Biology and Management, AAZPA Northeastern Regional Conference; 1990 May 1; Washington (DC): American Association of Zoological Parks and Aquariums. p. 1-7.

Hutchins M, Smith GM, Mead DC, Elbin S, Steenberg J. 1991. Social behavior of Matschie's tree kangaroos (Dendrolagus matschiei) and its implications for captive management. Zoo Biol. 10(2):147-164.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System database (ITIS) [Internet]. [cited 21 Mar 2013]. Dendrolagus goodfellowi buergersi. http://www.itis.gov

Integrated Taxonomic Information System database (ITIS) [Internet]. [cited 21 Mar 2013]. Dendrolagus matschiei. http://www.itis.gov

Integrated Taxonomic Information System database (ITIS) [Internet]. [accessed 28 Dec 2016]. Dendrolagus. http://www.itis.gov

Iwaniuk AN, Newlson JE, Pellis SM, Whishaw IQ. 1998. Reaching, grasping and manipulation of food objects by two tree-kangaroo species, Dendrolagus lumholtzi and D. matschiei. Aust J Zool. 46(3):235-248.

Jackson S, Vernes K. Kangaroo: portrait of an extraordinary marsupial. Crows Nest (Australia): Allen & Unwin.

Jarman & Coulson 1989 Johnson PM, Delean S. 2003. Reproduction of Lumholtz's tree-kangaroo, Dendrolagus lumholtzi (Marsupialia : Macropodidae) in captivity, with age estimation and development of the pouch young. Wildl Res. 30(5):505-512.

Kennedy M, IUCN/SSC Australasian Marsupial and Monotreme Specialist Group. 1992. Australasian marsupials and monotremes: an action plan for their conservation. Gland (Switzerland):IUCN.

Kline L. 1 Jul 2009. Puzzles for tree kangaroos [Internet]. In: Animal stories. [2018 note: No longer available online.]

Leary T, Seri L, Wright D, Hamilton S, Helgen K, Singadan R, Menzies J, Allison A, James R, Dickman C, et al. 2008 [cited 21 Mar 2013]. Dendrolagus goodfellowi. In: IUCN 2012. IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. Version 2012.2. Available from: http://www.iucnredlist.org

Leary T, Seri L, Wright D, Hamilton S, Helgen K, Singadan R, Menzies J, Allison A, James R, Dickman C, et al. 2016 [cited 14 Apr 2018]. Dendrolagus goodfellowi. In: IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. Version 2017.3. Available from: http://www.iucnredlist.org/details/6429/0.

Leary T, Seri L, Wright D, Hamilton S, Helgen K, Singadan R, Menzies J, Allison A, James R, Dickman C, et al. 2008 [cited 21 Mar 2013]. Dendrolagus matschiei. In: IUCN 2012. IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. Version 2012.2. Available from: http://www.iucnredlist.org

Martin R. 2005. Tree-kangaroos of Australia and New Guinea. Collingwood (Australia): CSIRO Publications.

McGreevy TJ, Dabek L, Husband TP. 2012. Tree kangaroo molecular systematics based on partial cytochrome b sequences: are Matschie’s tree kangaroo (Dendrolagus matschiei) and Goodfellow’s tree kangaroo (D. goodfellowi buergersi) sister taxa? Aust Mammal. 34:18–28.

Moeller HF. 1990. Tree kangaroos. In: Parker SP, editor. Grzimek's encyclopedia of mammals. Vol. 1. New York (NY): McGraw-Hill. p. 387-393.

North LA, Harder JD. 2008. Characterization of the estrous cycle and assessment of reproductive status in Matschie’s tree kangaroo (Dendrolagus matschiei) with fecal progestin profiles. Gen Comp Endocrinol. 156(1):173-180.

Prideaux GJ, Warburton NM. 2008. A new Pleistocene tree-kangaroo (Diprotodontia: Macropodidae) from the Nullarbor Plain of south-central Australia. J Vert Paleontol. 28(2):463-478.

Procter-Gray E, Ganslosser U. 1986. The individual behaviours of Lumboltz's tree kangaroo: repertoire and taxonomic implications. J Mamm. 67:343-352.

Stabach JA, Dabek L, Jensen R, Wang YQ. 2009. Discrimination of dominant forest types for Matschie's tree kangaroo conservation in Papua New Guinea using high-resolution remote sensing data. Int J Rem Sensing. 30(2):405-422.

Thompson VD. 2000. Tree kangaroo Dendrolagus spp. master plan 1999-2000. 1999-2000 Tree Kangaroo SSP (TK-SSP) Master Plan session; 1999 Apr 27-28; San Jose, California. [San Diego (CA): San Diego Zoo].

Travis EK, Watson P, Dabek L. 2012. Health assessment of free-ranging and captive Matschie's tree kangaroos (Dendrolagus matschiei) in Papua New Guinea. J Zoo Wildl Med. 43(1):1-9.

Warburton NM, Harvey KJ, Prideaux GJ, O'Shea JE. 2011. Functional morphology of the forelimb of living and extinct tree-kangaroos (Marsupialia: Macropodidae). J Morphol. 272(10):1230-1244.

Watson DM. 1998. Kangaroos at play: play behavior in the Macropodoidea. In: Beckoff M, Byers JA, editors. Animal Play. Cambridge (England): Cambridge University Press. p. 61-95.

Wilson DE and Mittermeier RA, eds. 2015. Goodfellow's tree kangaroo Dendrolagus goodfellowi and Huon tree kangaroo Dendrolagus matschiei. Handbook of the mammals of the world. Vol. 5: monotremes and marsupials. Barcelona (Spain): Lynx Edicions; c2015. p. 705-706.

Windsor DE, Dagg AI. 1971. The gaits of the Macropodinae (Marsupialia). J Zool Lond. 163:165-175.

Yadav M. 1979. The kidney types of some Western Australian macropod marsupials. Mammalia. 43(2):225-234.

Zdziarski JM, Bush M. 1991. Clinical challenge: case 3. J Zoo Wildl Med. 22(4):507-509.

Ziembicki, M. & Porolak, G. 2016. Dendrolagus matschiei. The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species 2016: e.T6433A21956650. http://dx.doi.org/10.2305/IUCN.UK.2016-2.RLTS.T6433A21956650.en. Accessed 29 December 2016.

Zoological Information Management System (ZIMS). 2018. [accessed 2018 Apr 18]. https://zims.species360.org.

Additional Internet Resources

Tree Kangaroo

Tree kangaroo eating

 

Image credit: © San Diego Zoo Global. All rights reserved.

SDZG Library Links