Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Plant Conservation Websites
Plant Conservation Organizations
Botanic Gardens Conservation International
International organization focused on world-wide conservation of threatened plants. Botanic gardens make up the majority of membership.
Center for Plant Conservation (CPC)
Organization "dedicated solely to preventing the extinction of U.S. native plants." National headquarters located at San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance, Beckman Center.
Centre for Plant Research
Website of the University of British Columbia Botanical Garden & Centre for Plant Research, which is dedicated to the conservation of plant life worldwide through scientific research, education efforts, and maintaining plant biodiversity.
Global Trees Campaign
A joint initiative between Fauna & Flora International (FFI) and Botanic Gardens Conservation International (BGCI), the Global Trees Campaign is the only international campaign dedicated to saving threatened trees.
International Seed Saving Institute (ISSI)
Non-profit focused on maintaining agricultural diversity through seed saving.
Pacific Island Ecosystems at Risk
Listings and descriptions of plant species that threaten ecosystems of the Pacific islands. Site maintained by USFWS's Institute of Pacific Islands Forestry.
Plant Conservation Alliance
Website of the PCA, an organization dedicated to solving the problems of native plant extinction and native habitat restoration. Site maintained by Bureau of Land Management.
Specialized Plant Databases
Global Plants (JSTOR)
A plant type specimens database, with community-contributed collections from more than 300 herbaria from around the world.
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
List of plants on the IUCN Redlist. To access the entire list (plants and animals), visit the Red List hompage.
Information about plants in the United States and US territories. Maintained by USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.
Royal Botanic Garden's Multisite Search Engine
Searches the living collections of 28 conservation databases from botanic gardens and arboretums around the world.
Seed Dormancy & Generation Bibliography
Database of 12,000 publications related to seed dormancy and germination covering the period between 1890 and 1998. Maintained by Prof. G.M. Simpson from the University of Saskatchewan.
Priority Species Literature Searches — Plants
Custom searches available onsite to SDZWA team members. Offsite without VPN? Contact us.
SDZWA Research Guides
Guide to finding animal information online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Guide to finding animal welfare, training, and enrichment information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library.
Guide to finding conservation information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Guide to finding plant, plant conservation, and botanical garden information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Guide to finding veterinary and biomedical information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
Zoos & Aquariums
Guide to zoo & aquarium information, online and at the San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance; natural history museum links
SDZWA Library Links
Home page, San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance Library
SDZWA Library's online public-access catalog - SDZWA team members may request books for delivery via interoffice mail
Journals available to team members through the SDZWA Library - search contents, view library holdings, access full text
Article databases available through the SDZWA Library; journal information
Portal to the SDZWA Library's detailed, fully referenced animal fact sheets
Priority Species Information
Custom literature searches and fact sheets for current priority species — for SDZWA team members, onsite access only
SDZWA Research Publications
Peer reviewed and scientific works by San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance staff.
Portal to the SDZWA Library's research guides: Animals, Animal Welfare, Conservation, Plants, Reference, Veterinary Medicine, Zoos & Aquariums
Email the librarians at email@example.com